We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts, did not meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cristal Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cristal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Cristal Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cima Tosa 104/A, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good in parts, did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for seven nights with my wife and kids and another family from England. We really liked Madonna di Campiglio - good family skiing, good mountain restaurants and excellent Italian Ski School. Our feelings on the Cristal Palace are more mixed; Pros: good value, some of the hotel staff were excellent (especially shuttle bus service), spa area was good; rooms were adequate though small bathrooms; fantastic views; kids club was well equipped. Cons: food was disappointing (a major let down for Italy), some of the staff service/helpfulness was below par; kids not really welcomed in the swimming pool. I think the Cristal Palace Hotel is adequate, but with plenty of scope for improvement - a more friendly attitude from ALL staff and better food would be a good start.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIOVANNI D, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile ospite, mi ricordo molto bene di lei e del suo gruppo numeroso con molti bambini effettivamente molto esuberanti e rumorosi.Non posso accettare da lei la critica che i bambini non sono ben accolti nel nostro albergo.La piscina e' uno spazio di tutti gli ospiti del'albergo ed e' giusto che tutti si divertano e che si rilassino. Prima di chiederle gentilmente di provare a far giocare i bambini del gruppo in un modo un po' piu' civile ,ho avuto numerosi clienti che si erano avventati a lamentarsi pesantemente per la situazione che si era creata in piscina. Anche clienti dalle stanze si sono lamentati per la confusione fuori dalla spa. Non puo' pretendere di occupare spazi comuni con la pretesa di avere un'esclusiva a danno di altri clienti e mi meraviglia che lei si lamenti della cortesia. E' strano perche' proprio la cortesia e' un punto di forza della mia famiglia e del nostro personale come potra' leggere nei commenti numerosissimi proprio su trip.
Distinti saluti Giovanni D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    66
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
193
127
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice hotel... The restaurant is exelent - service, cuisine and the great view of course. The staff is kind and professional, we have appreciated especially a driver Carlo. The evenings with live music and Paolo are amazing and memorable. SPA is good and the atmosphere in the hotel is very pleasant in general. Definitely we will return to this hotel again and will recommend to everybody...

Room Tip: ASk the rooms on upper floors for better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, let down by some of the worst waiting staff I've ever had the displeasure to encounter in a 4-star hotel. When you order a mid price (€20-€30) bottle of wine, you don't expect to have two glasses thrust in front of you some time later and some wine swilled into them. Main courses were served (repeatedly) to guests with no cutlery. They were so disorganised that every course was served lukewarm while they tried to work out who ordered what.

Other staff in the hotel (bar staff, reception, bus drivers) were excellent, rooms were lovely, but the sour taste of bad service delivered by untrained, surly staff spolied the expierience. Wouldn't go back there if they paid me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with 7 friends from 24th Jan 2013. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Nothing was any trouble for them.
The shuttle bus driver (Antonio) was an absolute gem - I've never met a more helpful man who absolutely loved his job and interacting with customers. He literally waited on us hand and foot.
The rooms, food, wellness centre and people were exceptional.
I wouldn't hesitate to return here and would say that the few hundred metres the hotel is from the ski lift one way and the town centre the other way are more than compensated for by the overall package especially when you use the free shuttle service I mentioned above.
All in all this place is the best ski hotel myself or my 7 friends have ever experience all over Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brescia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

It's worth a visit if you are in Campiglio specially if you get a good offer. We paid for a double room 110 euros. Be aware of the room nearby the welness center they can be loud and not quite during the day. Over all a nice hotel. Plus: staff helpfull and polite, room nice and clean, welness very nice and clean.

Cons: the welness open area should be reorganized with a solarium that separates guests from other rooms located on the 3rd floor. Maybe shift to the play ground area which is not used from guests.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I spent a week at the end of year 2011. I appreciated a lot rooms in chalet style and very confortable.
Food was excelent and more than enough: italian and international food was served.
Alive music was played every evening & night.
Staff was very professional and quick to satisfy guests requests.
The manager Giovanni was so charming, an excelent singer and an excelent events organizer.
The manager Chiara was so charming too, perfect in organize the daily agenda and the global performance of the staff. I will come back again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

My hubby is American and I'm Italian but we live in London. We have 2 children, one is 4 and the other one is 6. All this info to say that the Cristal Palace has been the besty place so far for us (travellers!!!), considering miniclub, super tasty food, kind and nice personnel, view!!!! The location is amazing because from the restaurant you see all Madonna di Campiglio, without beeing out of it!
We'll definatly go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cristal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Palace Hotel

Address: Via Cima Tosa 104/A, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cristal Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Palace Hotel is just 200 metres from the Pradalago cable car and 1 km from Madonna di Campiglio’s centre. Its excellent restaurant has a panoramic terrace overlooking the mountains.This four-star superior hotel features the Cristal Energy Spa, a large fitness and wellness centre with indoor swimming pool.Hotel Cristal Palace offers comfortable guest rooms with valley or mountain views. Each room has Wi-Fi access, minibar and an LCD TV with satellite channels.You will find a heated storage area for your ski equipment and a shelter for bicycles. There is also a free shuttle service to and from the ski slopes, upon request.The Cristal Palace organises free guided tours throughout the summer for exploring the Adamello-Brenta Park. At the hotel there is a mini club and a cinema room with surround sound system.Hotel Rooms: 61Il Cristal Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cristal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cristal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.