We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by average reviews, even looking at mine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 73 hotels in Malcesine
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by average reviews, even looking at mine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Please, let me explain the title of my review:

My wife and I stayed here for a week in August.
Firstly, this place has absolutely breathtaking views and is set on a relatively quiet stretch of shingle 'cove', right on the lake. I cannot stress how amazing the view is from the front, with the never ending lake and mountains either side really giving it that 'wow' factor. I'm a photographer and It's exactly what I hoped Lake Garda would look like.
It is half an hours stroll into Malcesine or 5 minutes on the tour bus which stops directly outside the hotel. The stroll in lovely on a morning after breakfast, but hard work (the last bit up a hill) if you've been out walking / sightseeing all day.

The hotel was spotless. From the lovely pool area, all the way through to the restaurant, outdoor terrace and gardens, it was immaculately clean and well kept. At breakfast and evening meal you even get cutlery wrapped in their own paper bags (and on an evening, even an envelope to place your napkin into when you have finished your meal). It may be a bit extreme, but we thought it was a nice touch.

The staff were fantastic to us. They don't speak much English, but if you try to speak a bit of Italian and make an effort to talk to them, they are lovely people. The manager and two waitresses, in particular, were great. The waitresses work unbelievable hours as well but were always available and well presented. We heard that the staff were rude to English travellers and at first we thought this were true, but getting to know them a bit really worked in our favour (more on that later).

Now onto the food. We didn't know what to expect having read other reviews being a bit 'middle of the road', but it was good. It's hard at first to come to grips with how they serve evening meals (if you're staying half board). At breakfast you fill out a card with your room number on it, then tick the choices of starter, main and dessert you want for your evening meal. Apparently most hotels adopt this service and to be honest, it was never a problem. The breakfast itself was fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese, breads and scrambled eggs - some days with cheese and ham. It's Italy and this is their culture, so don't expect sausage, bacon & beans. There were the usual array of jams etc to choose from for a continaental breakfast and to us, this was all fine.
We never ate from the snack menu so cannot comment on the food served but the evening meals were good. Different every night, with three choices of each course to choose from (at breakfast). The salad bar was always there to go upto but each of the three courses was served to you by the waitresses. No serving yourself buffet. We were always quite full after our meals and they were all decent.

This all sounds brilliant so far, but unfortunately, there was a downside and it was a big one, but keep reading on after and it can easily be rectified.
The room we had was ridiculous to behold. The whole room was about 12ft square and included the bathroom. Sitting on the toilet you can stretch your legs and arms and touch the adjecent wall. The shower (just big enough for a 6ft, 13 stone fella) leaked all over the floor, creating a slippery pool on the tiles.There was no air conditioning and that wonderful view, well, from our room, turned into a clay banking with fire escape. It was easily the most uncomfortable room we've ever stayed in. On holiday, a room is just a room to sleep, shower and get ready for us. But it has to be comfortable. On all three counts, it was not. We couldn't sleep - it was very hot and we woke to sweat dripping off our heads every night. It was hard to shower and we tripped over each other and the beds while getting ready. Talk about claustrophobic.
The one good thing was that the safety deposit box was free...

NOW THIS IS WHERE THIS REVIEW MAY HELP OTHERS:

Do not book with travel operators if you can help it, or if you do, make sure of an upgrade facitity within the booking. A room with a lake view is firstly, essential. You get a balcony!
We upgraded to this while we were there (we tried with our tour operator before we went - but were told we could only do it at the hotel, which is pot luck). This though, does not guarrantee you a bigger room. It was identical to our last room, but with a spectacular view and the space of a small balcony.
Earlier on in the review of this hotel, I mentioned making the effort with staff, well it certainly helped me gain info from the manager. Tour operators do not book out the better rooms. They offer only the cheapest, budget rooms (with and without views) to gain bigger profits. They also don't want to be lumbered with rooms they cannot shift.
Let me say this, We got a guided tour of what our holiday could have been, if we booked through them directly. Room 102 (first floor - the same floor as ours) was an execttive room and spectacular. It was like a duplex apartment with huge bathroom, big LCD TV, balcony with lake view, side opening window with pool view, air conditioning, cooking facilities, a fridge (not available in the budget rooms - how you will miss that!!!) and everything was built in. Room 104, next door was a superior room. A bit smaller but again with lake view, balcony, air conditioning, fridge and huge bathroom. This would be perfect for anyone staying here and at least twice the size of our room(s). They had ground floor room the same as room 104 that had a garden!
On the second floor, we were shown a room the same as ours but with air con and truth be told, it was slightly bigger. Air con is free to rooms that have it as well.

If you're reading this thinking they were lots more expensive, they were not. Booking through the hotel would be cheaper and you get a choice of far superior accommodation. I would wholeheartedly reccomend this hotel to anyone, as long as you get a decent room.
Just please, make sure you do. It would transform your holiday and this hotel from a 3 to a 5 in my opinion!

