We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient to town, nice place reasonable $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Montanina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Montanina to your Saves list
Hotel La Montanina
Via Pienz, 58, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Western NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convienient to town, nice place reasonable $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very nice place, rooms up to date, clean, well appointed. Would stay again for sure! Breakfast and dinner good. Indoor parking for Motorcycles

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The Hotel staff were very friendly and able to accomadate the 2 fussy eaters in our party.

Some of us stayed in an apartment above Miky's bar - which was great, a bit noisey but so long as you shut the shutters and used ear plugs (always essential on a skiing trip anyway with our crowd) it did not disturb too much and the extra accomodation was worth the minor inconvenience.

The breakfast buffet was very large and varied

The evening meal was 4 courses with choices to suit our fussy eaters and they even made an omelette one night to keep them happy. They were truly spoiled.

Anna Marie is an exceptional lady and could not do enough to please us.

I will have no qualms about going back there sometime

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

This hotel was recommended to my partner and I by family members who had previously stayed there...eg my parents stayed there in January.

The hotel is situated in the main heart of Livigno. It is a few minutes walk from the ski slopes and ski school, and it is just off the main pedestrianised road full of shops, restaurants, and bars. The atmosphere around this part of Livigno is superb..... I have been to Livigno about 12 times before and nowadays always stay around this area.

The hotel has a warm friendly feel to it, and has much rustic charm. The restaurant is tasteful and atmospheric. The buffet breakfast were great, as too was the salad bar and large array of sweets to choose from. The hotel owner and her family eat in the same restaurant along with the guests, which we thought was really nice.

The bar area was perfect for sitting around before/after the meal, perhaps playing cards or talking to other guests.

The staff are all so friendly. The owner, Anna-Maria is such a nice lady, and her children (all of whom are grown up now) work in the hotel too. We were made to feel very welcome indeed.

The hotel is next to Mikys Bar. We were staying on the top floor of the hotel and could just about hear the music at night, but this was not enough to keep us awake. I do not know what the other floors/rooms were like.

To sum up.... we really enjoyed staying in this hotel and would definately consider going back there again.

Simon and Nina

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were recommended this hotel by a friend who has stayed there several times over the past decade. It seesm that it has now changed to a young persons hotel as it is impossible to sleep due to Miky's bar being situated under the hotel. The music was good but you are not able to sleep until 3am due to to the noise and fights outside. We discussed this with the owner Anna Maria but she basically said well that's Miky for you... Real shame. Would have been a nice hotel once.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for around 18 yrs and we have seen many changes and I am glad to report that this year is no exception, first thing we noticed was the new bed but I wish they would change the pillows for feather ones instead of the hard flock ones that most hotels in this area use, we always bring our own and leave them so they should have enough to kit most of the rooms out. This is not a dig at them it is what we are used to. The other change was the food, it was superbe their son is the chef and the menu each night was fantastic (it was good before but now wow ) so all in all a great place to spend your winter holls. To sum it up great holiday a must for the young at heart.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Having been to Livigno many times over the past 20 years and stayed in a variety of hotels, we were all very impressed with the family run Montanina. Our group ranged from 7 to 72 years old and all 9 family members loved the hotel. It is a great location, only a short walk from Lift 23 and the ski school meeting place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food of a good standard and cleanliness standards high. The hotel has a very friendly, family run feel to it and is cosy and rustic in it's feel. Miky's bar is located in the basement - great if you like a bit of lively apres ski. We heard no noise from it at all during our stay, so any prior concerns we had about the noise were completely unfounded. We would not hesitate in staying there again and recommending this lovely hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

This is a very cosy and central family run hotel, staff are very friendly and it is just on top of Miky's pub which has to be the best pub in town!

  • Liked — The staff and the bar
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Montanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Montanina

Address: Via Pienz, 58, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Montanina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montanina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Montanina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.