We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Castello, Malcesine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castello Lake Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castello Lake Front to your Saves list
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Via Paina, 21, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Castello, Malcesine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel with good standard, close to the Garda lake (private beach),
Wi-Fi in room, private car parking, clean rooms, very good service.
Good breakfast and excelent dinners. Stay in Hotel Castello worth recomendation and the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    53
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
97
340
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Castello Is located on the banks of the lake and has unrestricted views over the lake to the mountainous backdrop.The rooms as well as the dining area all share this excellent scenery.The rooms are to a high standard which has a daily maid service.My wife and I have stayed and dined in top end establishments all over the world so this is an easy review to write, we could not have had a better hotel to stay in for our first visit to Italy.This family run hotel has got it right from the attentive and relaxed way they conduct the day to day running of this beautiful hotel.Food is first class and wine selection extensive.The Attention to detail and friendly staff impress.Location is five minutes walk from the castle and around ten to the Harbour area with the many eateries to enjoy whilst out for a stroll.Mr & Mrs G.Bennie 10/10

Room Tip: High floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the superb Hotel Castello, due to my husband's cousin's wedding which took place at beautiful Malcesine Castle. The location is absolutely stunning and perfect situated at the edge of the beautiful Lake. The view of the Lake from the Breakfast room is just simply stunning and the foods were amazing with ample of choice. We had a fantastic view of the castle and the lake from our room which was spotless and comfortable. The hospitality of staff were wonderful, couldn't ask for more.
Malcesine itself is absolutely beautiful, flat shoes are essential due to cobbles/stones and some slopes, ample of shops and restaurants there.
As travel wise, I have to say Hotel Castello is one of the most friendliest hotel we ever stayed in Europe, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and we already considered coming back in Sept 2013 bringing our friends. I booked this hotel directly via email and I rate their correspond excellent, The only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Perfect quiet location right on the lake front with no noisy roads nearby. Most efficient maid service I've ever experienced. Francesca and family were the perfect hosts. The most amazing breakfast included! Perfect small/medium hotel for my first trip to Lake Garda. I would wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Castello!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Castello, which my husband had booked as part of a surprise trip for us (along with a few days in Venice), and I cannot stress enough how much we loved the hotel and the area as a whole.

I had always wanted to visit the Lake Garda area but had been told to go to Bardolino. As my husband had booked Malcesine, I was unsure what to expect. Whilst I am sure Bardolino would also have been lovely, I absolutely loved Malcesine, and a HUGE part of that was due to the Hotel Castello.

We have travelled quite a bit throughout Europe and the States, and I can honestly say that I have never experienced the hospitality and kindness that all members of the family offered at this hotel.

We had booked a basic room with no view, and were very surprised as it had a patio and although there was "no view" from the room, you still had a lovely view of the castle and the lake from the chairs on the outside patio. The room itself was very nice, modern and clearly well maintained. It far exceeded our expectations for a "basic" room.

The hotel (rooms and public areas) was absolutely spotless, and this was particularly impressive as the cleaning staff were not intrusive, loud, or disruptive. The only way you knew they were there was when you returned to a spotless room at the end of the day!

The bar staff were very kind and attentive, and Matteo and the family were very considerate and friendly when dealing with any of our questions/requests.

Our only regret was not eating at the restaurant as the menu looked amazing- WHEN we return we will definitely be dining here (the only reason we didn't was due to the short duration of our stay as we wanted to try as many places as possible).

I think the best way to summarise our stay is that for the first time in my experience to date, I felt like I was leaving family when checking out, as opposed to a more formal checking out process. We will definitely be returning, and cannot thank all of the team enough for a truly wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 7 nights at the Hotel Castello, having booked after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor. You need to book well in advance as the hotel is very popular. It is a family run hotel which is so refreshing, as the majority of good hotels are now owned by groups and the staff are merely employees; it certainly makes for a completely different atmosphere and enhances the welcome you receive. The location by the edge of the lake is superb and the facilities are excellent; nothing has been overlooked; free Internet, beach towels, extra pillows, comfortable, quiet rooms with balconies and wonderful views of the lake, absolutely stunning breakfast with every conceivable dish available from fruit to cold meats, cheeses, cakes, omelettes, breads, toast and jams. There is a heated jacuzzi and wonderfully comfortable sofas to relax in with international newspapers provided. The family are always on hand to offer advice and recommendations. All in all we could not fault our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room but there are also slightly larger rooms and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have recently returned from the Hotel Castello. It is perfectly situated on the lakeside beneath the castle. All of the rooms at the hotel have lakeside views, are very comfortable and from the balconies at night there are beautiful sunsets over the lake. The hotel and gardens are very well kept and the family enjoyed swimming in the lake and sunbathing in the garden area. The whole hotel is very relaxing and our daughter's first comment was "Why have we only come for one week it is so heavenly."

Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic. As well as the fresh fruit, cooked meats and cheeses there is a cooked option to which it is possible to add freshly fried eggs or omelettes of your choice.The evening meal is a five course meal and is excellent value. The entree course is "The Chefs Special" and it is interesting to go to dinner to see what special course the chef has provided each day. The staff in the restaurant were efficient and friendly and whilst enjoying a joke were extremely professional.The Italian wines were first class.

The Treccani family and the reception staff were friendly and pride themselves on their hospitality and from the moment guests arrive at the hotel they are made to feel welcome. The rooms and the rest of the hotel are spotlessly clean and inviting.

Malcesine is a thriving town with a good selection of shops and lakeside walks either side of it. The town's harbour has a wide variety of restaurants and ferry boats call in. It is ideally situated to hop on a boat and cross to Limone on the opposite shore of the lake or relax and travel to towns further down the lake.

It is our second holiday at the Hotel Castello and we will be back again.
The Lloyd family

Room Tip: If I were a first time visitor to the hotel I would choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Address: Via Paina, 21, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WINTRADE S.R.L., Booking.com, WINTRADE S.R.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castello Lake Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.