We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpen Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alpen Village Hotel to your Saves list
Alpen Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gerus, 311, 23030 Livigno, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villaggio San Carlo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Prague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

After reading all reviews here, I was not sure what I can expect. However the staff was really friendly and helpful, services were good, location excellent.
The spot on the service level was a fact that we had a vegetarian among us - and they were not able to resolve main food (which has been always a choice of two kinds of meat). Funny enough - there were almost always some vegetarian starters, lots of possibilities to get pasta, spaghetti, pizza ... just name it. But for the main they were just able to bring assortment of cheese (we had these 3 times - and it’s nice to have it after the wine, but not quite for the main), luckily we had two times omelet - but again, I cannot believe, that this was the first vegetarian to be served. On the plus side - the deserts were really nice.
Other minor thing is that the hotel has got swimming pool - but unless you have swim cap with you, you are not allowed in. No caps at the spot.

The room was close to reception – but that has been not quite an advantage – lots of noise from the bar and basement location without view.

Overall our stay there was well; the staff was trying their best, so with just few improvements it could be rated very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    24
    20
    14
See reviews for
30
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is good 3 stars hotel. Rooms are clean, warm, and tastefully furnished; yes they are small, but you don't stay in room during ski holiday. Swimming pool is ok, restourant is ok, food is AWESOME! Ski bus stop is near hotel. Hosts are nice. View is fantastic...

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — stairs in hotel
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I won a holiday and was informed that i have to stay at Hotel San Carlo. After i read the previous reviews on this site, i was terrified, but once i arrived there i was totally amazed. The service i received was excellent from all the staff members, both those at the reception, the waiters and even the cleaners. They were very friendly, always prompt in saying good morning and were always there for a chat.

The food was also great, we had fresh food for breakfast every day, and with regards to dinner we had a 3 course dinner. If we (or other people) did not like the desert we were offered something else. With regards to the seating at the restaurant, they were not set in groups of 10 or so, but i sat alone with my partner, and so did the other guests.

If i had to say something negative about the hotel, i would say that we did not have enough free space in the room for our luggages and ski stuff, but it was always clean with the towels being changed every day and the beds were "normal" beds and not camping beds.

On the contrary to what the majority of the people wrote on this site, i would suggest this hotel to a lot of people. One may say that the hotel is not in the centre of Livigno, however, there are busses (which are free) till 7.30 in the evening. Then if one would want to go to the centre later on in the evening, you have to take a taxi and the service from them is also great. Don't forget if you go to another place, you will have to pay for the transport all throughout the day.

Other people at Livigno said the same thing about the hotel, so please don't be mislead by the previous comments.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for one night after six nights at the lovely Hotel Meeting-and what a comedown! Having come through the Spanish Inquisition style check-in I had the audacity to ask for my key-only to be told my room would not be clean until four p.m. (it was 10.30 a.m.) Was suffering from 'stomach flu' so had to beg another member of staff for a clean room and was given one within the half hour. Trundling down the spiral staircase with a case full of ski gear is no mean feat, and actually dangerous when you consider the weight of such a case(there are no lifts in this joint). The room was poky and the bed had only two thin covers,the extractor fan in the en suite was definitely housing some insect in its dying hours and the noise from the corridor outside was constant and multi-lingual.
Chancing my luck in the 'restaurant' I found I was not welcome as I was on a b and b basis-fair enough(was willing to pay extra) but was told it was full when clearly loads of free tables available. Returned an hour later for some 'famine' soup and pink chicken leg-wasn't even offered a drink. The factory canteen style decor and bowls of withered salad added insult to injury.
Need I say more-this place is foul-foul staff, you need a debit card to buy goods in the minimarket or drinks in (booming) bar, and foul stairs everywhere. After about 7.30 p.m. a taxi ride to the village is six euro one way-and believe me you will not want to spend any of your precious evenings in Hotel San Carlo. Avoid.

