We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all its made out to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Due Torri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club Due Torri to your Saves list
Hotel Club Due Torri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Diego Taiani 3, 84010 Maiori, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not all its made out to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at 11 pm after a hair raising taxi transfer over the mountains from Naples. The hotel is situated against the cliff overlooking Maiori. Our room on the seventh floor, just below the restaurant terrace, had spectacular views from the small balcony. Awesome. The room itself was in need of updating and was a bit tired. Although very clean the bath didn't have a plug and the chrome on the taps had long ago ceased to exist. There was everything that was needed in the room. The bed was large and comfortable. The bar upstairs was adequate but as we found on our final bill, each time you purchase from the bar a tax is added. This was between 2.50 and 3.50 Euros each night, which can add up if you are not aware of it, like we were. The breakfast is continental and one you wouldn't miss. Vouchers are given for the use of the neighboring private beach that is owned by another hotel. This was great until we discovered that it was 20 Euros a day. As you are limited to the use of the beaches and loungers and umbrellas, we chose to use the vouchers. There is a hundred meter walk from the hotel to the town which is along a narrow part of the road and that could be harrowing at times. Keep well into the railings. Not recommended for those that are not fit. There is a shuttle service provided by the hotel apparently, but we were not aware of this until we had left. The hotel itself is spectacularly situated for the views, the staff were polite and helpful but there was a distinct lack of information readily available. By this I mean information about the town, restaurants, services, transport etc. You had to seek it out, which isn't a bad thing but beware. On the whole the holiday was great and I would return. Maiori has everything for a lovely break but I would stay at a more centrally situated location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are brilliant but can be noisy due to the Fort restaurant opposite that plays very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
149
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Other reviewers have commented elsewhere about the beautiful views and the pleasant staff and we agree with all of those comments. However, what was apparent when we were at Club Due Torri was that there was no manager anywhere on any day. The result was that co-ordination between the various staffing sections was non-existent with everyone doing what they wanted to do - when they wanted to do it. For example, plates were not cleared from tables; food ran out every day for breakfast; orange juice had to be “milked” into glasses; hot food was left to grow cold as the bain-marie was not working; chairs were left upside down on top of tables in the dining room while food was being served; the vestibule was grubby and a lady receptionist was smoking every evening – within 5 yards of a No Smoking sign!

Visitors may care to note that bedrooms on Floor 7 should be avoided as they are dark and have not been refurbished for years.

On the positive side the evening meals were well prepared and attractive and at a charge of 25 euros for three courses were very good value.

Four stars? Perhaps long ago but today? No, a good three stars but at a 4 star price.

Room Tip: Don't accept any rooms on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staatsburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Incredible staff, very helpful. amazing location with exceptionally clean rooms. Walking distance from town and beach. a must on your list of places to stay. A real value for the cost. The rooftop dining area had wonderful views while you were dining. Breakfast was a great buffet with fresh fruit, yogurt and a variety of pastries. It also had ham and cheese with a variety of breads and of course, coffee, tea and juice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel was lovely in every way, the service was friendly and helpful, the location was terrific, both regarding the position on the cliff and the closeness of the local beach. The atmosphere was lively, view was stunning, we had a full view of fireworks almost nightly, and the restaurant was great too. Would recommend whole heartedly. We also rented a very reasonably priced boat at Capone's (short walk away) and led our own excursion to Positano, which was so fun. Free parking. Only warning is that the address does not come up on GPS at all, so get your directions straightened out with the staff before hitting the road. We were there with our two year old, all was great for her too. We drove to Pompeii for a day trip, not too far away, about 30 min. You can get a bus trip organized through the front desk too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Why stay in Almafi when you can stay in Maiori for a much better rate, in a beautiful hotel?! Hotel Club Due Tori is a fabulous hotel! The location can't be beat. It is a short a walk away from some beautiful beaches as well as downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, open and airy, and bright. The view was breathtaking. Each room has a porch where you can enjoy the view. When you sleep with the porch doors open, you can hear the waves crashing. We had a rental car, and we were able to park the car for free. The breakfast was decent. They had a lot of options. What a way to start the day! Good food and an awesome view. If you want to visit the beaches, you can buy your ticket in the lobby. We highly recommend this hotel, and plan on visiting Maiori and staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and everything about the place was great. Situated just outside maiori, a pleasant two minute walk down. The room had a fabulous sea view and was light & airy. Serviced each day by pleasant staff. Breakfast was also most enjoyable - a wide range to cater for everyone's needs regardless of nationality. The Bar staff where great and the reception staff very helpful with booking trips and local advice. All in all we couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We've just returned from 7 nights in Maiori and stayed here. We loved every minute of it. We had un upgraded room which I upgraded to at the point of booking and had a Summer Terrace room. The views were amazing and the room and bathroom were lovely - typical Italian with a sea view from the bed. Cool - to wake up and just look out to sea. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Maiori is great with some fantastic restaurants including Torre de Normani (which is a nice expensive treat), the Pizzeria was great too and cheaper, Al Mare and Dedalo. For those who are okay with Motorbikes, we hired a 250 scooter from Amalfi Bike Rental which was great and used the Hotel to tour from. The coast road to Sorrento is a must!!!! we loved it. Maiori is less touristy and more typical Italian - with families getting together and just sitting in the square. We loved the atmosphere here - sitting drinking Peroni just people watching.

There had been reviews saying the Laundry wasnt changed regularly at the Hotel but ours was done every day - no problem! We used the private beach everyday too which was great.

If you're looking for a typical Italian Hotel for a holiday with great views, good food and good service you cant go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Due Torri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Due Torri

Address: Via Diego Taiani 3, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maiori
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Due Torri 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Club Due Torri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Due Torri
Due Torri Hotel
Hotel Club Due Torri Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Due Torri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.