We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday, wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Majestic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Navene, 96, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday, wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited 17-24 August 2013.
This hotel is superb for families myself, husband and 22 month boy had a great time.
This was my third time to Lake Garda but both times before we stayed in beautiful Sirmione and married there in 2008. As our 5 year wedding anniversary & my sons first holiday abroad we knew Lake Garda was the right place.
I choose Malcesine and the Majestic as it seemed to offer everything we would require and the comments on here ensured my option.
The hotel is wonderful staff brill, food amazing and in a lovely town.
My only negatives would be that there is no baby changing facilities downstairs, the bed was quite uncomfortable and the entertainment although ok could be a little bit better but honestly I am gutted to be home and cannot wait to go back
The half board option is great one of the best xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here from 3rd to 17th August 2013 with two boys aged 6 and 9, and it was absolutely wonderful! Food was amazing (and we are real foodies..) something different every night, staff so friendly and helpful. We arrived at midnight, but were still served a delicious meal of cold meats and salads as soon as we came in the door.

Our room was a deluxe family room, away from the main hotel, but right beside a smaller pool area, which was perfect for us. The views from the balcony were spectacular, out across the lake. The room was huge, and a great bathroom too. The grounds and interior of the hotel are spotless, obviously great care is taken of the whole property.

Malcesine is a great little town to explore, busy, but fun. We took the boat to Limone and Riva, and did a day trip to Verona also. Taking the cable car up to Monte Baldo is a must, but pricey.

One of the highlights was swimming in the lake, really glorious, and the lake beach is only a short stroll from the centre of town.

We would go back to the Majestic Palace in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife, two children age 14 and 11 and myself have just returned home from a 2 week holiday in this hotel. We prefer not to holiday in the same place each year and certainly not in the same hotel as we like to see the world, therefore we have stayed in many hotels in many Countries and have never felt the need to review any of them however this hotel was different. Everything about this holiday and especially this hotel was perfect, the staff, the room, the pools, the views, the activities, the other quests and definitely the food.

We stayed in a luxury room, located in a separate block from the main hotel which was a really good size with a lovely view of the lake. My wife was impressed with the wardrobe as it was a really good size slide robe able to store all of our clothes. The room has a small safe which costs 1 euro per day, a TV, large bathroom, two Queen size beds, two single beds and a fridge which was really great. The room was made up every day and the maids always provided fresh towels and shower gel etc.

The hotel has several pools with lots of loungers, garden areas again with loungers, a tennis court, crazy golf, a kids park, volleyball net, outdoor chess, boules, trampoline, indoor pool and sauna.

The location of the hotel is 1.3 km from the center of Malcesine (at the harbor) which takes 15 - 20 minutes to walk. Part of the walk is a small slope, do not be put off this is not a big hill simply a slope which is easy. However if you prefer not to walk you have two options, the hotel runs a shuttle bus roughly every hour to the town at a cost of 1 euro, also the tourist bus (local bus run by tourist office) does a 10 km lap of the town and comes also every hour and also costs 1 euro.

We stayed half board which includes free drinks with your meal (soft drinks, beer, wine and water). Four days each week the hotel provides free lunch also with free drinks, the other three days you can purchase a lunch in the main bar at a very reasonable price. As for the food, the best I have ever had in any hotel all over the world.
The breakfast is normal fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon (typical European fatty bacon), breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, hams, cheese etc.
The dinner was great, carved meats (turkey, roasts etc), potatoes, vegetables, fish, omlettes, pizza, various pasta dishes (cooked in front of you), salads, soups etc every night.

The hotel has free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits every day from 4pm until 5pm. Then they have a cocktail hour where you buy one cocktail and get one free (great measures).

The entertainment was on 5 nights a week (not Friday and Saturday) with mostly live music from different singers every night. These singers were great the atmosphere was good as they belted out "Thats Amore" and Volare etc. They also had flamingo dancers and a magician each week, the dancers were good and very pleasing on the eye. As for the magician who was called Reme, his show was absolutely fantastic, he spoke about 5 languages and his acts were astounding - not a clue how he did them.
We sat outside every evening watching the entertainment and we were served by one of the best waiters I have ever had, his name was Isidro and a more pleasant helpful guy you will never meet. He took the kids up to the ice-cream counter and helped them, he joked with them, he brought me down various different drinks to try (loved the Sambuca with coffee beans) and he always remembered my wifes' sparkling wine without being told. A really good waiter, good fun and well worth giving a good tip to.

We hired a car for a couple of days ( from a guy in the town) 65 euros per day for a Fiat Punto. We were able to drive down to Gardaland for the day (buy your tickets in the tourist office) and also drove around the lake to Limone, lovely place.

