We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Save Saved
You added Hotel Benacus Malcesine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 73 hotels in Malcesine
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed as a couple with our 14 year old daughter. This was our second visit to Hotel Benacus and certainly won't be our last. We were so impressed with our stay last year we booked a longer break this August. We were not disappointed, we were made so very welcome once again by Roberto, his father and all the staff, each one always very polite, helpful and smiley. The hotel is as immaculate as ever, very clean throughout, lovely garden and pool area, plenty of sun beds and shade for everyone. Our large, comfortable room was very quiet with beautiful views towards the lake and mountains. We have stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure and the Benacus is top of the list for comfort, cleanliness and customer service.
Malcesine has everything you could want for a wonderful holiday in Italy, whatever your age. The breathtaking daily walk from the hotel to the town along the edge of the lake was a great part of the pleasure and enjoyment of our holiday.
My daughter had a fabulous time and is planning to learn Italian and travel here with friends when she's old enough!
Wonderful place - didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
135
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are just back from 10 days at The Benacus which we have stayed in several times now and once again it was excellent. Roberto and all his staff make you feel so welcome and to us its like going home!
The Hotel is spotless, the garden and pool a delight, shade or sun , plenty of sunbeds and food and drink available all day. Served with a smile from Rosie.
The rooms are basic but comfortable, lovely terrace, with loungers, - lake view rooms. The only thing which would improve them is a small fridge to keep water etc in.
The walk along the lake into Malcescine is delightful, it takes us about 25mins to walk it,beautiful views and plenty of places to stop for refreshment on the way. On the return walk there is a steep path to climb which may be a problem for some people but there is the tourist bus which cost only 1 Euro to the town centre and stops right outside the hotel .

Roberto, and Roberta are always ready to advise or arrange things for you, in fact nothing is too much trouble. This Hotel believes in making the Holiday as good as possible for their guests.

This is a true family run hotel with Roberto's father still taking part in it's running and Arturo the gentle retriever always ready to greet you.

If you stay here you will not be disappointed, and Malcescine we feel is the loveliest town on Lake Garda. It offers cobbled streets, lovely little squares with numerous places to eat and drink, and lots of things to see and do.

Room Tip: The Lake View Rooms have large terraces with sun loungers and get the Sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We can't agree more with everyone's positive comments, added to that they have prosecco on tap and serve huge tasty tuna salad's! Nothing was a problem, and all the staff from chambermaids to Roberto's father who built the hotel 50 years ago, were a delight, friendly and helpful. There is a lovely walk into Malcesine which makes up for the lovely food from the restaurant's plus the legal requirement to have an ice cream per day (at least!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A smaller hotel than those we would typically stay in although this is in no way detrimental.

From arranging private taxi transfers for ourselves and family who weren't staying at the Benacus to ensuring we had a packed lunch for our early morning departure nothing is too much trouble for Roberto, Roberta and the rest of the staff.
The reception is manned from 08:00 to 00:00, outside of these hours your keys will access the gated car park and hotel entrance.
Our room had all the usual facilities including air conditioning and safety deposit box and was spotlessly clean. The en-suite comprises of a shower, toilet, bidet and handbasin. Leaving used towels in the handbasin identifies them as ready to be changed by room service, which is daily. Breakfast is a continental buffet style affair with plenty of choice which is constantly refreshed.
There is a well maintained garden with a pool, spa-bath, sun-loungers and hammock.
The hotel is a twenty minute or so walk from Malcesine along the lakeside. Alternatively the local bus runs hourly, picks up and drops off just outside the hotel entrance and only costs 1 euro per person

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A lovely friendly family run hotel, very clean and comfortable with a lovely garden and pool.
A warm welcome from start to finish from Roberto and Roberta and especially from Arturo the retriever who was the canine "mine host". Malcesine is a pretty lakeside town with great restaurants and shops which you can walk to from the hotel along the lake "stunning". We would highly recommend this hotel and Malcesine as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week from 22 August 2012, and it is worth more than 3 stars. Roberto and Roberta are so friendly and welcoming and we really felt at home. The cleanliness and decoration and attention to detail is second to none, Breakfast is continental style with so much choice that you didn`t know where to start. We cannot praise this enough and would definately stay here next time we visit Lake Garda. 10 out of 10 from us!

Room Tip: Room was facing road which during the day was busy, but there was not much noise at night or first t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a lovely Hotel and more importantly,what lovely people running the place.Roberto and Roberta were just the perfect host's.Malcesine without doubt has stolen our heart's, and we will be coming back for many years i'm sure.The walk from Benacus to town and back has to be seen to be believed !! Simply stunning?.Great beach about 5 mins from hotel.Always stayed in Bardolino before,but found Malcesine so much nicer.Not to forget the hotel mascot,a lovely dog called Atturo. Thanks for a great holiday Benacus,see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Benacus Malcesine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Address: Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus Malcesine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 29 rooms, many of which with balcony, equipped with private facilities, direct telephone, SAT TV, hair drier and safe. We offer breakfast buffet service from 08.00 To 10,30 hours Available: Internet Wireless and "rent a bike" services. In the large air conditioned restaurant, you will find a rich buffet for breakfast with the warmest Good morning smile! The garden is surrounded by the mountains and it is well equipped to spend some pleasant moments sun-tanning, or in the swimming pool or in the Jacuzzi. The air conditioned bar, near the garden, offers a choice of salted snacks or sweets for any moment of the day. The large parking offers a car place for each of our guests. In the vicinity there is a possibility to surf, to sail, to rent a mountain bike, to play tennis or gliding. The Hotel Benacus: a concept of hospitality of the highest standard with service and accuracy typical of a small Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Benacus Malcesine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Benacus Malcesine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.