We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vela Azzurra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vela Azzurra to your Saves list
Hotel Vela Azzurra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   gardesana 468, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a clean and spacious double room with a wonderful view of the lake. It's 2min drive from Malcesine so very easily accessible. The staff were very friendly, the restaurant was decent. Free wi-fi, parking. Very pleased to have spent a couple of nights there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food,nice people and clean rooms.
We expected to stay here only one day
but finally we decide to stay 2 more days
The hotel is located just 300 meters from
The sailing center and close to the cable car to monte baldo
Thanks to everybody

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. Clean rooms, good decor, air conditioning and a good breakfast. Free parking but up a very steep hill our car could not climb and we had to roll back down onto a busy road-very dangerous.

Unfortunately we had a bad experience with the management. We booked 2 double rooms, 1 person in each room. When we arrived the manager made a fuss saying one room had 2 bedrooms and we could go and look. We saw it and agreed we could both stay in that room and we would not need the other room. On checking out he charged us for both rooms. We refused and he shouted and screamed and gesticulated at us in a typical Italian way. He insulted us and then his wife came and joined in. After a 20 minute stand off where he threatened to take all the money without my authorisation as he had my credit card details we threatened to sue him if he did and he finally capitulated. Disgraceful behaviour.

We also had dinner in the restaurant and it took a very long time and we had to ask for water and the menu several times before it arrived.

Needless to say we will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

A good clean affordable hotel, small boutique style, friendly staff who are very helpful, our Italian is basic but they were more than happy to accommodate us by talking English, we had an amazing lake view from our balcony.
The hotel boasts a really good restaurant, very good food and obviously has a good reputation as it was busy. Private carpark available at the back of the hotel, and also at the front, roadside.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I'll preface this by saying the final approval on this hotel was not mine. My wife and I were travelling with my sister in law and her 18 month old. So, they had final say.

Ordinarily I like to stay towards the city center, which provides a better opportunity to walk to attractions, restaurants, shops, etc. Vela Azzura is 4-5 km outside of Malcesine, so you'll either need a car or take the bus into the town. I found it a bit incovenient, but it did give us a reason to get some exercise in during our stay.

Location aside, Vela Azzura is a great value. We stayed for 60 euros a night, about $90 US. Tough to beat that price. My sis-in-law and her daughter stayed in a single room for 38 euros.

The rooms were pretty average as far as I remember for a 2-3 star hotel. We were in 201, in the front of the hotel, looking out onto the lake. Small, nothing pretty, but not bad either. Tiny bathroom too, though I noticed the other room (211) had a bigger bathroom. Everything appeared to be pretty clean. 201 had a small balcony, didn't notice if 211 did.

Noise from the street in the mornings didn't bother me, though I usually get up by 8. If you like to sleep in, it could be a potential problem. Street noise at night was non-existent.

Each room has a small tv which gets 10-12 channels or so, though you get different channels depending on whether you use the cable or just the built in tuner.

There's free wifi, but it was pretty spotty in the room. Worked best down in the lobby.

Warning: they mop the marble stairway in the mornings, right around the time you may be heading for breakfast, and they do not post any signs. I found out the hard way, as my feet went flying out from under me.

The restaurant wasn't so great, at least what we ordered. I had the Mount Baldo pizza, my wife had the Mount Baldo salad, neither were very satisfying.

All in all, I probably wouldn't stay there again just because I like to be in the thick of things, but if you don't mind being outside the city, it's a terrific value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The rooms with balcony with a sea-view are small and with a very small bathroom.
The hotel is in Navene just 4 km north of Malcesine with a walking path to Malcesine along Lake Garda. Roberto will really do everything to make your stay enjoyable and his pizzas are among the best we have had any place in the world.When the AC in the room break down he will fix it in minutes.
The hair dryer is a disaster so bring your own and a long extension cord.
The free parking made us walk and go by bus and ferry to Riva, Limone and Malcesine.
The view from the balcony of Lake Garda and Limone is really a treat

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have direct access to the parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We chose this hotel due to position at Malcesine and cable car ride to Mount Baldo.We had double and 2 single rooms .The 2 single rooms had very small bathrooms and all had very basic decoration and furniture,but overall they were comfortable.We had inside rooms which didnt have a view,but were away from the road.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very good stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vela Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Azzurra

Address: gardesana 468, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vela Azzurra 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vela Azzurra is a nice small family hotel located in front of the enchanting bay of Navene,just 10 mt.far from the beach,300mt from the sailing and surfing center,6 km from Torbole and 4 km from the center of Malcesine and the cable car to Monte Baldo.All the rooms offer facilities :hair dryer,telephone,air conditioning,safe,most of our rooms have balcony with precious lakewiew,private parking,lift... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vela Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vela Azzurra Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vela Azzurra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.