We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great piece of Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capriolo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Capriolo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Capriolo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Borch 96, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A great piece of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went skiing in Italy with family and friends. This was our first trip to Italy skiing, but no our last. This wonderful hotel offers great value for money and everything from the friendly and helpful staff to the clean and modern rooms exceeded our expectations. The multitasking in the reception is impressive! They will help you with any request as they are fixing a perfect ¨Latte¨ while checking in a third guest. The rooms where perfectly cleaned swiftly and discreetly. The food was exceptional and our children came home longing back to the great cuisine of Hotel Capriolo! The pool and spa area is just what the doctor orders after a full day at the hill. Our kids loved the pool and had great fun in it. After a great breakfast we would pick up our skis from the very functional ski room and take the minute walk up to the lift for a full day of skiing. During the week we experienced no queues and sometime felt we had the slopes to ourselves. After having been so warmly embraced by Hotel Capriolo, Livigno and..Italy it will be a while before we go somewhere else. We have already sent a request for rooms for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    78
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
99
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went skiing in february and stayed at Capriolo hotel for 1 week with friends and our teenagers. Rooms are a bit small to my taste but quite big according to italian standards (so I heard). You can notice it's been recently renovated, it's clean and they are not all the same. I don't recommand to have a third bed added because that is not comfortable at all, maybe for a small child but definitely not for a teenager. The service is what you can expect from a family hotel: friendly but not omnipresent. It depends what your request is and when or whom you are talking to. Receptionist Claudia will definitely treat you as a criminal if you try to postpone a massage for instance but she makes the best bombardino's ;-) She manages to speak a good german but her english is very poor and she is not aware of it. The reception is unattended during the meals and the Spa is not available on saturday because they are "cleaning" it (all day long?!). Regarding to the food, we were on a half board basis but it was more than enough. The breakfast area is too small to serve so many people in such a short time (as everyone leaves all together to the slopes). You will find eggs and bacon missing but they try to offer fresh fruits and all kinds of pastery. First come, first served. In the evening, saladbar, antipasti, main course & desert of a good quality. They were flexible and eventually ready to adapt their menu to our wishes/needs. The barman is a nice fellow who will help you choose the wines (broad choice) but the bar is a place they need to work on. The atmosphere is not very nice, it's quite cold and when it works, the stove smells really bad. The Spa is everything you can expect, well kept and clean. I recommand the massages, they are not that expensive and very very nice. I also have to mention the small ski shop next to the hotel: it's just that one guy but he is so nice, helpful and flexibel, I simply must recommand his services. His equipment and his prices are a very good value for money. Slopes are close and buses bring you free of charge everywhere you need to be in the village. Don't forget to take a visit to the dutyfree shops of course, italian parfumes and clothes especially are way cheaper!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms where nice.
The food was terrible, the bar and the restaurant where more like a schoolrestaurant. The services was...not really a service.
3/4 of the guests had foodpoisoning
But the company was great!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randfontein, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Shared the most wonderful week of our lives with the people at Hotel Capriolo, everyone was friendly and helpful and we had the most wonderful time. The food was excellent with traditional Italian cuisine and even though we were on a half board basis, we never went hungry as the portions were more than sufficient !! The room was huge (we were warned that all accomodation would be very small) and we had such a comfortable stay that I'd return to Hotel Capriolo anytime. We unfortunately only found out about the sauna, heated pool and spa on the Friday before we left, but that was due us having such an excellent time in Livigno itself (we never asked anyone about where all those people were disappearing to in their towel robes!!). The heated pool and spa definately helped for the aching muscles of us newby skiers !!! As a South African who had never seen so much snow or so many Italian people in one place, it was a pleasant surprise to experience such a wonderful atmosphere and helpful people. If you want a real treat, ask about a visit to the Husky Village, it was an experience with no equal !!! We would definately like to visit again in the Spring or Summer !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the right of reception, it may not have the view of the upstairs rooms, but they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed for a week in February to ski and were very pleased with our choice. The welcome was perfect and the hotel was cosy. We especially appreciated the spa with an excellent sauna, jaccuzzi and a pool. Perfect after a day on the slopes. One suggestion; reserve some hours in the spa for families with children and allow other guest to enjoy the calm afterwards. The restaurant was also very good and the food was traditional italian with regional speciallities. We were happy to be on half board. The area is very beautiful, would be nice to see it in summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Overall the stay was pleasant.
Rooms slightly small but nice and comfy.
Clean.
Spa very nice
Internet Not unlimited ! Nearly every hotel in Livigno uses the same provider / system.
Breakfast very well. (Cereals, cakes, fruit, milk, coffee, hotchoc etc..) No eggs are anything that sort.
Nice balcony with view.
Parking Free

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor facing the main road / bustop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

clean, well furnished, nice and helpful staff, good spa
restaurant so and so, not bad but not excellent. as breakfast as diner, on saturdays too many people, too messy..
they have bikes and the hotel is in a good position for everything.
I'd come back but not on a half board.



.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capriolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capriolo

Also Known As:
Capriolo Hotel Livigno
Address: Via Borch 96, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Livigno
#10 Romantic Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capriolo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silvestri family is pleasure in giving you a warm welcome to Hotel Capriolo*** where they offer attentive service and a family atmosphere. Hotel Capriolo is located in the centre of San Rocco, near the ski lifts and cross country tracks for the winter and the trails and walks for the Summer. We have a big outside parking and of payment also the garage. Near the Hotel you find the Bus station,Ski School, Shops, Bars and Pubs. In our Hotel you can find also a shop selling and renting sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Capriolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capriolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.