We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace? I dont think so!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Majestic Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Navene, 96, 37018 Malcesine, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Malcesine
Roscommon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Palace? I dont think so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights and was delighted to escape with my health. Meal times were chaotic as the buffet-style service entailed rushing and scrambling for food to retrieve warm pizza, greasy fish and dodgily-cooked vegetables. Wonderful for people who drink alcohol as it's all free (hence the scrambling). Essentially an all-you-can-eat buffet which would best suit Homer Simpson or other neanderthals (not me!). For those who like a relaxed mealtime ambiance, this is not the place for you. There's no table service, the dining 'hall' is bright and loud and please, do hang on to your cutlery - it disappears as soon as you put it down.
Mealtime mayhem aside, my room was drab and had a dusty feel to it. It was cleaned daily but the hotel just seems old and dated. The walk to Malcesine was nice and the shuttle bus of €1 each way was reasonable (should it have been complimentary though!?)
Wouldn't return there - ever again

Room Tip: Mountain-view room overlooks the hotel entrance driveway, so lots of noise with travellers arriving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    75
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here on above dates with 19 yr old daughter and 2 yr old grandaughter as well as a large group of my family for a wedding. This hotel is half way up the mountain, you can walk down to malcesine in about 20 mins, can walk up bit is a bit hilly so allow 30 mins, we managed it even with a push chair. There is a tourist bus also that runs to and from malcesine to local hotels including MJ every hour, cost one euro for adults, room for push chairs in the boot.
Hotel is clean and comfortable, set in spacious grounds - great for kids and couples. Lots of sunbeds and 3 pools. Staff are friendly and speak english. Food was ok all buffet style and a bit repetitive for me and not much for children. Restaurant staff very helpful though and you get free wine and beer with lunch and dinner, 4 days a week lunch is free which was a bonus. We had a family room, twin beds and a sofa bed, large balcony. Bought a bottle of wine each night in the bar which was 13 - 14 euros so did not think this was expensive but dont know how much beer is, a barcadi and coke and all cocktails were 6 euros, can buy pizza slice or sandwiches at lunch time all 4 euros. Malcesine is lovely but very hilly, not good if you have poor mobility, the town itself is abundant with restaurants and bars and is very family friendly. Boat tours run daily to other parts of the lake, Limone and Riva are lovely. All in a ll good hotel in good location and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room, they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda. We stayed at the Majestic Palace after reading reviews. We were not disappointed as we had a great weeks stay there. We had been on a cruise the previous year and although this was not the same standard as a luxury cruise, it was indeed a very pleasurable holiday. I would agree the rooms are a little outdated but the beds were very comfortable and the room was kept very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the courtesy bus to town was a good help. the food was of a good standard but as with most hotel buffets, was a bit repetative. Having said that, we had no complaints and we had a great menu at the gala dinner.
It was a 20 minute walk to the town but you could stroll back up at your leisure without any problems. We also used the shortcut to the lakeside and then walked back along the lakeside to Malcesine. it was quite steep but we managed to walk back up even though we stopped a few times to get our breath. if you go down the shortcut and turn right at the bottom you will see where the paragliders land!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe and pick a room on floor 2 or 3 to get a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A great place to stay, very helpfully staff, buffet style meals with plenty of choice and good food.
A 20 min downhill walk into the town is ok but coming back up can be daunting, however there are buses if you time it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here in July for our honeymoon. The reception, bar and restaurant were lovely but the rooms were very disappointing as they were so dated. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was good, but very loud as we were in a room overlooking the bar however the music stopped around eleven which was a reasonable hour. This hotel is quite big and can get busy at meal times. This hotel is similar to those we have stayed when in Spain. Next time I would stay in one of the smaller hotels in malcesine which seem to have a more Italian feel about them.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I holidayed here with my two children aged 10 and 11 in July this year. As a single parent it is important that I feel the hotel and resort of my choice is safe in every way.
I was not dissapointed. The hotel was well run, efficient, food was great, staff friendly and the amazing Romero ran his diningroom like an army officer.
Facilities are very good-the pool is a great size, Lovely gardens, and play pools for younger children. Lots of other games available. We played volleyball in the evenings with full stomachs! The hotel seems big enough to absorb everybody without feeling crowded.
Our room was very clean if a little dated. Its worth it to try for a more modern room at the back of the main hotel.
Malcesine is a lovely town-great to browse around. Scalegari Castle is beautiful with great views.Dont forget a plunge in the lake-you will feel and see carp in the water.
We loved the boat trips to Limone and Riva-dont miss the markets for some great Italian fashion.
The shop selling Murano glass jewellry in Riva square is to die for. I bought up the shop-great for presents.
In all, despite the heat, we had a lovely time .i would not hesitate to take children here if you are a single parent. Both the hotel and the town seems to attract a nice clientele. No lager louts present. Some wedding groups can get a bit boisterous at night but well behaved in general.
Would I go back? Yes. when its cooler.
I did miss coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: If you can-go for one of the modern rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrival 8th August til 15th August 2012
Although we booked our holiday in January 2012 ...on arrival we were informed that we would need to be reallocated another room after 4 days. With an infant in our party this was poor resource allocation by the Hotel and stressful from our point of view.
On the Friday (we were due at a wedding) we had no water/plumbing and were unable to prepare accordingly. Our Crystal rep Ruth was excellent and obviously approached management but this made no difference on any of the issues.
This hotel is NOT a taste of Italy you could be anywhere in europe and in this case we found it a little disappointing....
Malcesine beautiful and the wedding day exceptional in respect of service and Italy all organised by lake garda weddings....
Hotel In summary....
Food - Acceptable...
Drink - In restaurant free and of a good standard
Rooms - Clean....
Grounds - extensive....
Childrens play areas- require attention and updating ......
Restaurant service....good
location - not the best
- a distance from town but walkable down hill
- 10 euro taxi return,
Entertainment - every night ...good
Major problem .....no pool service and the bar is some distance from the 'back' pools.
Also glass was carried to the pool areas and on several occasions glasses were broken and
this caused health and safety issues SPECIFICALLY WITH CHILDREN
We always used plastic containers decanted at the bar.
Holiday value - average

Room Tip: Pick another hotel closer to the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Navene, 96, 37018 Malcesine, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Palace Malcesine
Majestic Palace Hotel Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.