We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week at Malcesine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antonella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Antonella to your Saves list
Hotel Antonella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gardesana 22, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Week at Malcesine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Spotlessly clean Hotel. Really wonderful staff and first class food. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is one of the best I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Request and pay for a room with a balcony. The views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
9
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the Hotel Antonella, after a two week holiday to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary. The hotel is reasonably located to Malcesine, which we found to be the most picturesque town of all the locations on Lake Garda and can understand why so many couples choose to get married there.
The hotel is situated on the main road, which can be very busy in rush hour and is not very pedestrian friendly, as there are no pavements. However, there is a pleasant lakeside walk into the town which can easliy be accessed via a gate down to the lake and only takes a little longer to get into the town.
Whilst we found the hotel to be very clean and tidy; the rooms although the decor was a bit "tired", were cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels provided every day, if required. The main negative point was the quality of the food. The breakfast was of the continental variety consisting of cold meats, fruit and bread which got a bit boring after two weeks. The toaster was very slow and resulted in a big queue of people waiting to use it, In the end we just had a couple of bread rolls for our breakfast.

The biggest disappointment was the dinner. This commenced at 7pm and was based on a waitress service format which was very slow and on most occasions the last course was not served until well after 8.30pm. The food we found to be uninspiring and not very appealing so much in fact that we had to eat out on 3 occasions. Most of the other hotel guests, the majority of which were British had the same problem with the food so we feel our criticism to be vindicated.

One other problem we had was that the shower door was faulty and came off its bottom hinge. We reported this on 2 occasions during our stay and whilst the management gave us every assurance that this would be repaired, no action was taken. You can imagine the health and safety implications that would arise if this happened in the UK.

We both enjoyed our holiday immensly, but were dissappointed that the hotel could have been better.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lake which had stunning views and if you can put up with the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

In Malcesine you have argueablly the nicest and most popular town round Lake Garda. The Hotel Antonella is as already stated just 5/10 minutes walk from the local shops, castle....restaurants!!

Its in an ideal location and despite being situated by the main road, this isnt a problem as theres little traffic after 11pm. Theres a bar down by the lake near by which can get a little noisy but this only occurred twice during our 7 night stay.

The rooms are clean but basic. No kettles for morning coffees and no bath but otherwise there alright. If your bothered, they do have 3 English channels, BBC 1, BBC 3 and another!

Ok, onto the negatives!! The pools blooming freezing even when the weathers red hot but thats nit picking, i believe most pools are the same temperature at a lot of Hotels round Lake Garda.
The real bug bearer is the SHOCKING dinners we were served. The salad buffet starter every night was nice enough but you need to fill up on this as the proceeding courses were out of this world (and not in a good way!!). If i wanted to live like a rabbit then i'd sell my house and go find a burrow. Im not a fussy person but the food was only just edible and unfortunately im not out of turn when I say that over 75% of the other guests felt the same. Plates of food were going back into the kitchen pratically untouched. I would highly recommend eating out as the local restaurants were fantastic and at a great price.
Out of 28 dishes over 7 evenings, starters and mains (2 choices each night). There were only 3 pasta dishes!! These were nice but why not cook more? Instead we had hospital food....sorry thats doing hospitals an injustice....school food!! No again thats not fair on schools!! Dog food??! Mmmmm, enough said...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

hotel and location good but evening meals very poor, trying to cook english food (poorly) instead of sticking with Italian. So poor we went out to eat some nights. otherwise apart from having a room on front of hotel which was very noisy due to busy main road, the hotel is spotlessly clean, friendly and comfortable. Such a shame the food spoiled it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisy due to busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed here early September.Good hotel very clean fresh towels 3 times during our weeks stay. Pool area very clean.easy walk to town via the lake or the road.Our room overlooked the pool, so we had very little traffic noise.Breakfast was good,the usual continental food plus hard boiled eggs.The evening meals were disappointing,not the 3 star standard we expected.Very strange menu! We had a great holiday ,loved Malcesine, would visit again and use this hotel again but on a B@B basis

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is well located for walking into Malcesine, and if you take the route by the lake rather than the main road, made a very pleasant stroll which took no more than 10 minutes. Malcesine is a charming and pretty resort, with plenty of shops and places to eat and drink. We visited a few resorts around the lake, and I definitely think we made a good choice in Malcesine, it is so pretty.

Our room itself, although a little small was extremely clean, which is much more important. I know it has been mentioned before on other reviews regarding the lack of air conditioning, and I can imagine it would be very stuffy in the height of summer, however, I slept very well.

We ate half board, and the food overall was of a good quality, if a little dull. It did seem a bit of a shame we were not eating in Malcesine and soaking up the atmosphere.

The best things about this hotel was the location, cleanliness, the view, and the pool which was nice to relax by after a day sightseeing.

PS. I discovered the best Amarena (cherry) ice cream sold just by the steps of the castle..mmmm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at the Antonella 9th to 16th June 2012, Hotel and rooms were kept immaculately clean. We had a lake view room with a stunning view. The hotel is situated on quite a busy road about a ten minute walk from the centre of Malcesine, but as others have stated there is a lakeside path which takes a little longer but is a beautiful walk.
Breakfast is served 8.00am to 9.30am and is a buffet style consisting of fruit, yogurt, breads, cold meat, cheese etc. with fruit juice, tea or coffee. Dinner is served from 7.00pm to 7.30pm and consists of four courses; the starter course (antipasto) is a salad buffet. 1st course (primo) usually has a choice of pasta, soup etc., 2nd course (secondo) is meat, poultry etc. finally a dessert course with various choices of cake, ice cream etc. We found the food to be of a good standard with generous portions. After dessert you order your meal for the following evening from a choice of three dishes for each course.
Generally, the hotel is run by a friendly and efficient staff. Food, excellent. Cleanliness, excellent. Service, excellent. Lack of air conditioning a great shame.

Top things to do:-

Trip up Mont Baldo on cable car (choose a clear day)
Ferry to Riva on market day
Cruise on two masted ketch the Siora Veronica

Room Tip: If it's going to be hot, forego the view and take a rear room, unless they have since installed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antonella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antonella

Address: Via Gardesana 22, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antonella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Antonella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonella Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Antonella Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antonella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.