We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panorama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Panorama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Tecla 8, 84010 Maiori, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Maiori
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Short walk from the bus stop in Maiori (though nothing is far, the town is small). The staff is friendly. The room and bathroom was pretty big, the furnishings are a little outdated. The breakfast is great up on the terrace - good way to start the day. The pool and pool area is smaller than the pictures would make you think but very clean. Beach towels are available at the reception at no cost. Provides good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We thank you for taking your valuable time to share your opinion about your stay. Our swimming pool, as can be read on all sites, it is a "Splash pool" but for all the guests who like to swim is available a big pool at our residence only 100 meters from Panorama Hotel.
I hope to have you again as our guest.
thank you
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    171
    76
    25
    23
See reviews for
120
300
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found this hotel a very good base for our sightseeing holiday. We arrived late around 11 o'clock and were expecting to go straight to bed but we were welcomed by the friendly staff and directed to the roof terrace for an unexpected light meal which was delicious.the room was bright and spacious and very clean with lovely linen and towels which were replaced every day. The maid service was excellent. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and food was plentiful and extremely good we did not have a meal we did not enjoy and the five of us all agreed on this. The lounge areas were very comfortable and attractive with deep filled comfy sofas and coffee and tea available at most times with fresh biscuits and pastries.
We did not use the swimming pool as we were at the end of the season but the roof terrace was very pleasant with sunbathing areas and a small pool.
The staff were always helpful and the hotel had a very pleasant atmosphere. We were not disappointed thank you Panorama. The only thing was that if you have a sea view which is a must as the views are amazing it is quite noisy outside until around midnight but it did not worry us too much a small price to pay for such a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms are at the front with unobstructed views on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Judith
means that we need to say thanks to you for choosing us and for sharing your experience. The opinions and suggestions of our guests are very important and valuable for us and we will use them to make improvements to give more and more and to have a service that fully satisfies our guests. In relation to noise, I inform you that during the winter will be installed new windows with triple glazing to reduce the noise outside.
you still come and visit us and you will find a sea view room with no outside noise.
thank you
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in the this hotel on a half board basis for 5 nights. The bedroom was adequate but as others have stated a little date .The view from the balcony was great and the air conditioner kept the room cool. The room was kept immaculate . The hotel is on the seafront and there is a beach area (small fee) across from the hotel. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and it was with delicously extensive. Dinner was served in the restaurant. We have no complaints about dinner , there was always a fish and vegatarian option. The quantity was always adeqaute and different. There was a great selection of regional wines. There are 2 bars but the only one open was the roof terrace. The staff were very friendly , attentive and made our stay .Many thanks to Ilaria , Pasqaule Raphael .
Maiori is not as commercialised as other amalfi resorts , but is a great base to work from. There are many restaurants on the promenade to enjoy very good and reasonably priced lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest
we are happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and our staff. E 'useful to know the opinion of our guests and thank you for posting your review.
We hope to have you again as our guest.
thank you
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been speaking with this hotel for 5 months about booking a large number of rooms for a group of us traveling there in June 2014. In June 2013 I confirmed the rooms and continued to talk with staff about planning the rest of the vacation. In October 2013 I mentioned I was having the travelers contact them directly to provide a deposit via credit card for the rooms. At this point I was told our price had increased 50%!

When I pointed out (and provided emails showing) I had already confirmed the rooms with the prices they quoted, their excuse was that since I only used the words "opted to select their hotel for the group" it wasn't really a confirmation since I didn't use the word "confirm", so they didn't have to honor the price quoted. When I pointed out that I have been speaking with their staff regularly since the June confirmation about other trip details and that I was never asked for any additional confirmation or deposit, this did not matter.

I am an experienced traveler and have kept records of all the discussions supporting the above. I can only say this hotel practices classic bait and switch maneuvers when it comes to pricing. I am glad to have found this out before we arrived on site and found our price to have jumped. Buyer beware and get it in writing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
To JohncpSimon "expert reviewer"

We are very sorry to see that an " expert reviewer " like you use this wonderful community to mischief an hotel and his staff that works very hard every single day to guarantee a good service ,just because it was not a whim satisfied.

To be corrected by all those who believe us and to give a true real information I want to clarify what happened :

1 - In March 2013 you sent us an e-mail for information on fees for certain rooms and we have answer you promptly ...... you talk about " confirmation " did you give a guarantee for this booking (credit card or deposit) ? ? no, you didn't! ! it seems strange that an expert reviewer , so an experienced traveler as she does not know that to confirm a reservation we need to give a guarantee .

