We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gardesana, 400, Localita Campagnola | Lago di Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Stanford le Hope, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I got married in Malcesine in July just gone and we were a group of 10 all staying at Hotel Astoria, we could not have wished for a better hotel, the staff were amazing and the hotel was spotless, our cleaner was so lovely. All the staff were so helpful and made our stay in italy the greatest! i would not hesitate in going back to this hotel, not one thing was bad. We took my grandparents who are very fussy with food and not once was there something we didn't like. Honestly do not take any notice of the bad reviews as they are talking rubbish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
thorpe market
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

me and the wife have just returned from our honey moon in lake garda, we stayed at the astoria. it was fantastic! The location is great and the veiws are breathtaking. we read some of the reviews on here before we went and i must admit we did worry a little bit, but we shouldnt have. the staff were very attentive and the food was amazing. i really cannot understand some of the complaining on here some of it has nothing to do with the hotel?? my advice would be for those of you more open minded and less picky people to book up and get involved with the locals,food music,views,history.................there is just so much to offfer. this hotel made our week a very stress free and relaxing one that we will never forget!

come on the waters lovely!

Room Tip: room 306 has a great veiw of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from a perfect holiday at the Astoria.This family run hotel has wonderful staff who are friendly, efficient and did everything they could to help.The food was delicious with a great choice.The hotel is spotless and the grounds very well maintained with a pool in the lovely gardens. The location could not be better right on the lakeside, with a bus stop opposite the hotel which takes you to the centre of Malcesine for just one euro. We could not fault the hotel or the location,all in all wonderful holiday and we will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant stay at Astoria. The overall standard of this hotel is great, the location is perfect because you have superb views of the lake at the front where the terrace overlooks - literally a stones throw from the lakeside bay and lush garden area at the rear where the pool is. The place is spotless and the family that own the hotel can't do enough to help their guests! The bus is so handy it stops outside the hotel and the walk into Malcesine town is beautiful, right along the lakeside. This hotel provides the best of both, fantastic location and easy access to the town. We couldn't fault any of the meals we had during our stay and we were genuinely impressed with the meals, good quality fresh Italian food served piping hot every day. Our stay couldnt have been better and we definitely recommend this hotel and will be advising guests to our wedding to stay there next year, and we'll definitely be there! Thank you to all at The Astoria!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but without lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wanted to say a big thankyou to the family who run the Hotel Astoria for making our stay so enjoyable. The hotel and grounds were spotless, views are amazing, food very good and the staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. The only downside was we had to return home.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was lovely as it overlooked the well kept grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and here is mine. I have just returned from my honeymoon and would go back to the Astoria without hesitation.

Our balcony faced the pool and lovely gardens. We would obviously have preferred a lake view but we were never really in the room. The food, in our opinion, was superb. There was a choice of at least 3 starters, mains and deserts each night which you choose the previous night, drinks can be charged to your room and can be settled the night before checking out. Breakfast had a selection of cereal/muesli, fruit, yogurts, toast, cakes etc. unlimited tea or coffee.

There is a bar with snacks available for dinner if required which are all approx €4, ice-cream in a cone or tub available at €1.

The staff are very friendly, our waitress Stefanie was superb and helped us with our Italian lingo. Our cleaner was very friendly also and kept our room spotless.

We enjoyed the 30 minute walk into the town centre after our tea but the tourist bus leaves approx 45 mins past the hour if you didnt feel up to it. On the positive side, you have free-reign of the lake side being further from town centre (it's rarely busy nr the Astoria). There are jettees and nice shingle beaches.

This was a great value holiday for us, my best advice having read some of the reviews is to check the location before booking your holiday and maybe go self-catering if you expect a certain sort of food - This way you're not dissapointed. By going half board we were able to taste real Italy, it's too tempting to choose pizza/pasta eating out on a night. Hats off to the hotel chef!

We hope to see The Hotel Astoria sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were a party of 20 guests that stayed at the Alpino from the 2nd-9th June for our wedding. We chose this hotel partly because of the location and partly because of price. The hotel is set outside of malcesine which means it is in a lovely quiet location with unrivaled views of the lake. The walk into Malcesine is about 30mins but is flat and is a lovely way to walk off the Italian cuisine! As we went to Lake Garda during the English spring bank/Jubilee holiday the prices for the rest of the hotels in Malcesine centre where very high so this hotel offered great value for money as we stayed half board. The hotel reception and dining area is spotless and quite modern. The rooms are quite basic but lovely and who spends all their time in their room when in Malcesine...?! We were at the front with a great view of the lake but as others have said this is the nosier side of the hotel because of the lake road. The rooms at the back overlook the lovely pool area and are a bit quiter. All of the rooms have a safe and air conditioning but these are at an extra charge. The staff in the hotel were great, so helpful and friendly, particularly when helping us organise taxis etc for the wedding. Our party found the food in the restaurant a bit hit and miss to be honest. The food is not traditional Italian but a mix of Italian and German. Some nights is was good, some nights not so good. However due to the good value we didn't mind eating out in Malcesine some nights. The hotel is in a very quiet location with only a couple of hotels and restaurants so for more lively nightlife we did get the tourist bus into Malcesine a few nights. The tourist bus is great, 1 euro oer trip (no matter where you get off) and stops just outside the hotel. We found that the bus was often early so get there at least 5 minutes before just in case. Sometimes the bus was very busy and lots of pushing was required to get on the bus (as the locals do, when in Rome...). However the verona/Riva buses also did the same trip for 2 euros each so a good alternative.
Overall this hotel is a good value little gem, run by a lovely family in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view but are nosy at night. The Wi-fi is better in the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Via Gardesana, 400, Localita Campagnola | Lago di Garda, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Astoria Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.