  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Just Back from Hotel Villagio San Carlo in Livigno and really enjoyed the stay. It was a 3 star hotel. It was clean, the food was good, a nice family atmosphere. It also allowed us to ski directly to & from the hotel (not suitable for beginners, but not too difficult).

Like previous postings, I would agree that some of the reception staff did not appear to smile, but were more than willing to help out in any way once asked.

It is important to request for your group to be seated together in the restaurant, but once we requested this, they had no problem to accommodate us. Also, don't be shy when loading up the cash card for the bar - they will refund you if you have money left over at the end, or it can make a nice tip.

Like all hotels, you cannot choose your neighbours, but in general it had a lovely atmosphere and was well supported by the Italians - always a good sign. It is a bit out of town, but the bus service is good and leaves from just outside the door.

  • Liked — Ski in / ski out
  • Disliked — bar entertainment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Felt obliged to add my own experience, as have now stayed in Livigno twice and several other ski resorts prior to this. By far the worst hotel I've stayed in. First, the reception staff could not care are less if you existed or collapsed in front of them. Second, if you in any way deviate from you allocated meal table - even if you've just arrived and don't even know you have one - be prepared to be treated in the most ridiculously rude and childish manner! Food at times was OK, but the enormous restaurant area felt like school dinners and waiters arguing with each other openly was pathetic. Aas well as making a mess of simple food - e.g. all bolied eggs, at one breakfast, must have been 100+, completely raw!! Possibly cooked for 30seconds!! Many people smoked in the rooms and corridors which led to a pretty bad smell. The double bed, for myself and partner, was a badly constructed affair of two single beds that enjoyed a canyon down the middle like the San Andreas fault by the start of each new day. The bar area had regular cabaret acts and sort of DJ type entertainment that I cannot fully do justice to - but would not suggest you stay to experience!! Also, you can't just buy a drink at the bar, you have to get some sort of card that you add cash to and then pay hgh prices, comparativley, to those in town. All in all - just avoid this place it doesn't deserve your attention.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Having read the other reviews of this hotel, which I didn't find until after I'd booked our holiday, I was rather worried (especially as I can understand German). However, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel overall. Our bedrooms were newly furnished and decorated, and always spotlessly clean, and all four rooms (we were a group of 8) had balconies, which we weren't expecting. The en-suite bathrooms were a little dark and pokey, but extremely clean and we were given piles of fresh towels every day.

Contrary to what a previous reviewer has written, we were made very welcome at the reception desk when we first arrived. However, I must admit that during the week we noticed that the female employees on the desk never seemed to smile, but the males were always charming!

The food wasn't great, with a tendency to rather bland main courses, but there was plenty of it and the waiters were all really friendly and helpful. The dining areas were huge, but divided into several rooms, and although it was always very busy, we liked the fact that it was informal and weren't at all bothered by younger children eating at the same time.

We were all happy with our experience at the hotel and definitely felt it represented very good value for money (we booked a package holiday through a ski company and it was about the cheapest I have found for several years).

  • Liked — The rooms and views
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpen Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Village Hotel

Address: Via Gerus, 311, 23030 Livigno, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villaggio San Carlo)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He Alpen Hotel Village, a 3-star hotel in Livigno, is on the border of a centuries-old wood and offers you a charming view of Livigno. It is an ideal place for those who want to take a break surrounded by nature, pampered by our staff and with the comforts that the hotel offers. The complex is made up by a central building where you will find the reception, a welcoming bar, a nice restaurant and a quiet lounge, and an area with a swimming pool, outdoor saunas and a wellness centre, and 7 connected chalets where the rooms are. This fall the Galli family has taken over the management of the Alpen Village Hotel. Our family has been working in the tourist business for 3 generations and our philosophy has always been that of offering quality holidays to our guests: cheerful, welcoming atmosphere, excellent services, comfort, wellness, activities in the surrounding area, delicious dishes and a good value for money. In winter as well as in summer, it is an excellent starting point for bike rides, excursions on foot or on skis thanks to Mottolino skiing facilities that you can reach also on foot. For us every guest is part of the family! His or her satisfaction is our joy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alpen Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpen Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.