Malcesine is about half way up the lake and is a beautiful place, however it may be slightly away from things of interest, such as Verona, Venice, Gardaland, Water park, Movie-land etc. For these it would be better to stay further south in somewhere like Peschiera as it has a train station which you can travel to Verona in 15 minutes and Venice in 1 hour 40 min. However having stayed down there before and done all those things I would go back to Malcesine.

The staff in this hotel, reception, bar, restaurant, waiting, maids were all like a big friendly family who make you want to return. On the day of your departure if your pick up is later on in the day they offer you a free room with shower facilitates and towels etc.
The other quests are also worth mentioning, for our two weeks the quests were all very mannered and civil, no louts or out of control kids running wild without supervision as I have witnessed in other places.

All in all, for the first time ever we have discussed the possibility of going back to this hotel next year again, very likely.

Room Tip: Go for a luxury room - bigger, more modern and great views. Buy your Gardaland tickets from the tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband, 8 year old daughter and myself have just returned from a week at the Majestic Palace Hotel. We had a room overlooking the main pool area which was fine. The room was reasonably basic and probably would benefit from a make-over however, was clean and adequate for us. The food was buffet style which always provides debate. It was very busy at meal times however, we found a nice table away from the servers which helped. There was a good selection in the morning including cooked breakfast and evening meals included pasta and meat dishes. In addition and as previously by other guests we had the benefit of 4 lunches thrown in as well as all drinks included which was helpful on the purse strings. I did realise when booking the hotel that there was a walk to the town however, on reflection I think we felt this was probably a little too far for us. The hotel provides a courtesy bus for 1 Euro each but this was often very busy so we ended up walking. The tourist bus back to the hotel was also 1 Euro however, kids were free of charge. Again, this was so often busy which made the trip uncomfortable with the other nationalities all pushing and shoving for a place. Taxi's had to be ordered and charged anything from 7 to 14 Euro's back to the hotel. The only other issue was how cold the pool was. Freezing! Other than that the staff were really friendly and made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant. We had a lovely breakfast given to us on the day of our departure because the restaurant would not be open. Very thoughtful! Crazy golf, tennis, ping pong all available. Very family orientated restaurant which I would recommend however, make sure you are happy with the location in advance.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Majestic Palace from 7th August to 21st August 2013 as part of a family wedding. On arrival the hotel looked fantastic with very helpful reception and check in staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and we had ample space. The food was delicious with plenty of choices. The bar staff were good, especially Isidro, who was extremely helpful. Drinking is expensive in the hotel and around the area. The hotel has Happy Hour on cocktails and long drinks between 6pm and 7pm. The hotel is about a 20 min walk into the town centre but is a nice walk, up hill on return but still easy. If you want to be in the heart of the town this hotel would not be suitable. Food is cheap in most restaurants, we had 2 starters, 2 pizzas, bottle of wine and water for 40€.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Majestic, as a lively middle aged couple - and found it to be a great hotel. The decor of the public rooms was cool and clean. We had an 'attic room' which is one of the cheaper choices I would imagine and I was not looking forward to being in a dingy room for a week. I was delighted when we got there as even though the decor was a bit dark (but spotless) - the view we had over the lake was gorgeous. (I doubt you would have the same view from one of the more expensive rooms so I would choose the same room again.) Every member of staff we came accross was so friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of time at the bar (every evening!) and were even given a bottle of wine 'on the house' because it was our wedding anniversary. A very kind gesture I thought. The 'half board plus' deal is extremely good - 4 lunches free during the week and unlimited soft drinks / wine and beer during the lunctimes and during evening meal times. We found the food to be of a very high standard. It was a 20 minute walk to Malcesine which was fine. The hotel did run a shuttle service for 1 euro each and also a tourist bus runs from the town to the hotels for the same price. We chose to walk each time. The town itself was beautiful, a maze of little cobbled streets with shops and bars etc, most leading down to a very pretty waterfront. The castle was a lovely feature, well worth a visit - I am not surprised that it is a very popular place for weddings - a wonderful setting. We went on the ferry to Limone - only takes 20 mins or so and that was a very pretty and quaint little town. I loved that too. All in all we had a wonderful holiday - relaxing and picturesque. I would love to return one day and would not hesitate to go back to the Majestic Palace.

Room Tip: Attic rooms overlooking the lake was good (we had 335)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was forced here when it's sister hotel failed to honour our booking. As a couple in our fourties with no children this would not be a first choice. Hotel would probably be great for families. The room we had was great, excellent air conditioning, clean etc. But for us the problem was it is not designed for couples. Loads of children, terrible buffet style catering, horrible plastic seat bar area, no free wifi (one of my pet hates) and a good twenty minute walk to melcesine ( which was fantastic). Would definitely return to melcesine, better than limone in my opinion, but would not use this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Navene, 96, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Palace Malcesine
Majestic Palace Hotel Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.