We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel De Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel De Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orti 24, 84010 Maiori, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irwin, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I needed a no frills base for my photography sojourn of the Amalfi Coast. It is a nice hotel in the center of Maiori 100 yards from the beach. Renovated and cleaned perfectly every day..This was a very well run family hotel and the staff was awesome and bent over backwards to see I had all that I needed. I had a single, and although small, it provided all I needed.

The parking was free but problematic as you got your car stacked into a small garage and sometimes needed the staff to move cars blocking you in. You had to leave your keys at the desk. I would leave every morning at 5am for sunrise photography and the staff would see to it I didn't need help shuffling cars in the early am. The wifi was problematic, which can be a problem for traveling photographers.

I will stay there again.

Room Tip: It is hard to find as there is not a name on the street, get good directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It's hard to find even with a GPS, particularly at night and once you get there you wonder "how the hell am I going to get out of here?" And, typical New York reflex "where am I going to park?" Somehow the owners manage to get you a parking spot and you feel so relieved after that that the rest almost doesn't matter, in the sense that there are no other issues to confront.
Decent rooms, clean, central kinda funky location, essential but not Spartan. The morning breakfast was less than so-so, in particular the coffee was pretty bad but that's not something you can't find easily anywhere else in Italy. I just went to a local pasticceria and had my usual double double espresso (4 shots in one cup) and a lemon-cream brioche.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved the place.
Great location, very clean, free parking.
The two sisters who run the hotel was very nice, helped us a lot. Next to a big supermarket (50 meters), fruit and vegetable shop (40 meters), laundry (30 meters, 8 euro per Kilo), deli (100 meters), restaurants (40-200 meters), beach (150 meters) and bus stop (200 meters, make sure you buy a ticket first), ferry to Capri (300 meters). The hotel us simple but the bottom line is that it's a very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose the hotel for the good value and reviews. We stayed only one night and arrived late. It is a small hotel in a quiet street of a tiny village. On arrival which was after 10pm, the hotel was closed and no lights. Luckily we were able to reach the owners (I think we called the number from the booking-email. But maybe there was a night-bell. I don't remember clearly.) The door was opened after a few minutes by an old lady and we didn't have to spend the night outside :-)
So to prevent such situation the advise is: arrive early or, when arriving late, notify the hotel staff in time!

Since we were lucky that there was no car parked in front of the hoteldoor we could park our car there (advised from hotel-staff). Don't know where we could have parked otherwise, I didn't see a car-park.

The room was good and clean and with all required: a good bed and a shower. Some stairs need to be climbed to the rooms. But it's just one floor up. From there there is a small elevator.
Our room faced the street but it's a very small and quiet one. No traffic noise. There is a small balcony outside the room.

The breakfast was Italian, meaning limited. But for Italian standard it was rather good: small self service buffet mainly with cakes, sweets and brioche; some juices and of course coffee and tea. And very quiet, no staff present.

We left after the breakfast.

The very friendly hotel staff, two women, we only met at checkout.

It seems there are also people living in the same building. We met some local people in the elevator and the building gives more the impression of an apartment complex than a hotel.

All in all a good experience. Good place; good price! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this nice hotel. Room was really clean and nice. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy, and service was very friendly!!
Room had a balcony to sit on, and look at street life or people living across the street (interesting). Street was quite quiet, at least this time of the year.

Very near the beach and the center, well, it is a small town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Two sisters run this hotel, both extremely friendly and helpful. We had homemade lemon cookies and pound cake for breakfast, among other usual foods. They even made pancakes for the Americans. The rooms are what you would expect for the price, we did get an upgrade of sorts, a bigger room. No views to speak of, had a balcony for drying clothes. Had nice bathroom with good shower head.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the hotel De Rosa in maiori, italy and the score is 2 for 2. It is a family operation and everyone makes you feel at home. The family is very hospitable and especially
the sisters are impeccable. Maiori is also a place to stay, the beach, the panorama, the restaurants, the locals ( residents), the side walk by the beach , the breeze on the evening etc,etc. The first time we visited the amalfi coast, we stayed in Positano,since then we fall in love with Maiori and the De Rosa family is the icing on the cake or we fall in love with the De Rosa family and Maiori is the icing on cake. Anyway we had a great time.
Erick B

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Rosa

Address: Via Orti 24, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#8 Family Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Rosa Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.