We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vega to your Saves list
Hotel Vega
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Roma 10 | near Lake Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Superb !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a fourth visit to the Vega and it just goes on getting better and better somehow. Having discovered the Vega after trying other hotels in Malcesine we would never go anywhere else. Perfect location with stunning views in all directions so any room is great. Have experienced deluxe suite, lake view and side view rooms now and all have been worth the money.

The hotel is immaculately clean and very comfortable. Rooms are bright and well organised, plenty of storage with flat screen TV if anyone has time to watch it ! Super balconies and there are also lake view furnished balconies on each floor for anyone's use so guests in mountain facing rooms can use these ( great idea ). The decking area and lake garden are beautiful.

Staff are excellent but unobtrusive and Marco is great - nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely wants to please his guests.

But the best thing about the Vega is the dining experience. The beautiful dining room overlooking the lake is the perfect end to every day. Food here is amazing, gorgeous flavours, well presented and a huge choice to suit every taste. After 4 or 5 courses together with fabulous local Italian wine everyone leaves with a smile. It takes at least one and a half hours to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Breakfast is equally as good.

In fact we love this hotel and the laid back feel of Malcesine that we are back again in five weeks time. Can't wait ! Thanks to Marco and all the unobtrusive staff at the Vega for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
152
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our third trip to Malcesine but our first to Hotel Vega. It will not be our last. Everything was superb. The owner, Marco, and all his staff, from waiters to chefs, to room cleaning ladies, to pool/garden maintenance -- all deserve the highest praise. I can find no fault and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some face the lake and others have balconies at the back, overlooking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We took a junior suite after a stay in a Thomson side room last year. The place is fantastic, the owner is amazing, the food is excellent and Malcesine is probably one of the best places on the Lake in my opinion. Would I go again? YES Would I recommend the hotel? Yes Is it good value for money? YES Is Marco a legend? YES

I am already looking again for next year.

Well done Marco and the Vega.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter where you stay the hotel is brilliant as is the food. There are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I would highly recommend anybody to stay at hotel vega, the junior suite was amazing..we woke every day to a stunning view of the mountains and the sound of the lake gently lapping outside our window..We have tried to book for two years without luck,,I now know why.! It's truly a fantastic friendly clean professionally gorgeous place to stay. Marco and his staff have hit the nail on the head with great force.OUTSTANDING ...The restaurant is also fantastic, we only had breakfast and we left every morning satisfied. The town of Malcesine is only a two minute walk from the hotel..Perfect ... If you want the perfect hotel you will not be disappointed if you stay at hotel vega.We have stayed in other hotels in Malcesine but Vega so far beats them all. On our second day we booked to go back next year ..Thank you once again to Marco and his team we can't wait to come back x

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a junior suite or a mountain view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is situated right on the lake. The Junior Suites are excellent, brand new, great bed and bathrooms with own balcony and sun bed. The view is fantastic. There is also a decking area with sunbeds and a plunge pool, although the pool was not in use in May. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was good. The only comment being that instead of making a fresh fruit salad each day I think it was just topped up, so by day three the banana was looking positively brown and mushy.
The parking is limited outside the hotel and if not in one of these spaces, cars are parked by the owner in a car park along the road. It costs 5 Euros a day. The owner, although trying to be friendly has a slightly unfortunate manner. He is unable to give a straight answer to any question, trying to make a joke out of it. This doesn't work especially when you have just walked in and only just met him. It is a bit like Basil Fawlty to be honest, it was difficult to know how to react to him. However I would not let this put you off, just be aware that he is trying to make a joke. I would book a junior suite if possible as the rooms are fantastic. There are also lots of wine bars and restaurants close by to eat in the evenings which is why we did not eat dinner there.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite fronting the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned yet again to this lovely hotel in Malcesine for a week long stay. It remains unsurpassed, in our opinion, offering wonderful service, excellent accommodation and superb food and drink. Why it only has a 3 star rating is one of life's little mysteries! We received a lovely warm welcome from the lady at the reception and the owner Marco was his usual friendly and charming self. We had a room looking onto the mountain, great view of the cable car and snow clad peaks. Every time we go back, Marco has undertaken some new upgrade to the hotel, last year it was a whirlpool, this year the rooms have all been fitted with large TVs with lots of channels available. Its fair to say that it just keeps on getting better!

The whole hotel is as immaculate as ever, and dining in the restaurant is such a pleasure, what with the wonderful lake view and the superb meals. Breakfast is buffet style with a huge range of breads and pastries, cereals, fruit, hams and cheeses. Eggs on request, cooked however you wish. Choices of juices and hot beverages. Evening meals are excellent, we frequently had an extra course offered, and Marco keeps a wide range of wines at reasonable prices. The staff are most attentive and ever helpful and do all they can to ensure that you have enjoyed your meal.

Only a 4 or 5 minute walk from the ferry and town centre, this hotel is perfectly situated. Package tours only use this hotel till September but private bookings are taken up to end of October/first week of November. Transfer from/to Verona airport is also available at a VERY reasonable price compared to what some other hotels or taxi services offer.

We will be going back again, this place is just too good to stay away from.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed, even the rooms on the side of the hotel have a partial view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It may only be a three star but it really is something else. Clean, quiet and a joy to stay there. Dining room is spotless with some wonderful food, typical Italian dishes with Marco's own twist, so don't expect ham, egg and chips. Fine local wine and expect 3 to 5 courses. Lake view rooms are the best but you still get a warm welcome and excellent hospitality from the team whichever room you have. This was our fifth visit so Marco has definitely got it right. Will be back next year if not sooner.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Address: Viale Roma 10 | near Lake Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and WINTRADE S.R.L. so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.