We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Smeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Smeralda to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Smeralda
Strada Panoramica, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Chester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Got back from staying at Smeralda yesterday and can't wait to go back! Great family run hotel that is clean, newly refurbished to excellent standards.
The best thing about the hotel is the stunning views of the lake. Good pool and roof terrace with whirlpool!
The hotel caters mainly for the German market although everyone is made to fell welcome!
You may want to consider the walk up the hill from the lake to the hotel as you may be out of breath in the heat...but it is worth it!!!! Car parking on site and free fridge and great aircon!!!
Will be staying again!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Lack of sound proofing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We got married In September in the castle at malcesine and we were fortunate enough to stay stay at Hotel Villa Smerelda. This hotel is family run and they are a really delightfull family who cannot do enough for you.

The hotel itself is immaculate and spotlessly clean and the service is professional and friendly (Something you dont always find with larger hotels). We had a room with a lakeview on the 3rd floor and the views are out of this world and worth the little walk into town as it only takes 10 minutes.

The swimming pool is also really well kept and with plenty of sun loungers and the views when you are swimming are spectacular.
All in all I cannot recommend this hotel more. We loved it and are planning to go back for our anniversary. So, thank you Allesandro and family and see you again!!!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

This is a lovely hotel with old fashioned service with a smile. Run by an Italian family, or rather a family originally from San Marino. Allessandro the manager wants to attract more English and American visitors and goes the extra mile to make sure everything is to your satisfaction. We had a great room with spectacular views over Lake Garda. The hotel is on the Strada panoramica and as this suggests it is a 10 minute walk uphill to reach it from the centre of Malcesine. However the slope is not very steep and going down is easier !
Our room was large, very clean but a little basic. However the view made you forget this. The hotel has a swimmingpool, a jacuzzi on the roof and a lovely dining room overlooking the lake. The resort's second language is German as they can motor over the border and tend to come for weekend visits.
Malcesine is high up the lake but it is very easy to get everywhere on the lake ferries. I would not bother hiring a car as the 2 lane road down the lake gets very slow with heavy traffic.
If you go in July and August you absolutely must attend the Opera in Verona. It is a an ancient Roman Amphitheatre in the centre of Verona city. Please read my review of the opera I saw on my website at [---] It is a night to remember. Lake Garda is a place to revisit, and I certainly will do this. The Villa Smeralda is a hotel I will gladly return to. The good old-fashioned service with plenty of food on offer on the half board option is excellent, wholesome food if a bit 'international'. However there is always a pasta and fish course, an eat as much as you like salad bar and a choice of desserts. The breakfast has loads of choice, and a wonderful view of the lake in all its many moods and lights. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness and good service
  • Disliked — no English language pogrammes on the TV
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Verona Opera and Venice
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

My son was getting married in May in the castle at Malcesine and my friends and I chose to stay at Villa Smeralda. As this was our first visit to Italy we could not have been more pleased to stay at this marvellous family-run hotel. The food was excellent and the service by the staff and Allessandro and his parents could not be improved upon. Rooms were spotless and the views (swimming pool on roof!) were superb. An added advantage was the free airport transfer.
Thank you, Allessandro and family, see you in 2006.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Smeralda

Address: Strada Panoramica, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Smeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeralda Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Villa Smeralda Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Smeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.