Room Tip: Rooms 102 (Executive), 104 (Superior), The one below (Superior with garden) and on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derry city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

my wife and i stayed here for 1 week in august, the hotel overlooks the lake , which has beautiful views, breakfast was good, and good size cups for tea,
the dinners we tried twice and would not recommend, you will leave hungry,
now for the room, there is no kettle or fridge in the room, the hair dryer is useless you could blow harder.
it was the smallest room of all the hotels i have ever stayed in, it looked out on to a clay banking, there was no air conditioning, room became very hot at night ,when you opened the window there was a fire escape up to the main road so you where scared to leave window open at night, which meant sleep was very limited, you would open window till you went to bed but you only let in the mosquitos, then when you closed the window you trapped them in the room and you where bitten all over through thje night ,
we asked to get moved from the room but they told us they where unable to give us another room as they where booked out, we contacted the holiday rep and asked for a move to another hotel but they also said all hotels where booked up,.
they had an excellent pool, and there was no problem getting a sun bed as the pool was never really that busy ,
as for the girl that cleans the room ,i bought some milk and lemonade to drink and make a cup of tea, we had a little travel kettle with us, i put cold water in the bath and placed the lemonade and milk in the cold water to keep it cool, we went out of the room and came back a few hours later , the cleaner had come into the room , let the water out of the bath, took the milk and lemonade out of the bath filled the bidet with water and put the milk and lemonade in the bidet, would you drink it after that. unclean or what, i had to dump it
i did most of my sleeping at the pool during the day .
the staff cater mainly for the germans and speak better german than english.
i would never go back to thi s hotel again, which is a pity because it has a lot going for it.
good location, good pool,good breakfast

Room Tip: if you are going to this hotel , make sure you ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. firstly we booked our transfers through the hotel which were 83 euros in total return for the both of us. we were picked up at airport and had to drop another couple of on our way. this was fine as it was probably the handiest option so i would recommend this. Although when we were getting dropped off they left us at the top of the hill/street from the hotel which was around a 5 minute walk. it wasnt a steep hill but when you have luggage you expect to be dropt at the door. we paid for a lake view balcony room which is a must!! the view was amazing and the room was basic but clean. the bathroom was very small you basically had to walk sideways in it. the safe didnt work and when we called the reception they didnt understand english and we were told it will have to wait 2 hours as the handy man was sleeping?! this turned out to be the receptionist husband and i think they both run/own the hotel. the pool was brilliant so relaxing and plenty of loungers. there is a tourist bus which stops directly out the front of the hotel to bring you to malcesine if you dont fancy the 20-30 min walk. its comes on the hour and it also runs at night from malcesine to bring you back to the hotel. they can provide you with beach towels for 10euro deposit. they also dont have an iron. the hairdryer would take forever to dry your hair so i advise you bring one. if you are wanting to order a lunch you can basically only get snacks such as toasties and pizza which are pre made. this seems to be standard if this hotel and the ones surrounding it so you are best getting a bus into malcesine. we also took the boat from malcesine harbour to limone which was lovely and cost 9 euro return each. also at the top of the val di sogno hill(were the transfer bus leaves you and picks you up) you can get a bus to other areas we took the bus to garda which took around 30 mins for 3 euro and got pedlos out which was nice. check out san marco restaurant in malcesine food is great!!

Room Tip: lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just back from a great week on the shores of Lake Garda. We stayed in the Hotel Rosa in Malcesine.
The good stuff about the Hotel first. The location of the Hotel is excellent.Its set right on the shore of Lake Garda and a nice walk on the prom to the centre of Malcesine. The views from the front of the hotel are excellent. The staff were quite pleasant and efficient. Our room was clean and the bed linen and towels were changed regularly.
Now for the bad stuff. I am 5ft 7ins tall and of slim build and my wife is smaller.We found the room to be very small and the bath room was tiny. While we had a balcony to sit out on and could enjoy the beautiful views of the lake,the rooms at the back of the Hotel have no balcony and look out at a wall.There is no way would I stay in a room at the back. Every time one of us took a shower the bath room floor flooded and the bath room could have smelt better.
Oh before I forget,there was no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Only choose a room with Lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed 7th-14th July 2012 at Hotel Rosa, Malcesine as a couple. There is no arguing that the hotel has absolutely amazing views over the lake (if you have a lake view room) but we felt this and the pool area were the only good points going for the hotel. Our room was extremely small ( we are used to small rooms but this was so small it became uncomfortable over a week). The bathroom was so small you could hardly turn round. Bed was comfy but we were shocked that the room price did not include air conditioning so repeatedly woke up uncomfortable during the night. The shower in our room broke twice in a week and the reception staff were rude towards us (we think because we are English!), hardly any English was spoken at reception and we felt they were reluctant to help us. Food wise we stayed on a half board basis and only at at the hotel for dinner 3 nights. There was not much choice on the set menu for hotel guests but we mainly decided to eat out as even though they have an outside eating area with beautiful lake views they do not let you eat outside. We became frustrated at this as the air conditioning in the restaurant was broken making eating unbearable in the heat. This was not fixed over the week stay. Overall we loved Lake Garda and Malcesine and will definitely be returning but will avoid Hotel Rosa as we were not impressed.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Front of hotel is very picturesque and if you have a lake view bedroom then you will enjoy your stay better. Our room was at the back of the hotel so our view was a 50 foot wall which was the main road, absolutely nothing to look at, the room was very pokey and dark. I asked for a room change on 2 consecutive days and you would think I was asking for her blood, I got the distinct impression the manageress does not like the English at all !! If you stay there INSIST on a lake view. The breakfast was awfull, bread roll, couple of slices of meat and skanky egg. Even the juice was powder, they couldn't even put proper juice on. All hotels in Malcesine are expensive but if you are going to stay in Rosa make sure you don't get a room at the back.

Room Tip: INSIST on a lake view, otherwise do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The view from the hotel is beautiful, it is a nice quiet location with a pretty 2km walk into Malcesine. The staff were friendly and the food was tasty, breakfast did not have much choice. The rooms were small and the bathrooms even smaller which is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Address: Localita Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Rosa Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.