We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capri to your Saves list
Hotel Capri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panoramica, 26, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a welcome back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We finally managed to get back after 3 years, oh how wonderful this hotel still is. Last time we went we did so much we didn't have a lot of time for Malcesine or the lake. This time we spent more time in and around the resort and hotel. We spent time around the pool, but there is also a fantastic terrace on top of the hotel with fantastic views almost all the way round, this is usually a little quieter than the poolside, we used to take wine up there late evening and watch the sunset, and to see the stars. Let me say the hotel is still as fantastic as the first time we went, from the hospitality of all the staff to the food and cleanliness of the hotel. Emil and Marco still can't do enough for their guests. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
We travelled with Thomson again, I do like the new way they do their welcome meetings instead of being in the hotel they actually took you on a walkabout round Malcesine which was very interesting with the knowledge the reps had and you could see exactly where all the recommended amenities where.
We didn't do any of the organised trips as we did lots last time. This time we did more of our own thing, we did walks on monte baldo and the lake. We took the ferry over to Limone. We caught the public service bus to Verona (as we wanted to visit some gardens) which I was worried about doing, it was so easy to travel this way. It was only 5 euro 60 each way, you are better getting both your outward and return tickets from the bus station/tourist information, it is cheaper then getting them on the bus. They have lots of info in there and maps to help you get around, the buses run about every 1/2 hour, it takes about 2 hours to Verona but it doesn't seem that long as it is so scenic for most of the journey, there is a screen on the bus which tells you which is the next stop, We will do more independent travelling next time possibly trying the train from Peschira. We will be revisiting this hotel and resort again with no doubt, hopefully in the not to distant future. We think Malcesine is the best resort for location, the ease of getting about to different places also there is plenty to see and do there. We love Lake Garda it is so clean and the people are so nice, always making you feel welcome wherever you go without pestering you like you find in many other European countries. All this make such an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The lake views are spectacular, it is so nice to wake up to that view every morning, both times we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    58
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
180
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Potton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Capri and I must say that the Hotel was absolutely fantastic and we had one of our best ever holidays.
There are many components to a great holiday and this family run hotel more than played it's part. It is well located in this delightful shore side town, a 10 minute walk into the centre. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and dinner cooked to order.
Marco and his staff, Enrica especially, go out of their way to make sure you have a good holiday and their attention to detail does not go un-noticed.
The service we received was far better than it's 3* rating, in fact we have been to 5* hotels and not been looked after as well as we were here.
Because of the fact that the town is built on the hillside the hotels' ground do have a few sets of steps to navigate but that cannot be helped. Please do not let that put you off visiting this hotel especially if you are looking for a quiet place to stay whilst you explore this wonderful part of Italy.
A number of the guests, both British, Italian and Germans appear to return here year after year and we can see why. We shall definitely be back!

Room Tip: The lake views are excellent but the views of the mountain and it's Eagles and Buzzards are wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here half board for 11 days and got married at the castle. The hotel kindly gave us a free bottle of prosecco on news of our marriage which was kind. Had lake view balcony room, the view is breath taking!! The room was modern and immaculate!! A short 5 minute walk to all the many restaurants and shops, the staff make this hotel and are the main reason why we would always return to this hotel, they can not do enough for you. The food is out of this world!! Always a variety, in the 11 days we never had a repeated meal. We were half board. Great wifi too. We can not praise this hotel enough. A must is the cable car up Mount Baldo and a visit to the castle, and ferry trip to Limone. so much to do! And in the 11 days we stayed here we did not run out of things to do, in fact we can not wait to return to do and see more, please book this hotel you will not regret it :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed for 3 days for a surprise birthday treat, hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly, stayed half board in a lake view room with a balcony which is a definite must, the views are breath-taking. Just a short walk (5-10mins) you are into the centre of Malcesine centre with a great choice of bars, restaurants and ice cream parlours (we had one everyday). The castle is a must visit again the views are gorgeous. Trip up to the top of Monte Baldo in the cable car is a must and is a 10-15 min walk from the hotel.
Hotel kindly make up a pack up breakfast/lunch as our flight was so early on the day we left which was a huge help.
Food in the restaurant was amazing and very well presented.

Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Must choose a lake view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with another 8 members of our family as we were married in Malcesine Aug 2013.

This hotel is absolutely amazing. We had a lake view room which is a must! We went half board and the food was amazing. Even my husband who is extremely picky with food liked almost every dish. Breakfast was great and served a wide selection
What I liked was our party were always sat together at every meal.

The staff were incredible and even left us a bottle of champagne with our breakfast the morning after the wedding.

Hotel extremely clean and the pool area gorgeous.

They were great with us getting photos of the wedding for on their grounds.

The only one niggle we all had was there was always a mix up with drinks going onto the rooms. They didn't seem to like taking cash there and then. Minor niggle but wouldn't stop us going back at all.

Can't wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel was everything we had hoped for. Large room with balcony over looking Lake Garda. Clean as can be, great wifi, great breakfast. Would recommend to any type of traveler, just a short walk from town and castle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed the week of June 2013 for our daughterss wedding at Malcesine Castle. The accommodation was lovely and very clean. Marcus very welcoming and helpful at all times. The views are stunning and location an idilic 10 miniute lakeside walk to the centre of a bustling town. Although we had no time to use the hotel facilities they looked spot on and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lakeside view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 73 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 73 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#4 of 73 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#2 of 73 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#11 of 73 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#7 of 73 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Via Panoramica, 26, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, WINTRADE S.R.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Capri Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.