We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out dated ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sole Hotel to your Saves list
Sole Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Capone 79, 84010 Maiori, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Maiori
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Out dated ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect setting. Right by beach. But it's a bit outdated..beds were small and uncomfortable. The bathroom was small as well. Balcony view unbelievable. Staff very nice. Elevator was very small only three at a time. Breakfast buffet was poor.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location, right across the street from the best beach on the coast. We went to the Manhattan Beach Club across the street and told them we were from the Sole, and we received free beds and umbrellas on the beach. The rooms were clean, but fairly average beachside hotel accommodations.

The view from our balcony was priceless, and there was a handy awning that you could roll out when the sun got in your eyes. It was a very short walk to the town square where you can find many shops and restaurants.

The only negative were the staff. The two women who were working most of the time we were there, were the two nastiest people we met on our entire trip to Italy - and that's including the jerks who kept shoving roses in my wife's face in Rome.

In spite of the staff, I would stay at this hotel again due to the exceptional views and superb location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks directly out at the Mediterranean. Some rooms have sort of an angle vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks, the location is ideal, bus stop in front of the hotel, restaurants, and shops nearby, beach is just across the street. The hotel from the outside isn't that much to look at, but from the inside all the rooms have been recently renovated. Bedding was comfi and rooms extremely clean, the staff was very helpful and kind, breakfast was nice and when I suggested a better variety of fruits it was taken care of the next morning, yes they aim to please. The elevator to the rooms is an experience, it's only 1 meter by 1 meter in size, you get use to it, it's a 1 minute ride to the top floor. I would return any time. My rating is based that this hotel is rated as a 3 star. I didn't miss the fact that there was no restaurant in the hotel since since there were some all around.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at Sole Hotel for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect - pretty much downtown small village (5000 people) of Maiori, with the bus stop right outside the door. The room was clean and spacious, the balcony overlooked the Mediterranean with vistas of the Almalfi coast on either side - simply breathtaking. We could walk the town and to the next little village, Minori with no problem - catch the bus right outside the door, etc. The cleaning staff was friendly - roof garden excellent. The elevator was only about 3 X 3 so if you are travelling with large suitcases you will have to make more than one trip up to your room. All in all, we would happily stay there again for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Maiori is the quiet part of the Amalfi coast, without the madding crowds yet it offers better beaches, the same mediterranian sea, a range of excellent restaurants and wonderfully friendly and helpful people at the Hotel Sole. The hotel is exceptionally well located on the beach road with free access to its private beach 20 metres away. Breakfast is a little sparse and lacking in imagination but thhis is the only niggle. Otherwise the rooms are clean, well fitted, well serviced and are bright and airy. We would have no hesitation in recommending it or in staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Nothing negative to say about this gem of a hotel in Mairoi, Italy.......will definitely stay with them again.....can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Hotel

Address: Via G Capone 79, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.