We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely people, and outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Auberge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Auberge to your Saves list
The Auberge
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ipswich Road | Eye, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What lovely people, and outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

You must come and have a meal here, you won't regret it. Make sure you book in advance.

The owners were just so lovely. They gave us a lift back to our cottage after our meal...and there were 8 of us! They would rather do that so that you can enjoy a drink....this is just outstanding service that I have never seen before.

The chef was amazing, we all ate something different and everyone was so pleased. Food of the highest quality. We ate off the fixed price menu, and this was great value. £25 for three courses.

The atmosphere is like sitting in a nice warm old castle. You will enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
46
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Ate here just before Christmas, nice surroundings and well cooked and presented food, disappointingly the fish 'catch of the day' was a prawn curry, but apart from that excellent. Good choice of wines reasonably priced to accompany the food, my pan fried calves liver was superb.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night DBB break with our friends and cannot think of anything negative to say about the Auberge. We stayed in room 6 which was lovely and had a large walk in shower and our friends stayed in room 10 which had a 4 poster bed and a bath and was equally as nice. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and the staff were exceptional. Despite being located on a busy road, we couldn't hear any traffic at all in our rooms. We visited Aldeburgh one day taking the scenic route through the beautiful Suffolk villages, which was an hours drive from the Auberge. We also visited Norwich another day making use of the park and ride which was easy to find and only about 30 minutes from the Auberge. All in all we enjoyed an excellent weekend away with good friends thanks to the Auberge.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large has a king size bed and a walk in shower. Room 10 is also large with a four poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A bit wary first of all, as after parking our car and made our way towards the hotel/restaurent we found the door was locked and there were instructions to ring a wall mounted phone for someone to come and take us to our room. But within a minute john came out and showed us to our room (no.11). From then on we have nothing but praise. The room was excellent. Air conditioning, a large four poster bed with top quality linen, a chaise longue, a great shower room with good quality soaps etc. As others have said, although next to the a140 there was no noise. In fact i forget to set my alarm and we were late for breakfast!!! As expected from a quality establishment this was not even mentioned. We had two different breakfasts ( with extras that you can request that were not on the menu card). We were offered cereals in addition to what we ordered. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The room was very nice with surprisingly little traffic noise - being next to the busy A140 - excellent showers (no bath in our room at least), aircon, decent tv, huge bed and nice bits a pieces (peanuts, biscuits, sweets etc).
Breakfast was very good, especially compared to the previous nights hotels buffet style affair, being all freshly done with a good choice.
Recommended and would go back but only on the above deal or it might be a bit pricey.
Fit a bath, slightly cheaper and move the A140 and it would be 5star!
See separate review of dinner at The Bull at The Auberge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a friend's wedding in nearby Yaxley Hall. The owners and staff all very friendly and welcoming. John helped us carry out luggage and showed us up to our room and how to use the air-con etc which was a welcoming touch.

We had room 10, large room in the separate block, with en suite bath. Air con very good. Hairdyer, kettle with tea and coffee and toiletries available in the bathroom. Also there is WIFI in the rooms

The bed was hugh, four poster and very comfy.

Breakfast is served 7.30-9.30, and they do ask that you are prompt to breakfast if you choose to arrive at 9.30.
A menu card with breakfast options is given to you on arrival, to complete and return.

Good choice of cereals, fruit compote, yogurt, good breakfast, and an option for anything else you would like ( a friend did ask for a bacon sarnie, and indeed she did get one!)

lovely rural location, and they have their own chickens in their garden, so the eggs must be very fresh!

we would recommend the auburge, and we would stay again if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: room 10 - corner room- upstairs (2 flights) but spacious with four poster bed and en suite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose The Auberge for our daughters combined 18th and 21st Birthday celebrations. What can I say? Absolutely excellent. Wonderful rooms, food, service and breakfast. The staff from the owners down to the housekeeper were so attentive, friendly and very eager to please. We will certainly be returning. This is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Address: Ipswich Road | Eye, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.