We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top food at low price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Hotel Camino

Ristorante Hotel Camino
Via Compart, 445, Livigno, Italy
+39 0342 979262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Livigno
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gliwice
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top food at low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was the best culinary experience we had in Livigno. The restaurant is about 5 km from the centre of Livigno, so we didn't expect a lot of people there. When we entered the restaurant it turned out, that the restaurant is full, so we had to seat in the bar. Every 5 minutes a group of 2-10 people were entering the restaurant, so when we were leaving the whole bar was transformed into restaurant.
Now I'm not surprised that there were so many people: nice rustic surroundings, live music and delicious food.

We ordered deer with polenta and green gnocchi with cheese sauce and mushroom slices; beef with peas, french fries and meat ravioli; and pizzoccheri. Meats were perfectly cooked and seasoned, although the waitress didn't asked how to cook the beef (raw/ medium/ well done). All the pasta products were one of the best I had in my life: superb gnocchi and ravioli to kill for. Pizzoccheri were quite strange for me, but also tasty.
For dessert we all ordered chocolate flan with icecream and orange sauce. It was just perfect! Not too sweet, with liquid chocolate inside. Even the orange sauce, which I'm not a great fan of, tasted very good and suited the flan.

Now guess how much we payed for those main dishes, desserts, 3 glasses of wine and water.
.
.
.
No, you were wrong ;) Just 68 Euro - for that quality of food it's a really great price.

The only drawback was our old waitress, who wasn't nice to us, maybe because of our young age..
But in spite of her, I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca G, Proprietario at Ristorante Hotel Camino, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Woow!!!!
Thank you very much....
see you soon..
Luca and team
Restaurant Camino Livigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    66
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blueberry risotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Blueberry risotto at Il Camino ristorante in Livigno is one of the best risottos I have ever tried. It is not sweet at all. But really, really interesting and nice. In camino You can taste many different venison dishes, some of them typical Valtellina local dishes. As the main dish I have chosen the woodmans log - slices of a deer twist arround a branch of pine. The smell of pine you can smell in the meat. Very good.
We were there with the friends and small children as well. The staff was very nice to to us and to the children. The staff brought to the children box of toys and we could enjoy our exellent meal.
If you stay in the Livigno cenetr, you probably need to take a taxi, 's the ristorante is not down town. Taking taxi in Livigno is fun 's you always pay Eur 10, in case you go enywhwre.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca G, Proprietario at Ristorante Hotel Camino, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank You very much!
Me and the rest of the staff are so happy and satisfacted for the precious valuation
We hope to see you again by us...
Bye!
Luca and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Michelin standard at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place is well deserving of the #1 spot in Livigno. Unusual and interesting menu which stands apart from the usual pizza / pasta fare. We were presented first with a basket of about 5 types of bread to nibble on. I had a delicious bean soup to start followed by a blueberry risotto, which sounds odd but really worked. My partner had steak which came with 5 types of flavoured salt and was gigantic. Even the plates and bowls were interesting. The service was brilliant and there is an unpretentious vibe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca G, Proprietario at Ristorante Hotel Camino, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
wonderful review! thanks
Thank you for being our valued guests, and for the wonderful compliments, it has been a pleasure and an honor to work with friendly and nice guests like you
Many thanks from me and from all of our employees!
See you soon Luke & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“flawless and close to perfect in every dimension”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

maybe this wasn't the most outstanding and spectacular meal we had. But every course we had was very good, the wine and the spirits were solid, the interior of this outside-of-town hotel and restaurant is beautifully rustique, the tables are decorated with a lot of attention, the staff is very friendly and the bill was surprisingly moderate. Simply nothing to complain or nothing noteworthy to improve. The absence of any flaws ist just as good an art as reaching the very top.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca G, Proprietario at Ristorante Hotel Camino, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much!!
we aprecite very well and we hope to see you soon by us..
greetings
Luca and team of Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We book asking for a quite table and they gave us a very nice table.
Personnel was friendly.
Food is effectively a fresh innovation of typical valtellina food: if you are visiting valtellina for the first time there are other places where youcan taste a more traditional local food but if you are acquainted to pizzoccheri and sciat. This place is definetively a good choice!
Price more than fair for the quality and service

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca G, Proprietario at Ristorante Hotel Camino, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much..
we wait your vist this winter...
greetings
Luca Galli and staff of Camino Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Hotel Camino also viewed

Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Ristorante Hotel Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Hotel Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.