We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint family run hotel,friendly,helpful and real value for money in an ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Benacus Malcesine to your Saves list
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
YORK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint family run hotel,friendly,helpful and real value for money in an ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

This Hotel was exactly what we had hoped....easy going, clean,friendly and welcoming. We travelled to Malcesine for a friends wedding and without wanting to spend a fortune we looked for a hotel in the middle price range, clean and in the right area. This Hotel is literally minutes on the tourist bus to the centre of Malcesine (and the bus only costs 1 euro each way!)-the bus collects and drops right near the hotel, there are plenty of shops nearby and the lake is literally a 2minute walk. Roberto the owner was a pleasure...he booked taxis for us, arranged meals and couldnt have been any nicer. Pool lovely...lounge lovely, rooms basic but very clean and have everything you would need. We travelled as a young party of 8 (4 couples) and we were all really happy! What more can we say! He also had a fantastic and friednly dog whoom we all adored!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    42
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
162
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

This is a great hotel,run by a fantastic family,who were so helpful.
O.K., there is road noise but it's something you get used to and even though we had a lake front view,the windows are noise insulated that we had a no problems sleeping.We were in room 34,nice room.
The hotel provide good buffet breakfasts,the rooms are a good size with air con.
The walk along the lake front is beautiful,at night or in the day.
Malcesine is a great place to stay,the centre is fantastic and the food(and drink) are cheaper than we expected.
The cable car to Mount Baldo is worth the 18 euros each(go early or the crowds will build). We took a couple of boat trips to Limone and Riva,but we were always glad to be back in Malcesine and the hotel.
A great place to spend our 30th Wedding Anniversary(we spent 4 days at Malcesine and 3 in Sirmione).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Benacus and couldn't fault it. The hotel rooms and public areas were spotless and the pool area immaculate. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice of cereals, breads, pastries, fruits and cold meats etc. We also had lunch in the pool bar and this was lovely and very reasonable. This is a family run hotel and Roberto and Marissa were so welcoming and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. They arranged airport transfers for us as there were 6 of us travelling and this was an air-conditioned people carrier which cost EUR35 per person for a return trip. The path down to the promonade on the lake is a very steep walk down hill but once on the lake, the views are breath-taking. We would definately return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Moved here from Hotel Diana in the centre of Malcesine due to that being of poor standard.

OK there is a walk into town & its about 15 - 20 minutes but the walk is right next to the lake & is actually quite pleasant. There are a few quite bars along the way to stop if you want.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, air conditioned & has a nice pool. Everyone is very pleasant & there is plenty of sun loungers (not even the Germans could put towels all these)

If you don't have a pram to push or a wheelchair the short walk is definatly worth it. There is also a regular bus that you can catch but the walk really didn't bother us so we walked.

Stay here & you won't have any complaints. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We got married in Malcesine and booked this hotel for us, and all of our guests. The rooms and grounds were perfect, but most of all the staff made our holiday fantastic. By far the friendliest place I have ever stayed, and very child friendly. In our party were four children ranging from 8 weeks to 5 years and everything was done by the staff to make our stay enjoyable.

Will will be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our two daughters aged 10 and 14 for two weeks in August and had a fabulous time. I am quite a fussy traveller and we normally tend to opt for 4* accommodation. After reading comments on TripAdvisor, we decided on The Benacus Hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel and grounds are immaculate. Our room and bathroom were a very good size and were kept absolutely spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Marisa and Roberto who run the hotel were so friendly and helpful and the whole place had a very relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was very good: lots of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses and cold meats. The hotel is on a road, but quite honestly you don't notice any traffic noise when in the garden/pool area. When we first arrived I was a little disappointed to see a supermarket underneath one section of the hotel and a 'Jolly Discount' store across the road and no sign of the lake. However, we could glimpse the lake from our room at the back and apparently rooms at the front have good lake views. There is a large balcony off the restaurant at the front of the hotel where breakfast can be taken each morning and this offered beautiful views of the mountains. As for the supermarkets, these proved to be really handy for essentials (like chocolate and inflatables for the lake!) There is a bus stop outside the hotel serving the lake and from where you can catch buses to Venice and Verona (both beautiful and well worth doing). A Malcesine tourist bus also stops there which for 1 Euro will take you into the centre in about 3 minutes! Directly across the road from the hotel is a path which leads down to the lake in just 5 minutes and from there you can walk on the lakeside path into Malcesine in 20 -25 minutes. The section of lake at the bottom of the path is the best on that stretch to the town as it has quite a decent-sized pebbled beach and a little island out in the lake which you can row over to. Our girls had a boat and spent hours in this stretch of water and of course referred to the island as their island. We actually walked into Malcesine most evenings and never tired of the fantastic view with the castle always in our sights. Amazingly the girls never complained about the walk as they liked to watch the swans/ducks/paragliders/boats etc etc. As for Malcesine: stunning! Make sure you go on the cable car up Monte Baldo and have plenty of ice creams from La Dolce Vita! If we were to visit Malcesine again we would definitely stay at The Benacus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Entrance and pool area very pleasant. However, right next to the main road and very, very noisy rooms at the front.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Benacus Malcesine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Address: Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus Malcesine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel dispone di 29 camere, molte delle quali con balcone, dotate di servizi, telefono a selezione diretta, Sat/Tv, Phon, cassaforte, aria condizionata. Offriamo il servizio di camera e colazione a Buffet dalle ore 8,00 alle ore 10,00. A disposizione in Hotel Internet Wireless. Noleggio Bike. Nell'ampio ristorante climatizzato troverete un ricco buffet per la prima colazione, accompagnato dall'immancabile "sorriso del buongiorno". Il giardino circondato dalle cime dei monti e attrezzato per trascorrere piacevoli pomeriggi sdraiati al sole, rinfrescarsi in piscina o rilassarsi nell'idromassaggio. Il bar climatizzato, a lato del giardino offre una scelta di snacks salati e dolci a qualunque ora della giornata. L'ampio parcheggio garantisce il posto macchina per tutti i nostri ospiti. L'ascensore e accessibile ai disabili. Nelle vicinanze, la possibilita di praticare surf, vela, mountain bike, tennis e parapendio. L' Hotel Benacus, un concetto d'ospitalita dai grandi standard con servizio e accuratezza tipica di un piccolo albergo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Benacus Malcesine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Benacus Malcesine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.