We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure it warrants its number 1 rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ristorante Dedalo

Il Ristorante Dedalo
Corso Reginna, 2, Maiori, Italy
+39 089877084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Maiori
Price range: $28 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not sure it warrants its number 1 rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have to admit that, having read its reviews in TripAdvisor, my expectations were quite high for the Dedalo. Its location is certainly very central and its outside area quite attractive, but my wife and I thought that the food was distictly average - the menu was very similar to many other of the other restaurants - and I would describe the service as efficient rather than friendly. Also, the 90+ euro bill, before tip, was more than I expected even allowing for the 24 euro bottle of wine we enjoyed..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    229
    53
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staatsburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“average food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

average service and food. The location is in the middle of the piazza and the first restaurant you see and naturally gravitate to but there are much better places to eat in the piazza.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice starter, terrible pizza.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had a nice fish starter, comprising of squid and octopus in various guises, however when it came to the pizza, it was overladen with mozzarella which oozed milky water which made the pizza base soggy and revolting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food was excellent and not expensive. We took the white wine of the house and it was nice as well. When I asked if I could buy the nice tray with Birra Moretti they just cleaned it and gave it to me for free. What a trophy from Italy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average is the word”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Could not say we were impressed - we went there because of the rating on the trip advisor but the place is not living to its number one place (currently).

Our impression is that it only got it due to it's central location.

Mammato and La Vela deserve your visits more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ristorante Dedalo also viewed

 
Maiori, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Ristorante Dedalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ristorante Dedalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.