We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, if you don't plan to stray too far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo Magno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlo Magno to your Saves list
Carlo Magno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cima Tosa, 26, 38084 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, if you don't plan to stray too far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is great with a few set backs- 1. It is far from the town (Madonna di Campiglio), 2. It is mainly targeted towards families with children.

The hotel is located in Campo Carlo Magno, a small group of hotels outside Madonna di Campiglio. There is a bus connecting the two. The bus runs only until 2000 and the hotel shuttle only runs once an hour and stops running at around 2000 as well. The restaurants only open at 1900, so it is nearly impossible to eat dinner in the city if you are not coming with your own car.

This hotel is very family friendly. There are activities for kids, kids running around the hotel, kids shouting during meals etc. If you are coming with a family and don't intend to visit Madonna di Campiglio- this is the right place for you. If you are like us, a young couple with no children, or if you plan to spend any time in town - think twice before booking.
That being said- The hotel is very beautiful and big.

The staff is very helpful and tried to fulfill every request we had. The hotel is located on the slopes, so ski-in ski-out is possible, though only through one boring blue run that you have to plan in advance how to get to.

The hotel spa is luxurious. Very modern and well equipped. Be sure to ask the spa receptionists for robes. We could not think of anything that should be in a spa or pool and was missing here.

The food is OK. The breakfast selection is nice, you can order coffee/tea and an omelet from the waiters, which is not advertised anywhere and we only found out about this possibility through a review on this website. We only tried the dinner buffet once and found the food there average - and ambiance terrible with so many children. There are unfortunately not many other options in the area, but we did not try the hotel's a la carte restaurant.

The hotel's rental ski shop is very expensive and does not have much selection. Our tip is to go across the street to the Campo Carlo Magno ski school and rent your gear there. It will be cheaper with a slightly wider selection to choose from.

Our room was a big, east facing jr. suite. All the fixtures were top quality and well maintained. I would rate this as among the best hotel suites I've stayed in, certainly at this price point. This was not a cheap trip by any stretch, but I feel we got good value for everything from this hotel.

Our main suggestion for this hotel would be to make the shuttle service more frequent and run later. The hotel is big, and the current shuttle only comfortably seats six persons. As it only runs once an hour, there is usually a line and the driver often has to make 2 rounds to take the people from the hotel to town and vice versa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
63
29
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were a family of three with our child 5 yrs old.
The hotel is perfectly located on a slope connecting with the entire ski area
We booked a superior but we have been upgraded to a junior suite spontaneously from the staff as it was vacant.
Everything was clean and spa area superb.
Food excellent with in house restaurant and buffet (this latter definitely superior to other such as chia village or tanka).
Staff friendly and efficient
3 meter white snow....what else?

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a perfect family winter vacation. Carlo Magno has great position, close to the city center but still away from the noise and crowd. One of the hotel benefits is it own small ski slope with its own ski-lift, ideal for beginners and children. We can recommend the Rainalter school instructors, available through the hotel, as they had a very good approach with children. Also, the hotel ski-lift is useful for more experience skiers as it helps to get by the end of the blue flag slopes, which takes you to the main ski car entrance. Basically, you are on your skis, from the very entrance of the hotel, and don't bother with the heavy equipment.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with a separate walk in closet, with a toilet room and separate bathroom, and with perfect view to to snowy mountain. The food was good, although not very diverse, especially during breakfast. The stuff is kind and helpful. There is an entertaining rooms for children, a swimming pool and some fun activities. The only thing we were not happy about is that we couldn't take our children with us to the main pool, although we were told that this is possible only to the period up to 2 p.m.
However, the hotel has its own astrological observatory, with an admirable dimension and modern technology worth seeing. We were happy to be able to follow the lecture and then see Jupiter through the biggest telescope we saw.
I can highly recommend the hotel, especially to the families with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I spent one week in this beautiful hotel. Nice location right outside the town center with a wonderful view of the mountains. The ski teachers of the hotel were very nice. The initial ski lessons where held on the slope of the hotel. Yes the hotel has a private slope for beginners with a skilift! We liked a lot the swimming pool facing the forest full of snow. It is very panoramic. The girls of the wellness center were very capable. The food was very good with a large variety of Italian dishes, amazing the deserts! The room was very cosy, clean and with a very nice bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had the best ski holiday here. The room was cosy with a view over the Dolomites. The food was very diverse and delicious, especially the deserts were tasty! I liked the spa a lot. I have never enjoyed such a big spa area in a hotel before. The staff of the hotel, especially the receptionists and waiters, were very cordial and helpful, always trying to satisfy our needs. The evenings after the dinner we enjoyed spending at the bar or going to one of the bars of the town center. Skiing in Madonna di Campiglio was great, with many pists for beginners and advanced skiers. I would like to come back, maybe in summer...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Good breakfast. The hotel has a nice relax area with a Jacuzzi, a small swimming pool, sauna etc. Rooms are fine, typical for this area with major contribution of wood on the walls etc. Ski in ski out. A bit far from the city centre with bars and restaurants, but they offer a free of charge shuttle bus. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and everything was simply amazing. Staff, spa area, food (to die for). The ski resort is amazing (there is something for everyone, from expert skier to beginner) and the fact that you can ski-in and ski-out from the hotel is priceless. Absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlo Magno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Magno

Address: Via Cima Tosa, 26, 38084 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlo Magno 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at Carlo Magno are spacious and feature satellite TV and a minibar. Some have balconies with a view of the Dolomites. Children are well cared for with a playroom, kids club, and separate pool with water slide. Adults can enjoy the spa center, which includes a gym, jacuzzi, and saunas. The Carlo Magno Hotel includes ski, bike rental, a ski school, and even an astronomical observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlo Magno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo Magno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.