We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull at The Auberge

The Bull at The Auberge
Ipswich Road | Yaxley, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
01379 783604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Yaxley
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Half-way between Ipswich and Norwich, Yaxley’s Auberge Restaurant and Hotel is a Suffolk success story with two AA Rosettes to its name. Family run and owned, the restaurant serves up daily-changing dishes that makes first-rate use of the freshest local ingredients. The menu is small but perfectly-formed: try smoked haddock chowder to start, or the silky-smooth chicken liver parfait with onion jam. The Norfolk fillet of beef has a buttery tenderness, set off by farmer’s sautéed potatoes and a sauce of girolle mushrooms and Madeira; the roast salmon is stuffed with crab and brown shrimp and with 24 hours’ notice you can be tucking into the famous seafood platter. Dessert could be bread and butter pudding with apricot sauce or a velvety chocolate cappuccino mousse. The restaurant is warm and intimate, and bowls of large fresh lemons on each table are a nice touch.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have passed this rather drab Tudor restaurant many times driving up the A140 and often wondered if it could be as good as the Guide awards outside suggests. Last week though I had the chance to find out at least a little bit about what they had to offer. Admittedly this wasnt a complete test, a fairly quick soup and pudding lunch, but the soup was excellent, the pudding fresh and accompanied by cinnamon ice cream that worked very well. Service was attentive without being over the top and the place was comfortable and warm even though it was a cold day and we were the only diners apart from one other couple. This restaurant is out of the way and doesnt do itself any favours with the way it looks from the road but its worth closer inspection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    55
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Proper service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food here is fantastic, some of the best you can get in this area.
The staff are friendly and know what good service is.
The prices reflect the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Delicious and Well Executed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to go , had been recommended a few years ago and was not disappointed
I started with Irish oysters and a fabulous shallot and red vinegar side
My partner had smoked mackerel pâté with dill & cream cheese - delicious
I then went for the fish of the day sesame Tuna served to perfection Pink with soy & wasabi on a light pilaff rice
My partner had rump of lamb served pink - perfect with red currant reduction and season veg including creamed leeks
We had no space for a dessert or cheese and enjoyed olives and bread as an entrée
We drank the house Sauvignon Blanc and it was great.
We will return and stay over with friends to sample the ample wine list
Thank you for a super supper

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food but the rooms are not quite what you'd expect for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the four poster room and a table in the restaurant (the two are not directly linked so ensure you book both at once) for a special occassion and as its a 16th century pub and the room was the most expensive on offer, expected the four poster room to be in the old pub. Sadly we were wrong and the room and its (modified to fit the room height) four poster were decidely modern and more in line with a modern motel than an olde world hostelry - certainly not in the price league being charged to be honest. This ought to be made clearer really and i guess we should have asked, but its disappointing nontheless.

The food was good (although the menu a little limited), but again the prices were quite high end for a country restaurant (well in excess of £100 removing the wine and with a shared cheese board for two). Service was warm and friendly.

All in all, with the whole evening out costing in excess of £250, its in the trip to london league and i can think of a number of places in Norfolk and Suffolk where we would have enjoyed equally good quality fayre and a much more authentic accomodation offer for somewhat less. So i'm afraid it will be the ony visit from us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and fabulous rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have eaten at the Bull for many years as I live locally. However, I stayed recently for a special occasion and I wasn't disappointed.
Food here is always good. Well sourced produced cooked beautifully. Service is always excellent.
Our room was excellent: king size four poster (a surprise upgrade, thankyou!) the shower was super. Quality of the mattress, pillows and bed linen is excellent and everywhere is cleaned to a very high standard.
Breakfast was wonderful. Again, good quality food well presented.
I would thoroughly recommend eating here but also staying. I would definitely stay again, depsite being a decadent luxury!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull at The Auberge also viewed

 

Been to The Bull at The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull at The Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.