2 - In October 2013 you contact us again and you found different rates ...... is it STRANGE ? ? seems normal to me indeed it seems strange that a reviewer expert , then an experienced traveler as she does not know is that international custom and all areas are now (hotels , flights , trains, etc. . ) that applies dynamic pricing and rates vary based on many variables (distance from the date of arrival, period of stay , room occupancy , etc.).

3 - To be honest In more than 480 reviews there is nobody to complain that it has been cheated on the price , this is a clear sign that what he says is not true .

it would be superfluous to say more ... ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you go into your experience at the Panorama with eyes open, you're in for a treat.

You need open eyes because this hotel is of a type. It's short on luxury. Groups like it. It shows the heavy use in places--not dirty but a little worn. Not everyone at the desk is equally helpful. The street in front can be noisy. Not everything in the rooms always works with 100% efficiency.

Having said that, I'd go back in a minute--during the shoulder seasons (because of the noise in front). The rooftop glows in the sun and shines this glow right back at the guests. Breakfast overlooking the Med. Nice wine and Negroni's at sunset. Marco tends a great friendly bar. A small pool for cooling off after or instead of the beach. Filomena provides eager and friendly help at the desk. Balconies on the rooms, which have refrigerators that make the balconies even more useful.

And the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tako65
thank you for having shared your opinion. As for the noise I want to reassure you because in a few days at the end of the summer season and the subsequent closure of the hotel will begin some renovations including the installation of new windows with triple glazing that will drown out the noise at 100% .
thank you
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

7 of us went on a walking holiday to the panorama hotel on the amalfi coast couldnt fault it spotless clean the made that did our room was pleasant always and kept out room spotless clean towels every day pity it is not doing all inclusive nexst year i thought we were treated very well no complaints at all apart from one of our party was in a poky single room and had to be moved 3 times because of one thing and another, but everyone else was very happy. Having said all that about the hotel i must tell you the walking was second to none and we have done a lot of walking holidays the 7 of us but this one was a bit special i would recomment it to anyone especially if they likes steps we counted 24 thousand that we did on this holiday brilliant the views were better than i have ever seen.

Room Tip: sea view with balcony the best. some of the rooms under the kitchen were noisy one of the reasons my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Elsie
For all of us read these appraisals is the best reward for the work we do every day. We guard the advice of our guests, and during the winter we will begin renovations that will affect many especially our single rooms, these rooms will be abolished to make way for new Executive bedrooms calls these rooms will be totally new, with lots of comfort.
I hope to have you again as our guest to show her the new rooms.
thank you
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed 10 nights Sep / Oct in a seaview room on the 4th floor . beautiful view of bay , people have complained about hard beds but found it to be ok for our liking, yes bathroom and bedroom very dated but also very clean and fresh towels daily.noise from roof terrace above was not a problem as we were awake before start of breakfast. Food was of a good quality but have eaten better Italian food.now the all inclusive option was a total farce and obviously the hotel management didnt think about the concept of all inclusive before signing up to offer such a service, but after 1 year have decided to revert back to half board next year.All the staff frim the cleaners to the waiters and the bar staff were all very happy and cheerful, I sometimes think its the way that we English approach other nationalities. Overall the hotel was good and the food ok but nothing spectacular. Think with more planning the management could do more with the limited outside space that they have.

Room Tip: Seaview room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio R, Direttore generale at Hotel Panorama, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Stevep1954,

Thank you for choosing us and for taking his valuable time to share your opinion.

Regarding all-inclusive service, we planned this service in line with Tour Operator contract ,but just because our guests told us thier opinion we have broadened more drinks on the original list to meet the needs of our guests . Next year ( 2014 ) we wouldn't have this formula because we believe that the Amalfi Coast and the Hotel Panorama is not suitable locations for such service.

We hope to have you again as our guests.

thanks
Antonio Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Address: Via Santa Tecla 8, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maiori
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right opposite the beach, which in the early 1950's was an antique storeroom designed for the stock and trade of "Sfusato" Lemons (typical local variety, IGT certified). Today the Hotel Panorama is a modern and efficient four star hotel establishment made up of 80 rooms, the majority of which boast an enchanting view of one of the most beautiful glimpses of the Amalfi Coast and its sea.Facing directly onto the promenade and a few steps away from the touristic harbour, it is situated in the town centre, the Panorama is an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing stay by the sea and thanks to its central position also a great starting point for all excursions and trips on the most beautiful coast in Italy.Amalfi, Capri, Ravello and Positano are just a few of the places easily reached from the Hotel Panorama which also provides, on request, guided excursions to Pompei, Ercolano, Sorrento and to all the main touristic, naturalistic and archeological attractions of the Campania region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Maiori
Hotel Panorama Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.