We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baita Cusini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livigno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Baita Cusini
Save
You added Hotel Baita Cusini to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via S.S. 301 n. 978, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from chairlift (black run back down) and a short ride on the free bus to the main gondola (blue/red back down) on the Mottolino side of Livigno.

Its out of town location suited us fine as we're not into the nightlife so much, but you can get into town in 10 minutes on the free bus up to 9pm and a cheap taxi back only a few euros. The drinks were cheaper in the hotel bar than in town anyway.

The room was comfortable, big enough and warm enough, though the shower room (no bath) was pretty small and dated, but always plenty of hot water. We had no balcony but a nice view of the town (no high rise) and Carosello/Costaccia mountain.

Food was fantastic, no buffet meals here (except breakfast, which was a nice large continental spread with hot eggs). Great salad bar, fresh starter, mains and dessert served to table, quite often they came round and offered seconds.

Most of the other guests (12 rooms in total) were English with same tour operator (Airtours/Panorama) plus a few from other countries.

The family who own and run the place were really nice, made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the Baita Cusini in Feb 08 for a ski holiday. Super friendly helpful family run hotel offering great (and we mean great food). You will not go hungry here. Loads of variety and as much as you can eat. Rooms comfortable, clean and warm. Everything you expect from a ski destination. Ski locker at the hotel (there is also one in town at the ski school if you get fed up of carrying your kit home). The bus is a few minutes walk and the buses are frequent and free. We would highly recommend this place. We had a lot of fun. The other guests were really nice. Baby Rudi was very cute and so happy. Livignio itself - more spread out than any other ski resort we have stayed at. Lots of great shopping ! Take your visa card ! Plenty of pubs and nice places for lunch if you get time. We didn't have a meal out at night because the hotel food at Baita Cusini is so good. Don't book your ski kit on the transfer !!! The hotel owners brother runs a shop in town which offers 10% discount to hotel guests - his kit was great. Highly recommended. We would love to return one day !

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

What a charming, well managed, family run hotel!

I can not praise this hotel enough, nothing was ever too much trouble!

Although we booked Half Board, we did plan to eat out a few nights to sample Italian Cuisine, however there was no need as the out-standing food on offer was enough to tempt us to stay in, freshly cooked Italian Food .... Squisito!

You had a freshly prepared salad bar and fresh roll first, then we sampled sumptuous starters, magnificent mains and DELICIOUS desserts!

The breakfast choice was plentiful especially for a day on the slopes and whilst having breakfast you could review the evening dinner on offer, fresh grilled trout, home made torttalini, risotto and so much more ... and all freshly prepared by the owner who is also the chef.

If you did not like what was on offer then all you needed was to tell them and he would prepare something else.

His friendly wife ran the front of house operations and did a fantastic job, even with three adorable children who were always on hand to make you smile, and his father ran the bar and got me into Bombadino's ... a MUST!

The rooms were varied, sized dependant on couples or families and due to the limited amount of rooms (12) it meant guests got to know each other over breakfast and dinner and mingle, many a night was spent in the Hotel Bar rather than hitting the town, we sat talking about the days activities on the slopes, so as a result we were able to make some lovely friends!

Although the Hotel is out of the main town there is a free and easy bus service running all day to and fom the town and the slopes, it stopped at 9pm. There was a stop right outside the Hotel, so it meant in the evenings you avoided the hustle and bustle of the Livigno Nightlife, but should you wish to sample, you simply hopped on the free bus and then you can catch cab back for 6 euro's.

The resort is stunning and the slopes were great for all levels!

So all in all an A+ from us and una festa vero bella (a truly lovely holiday!)

P.S back a day ago and already planning next year's trip and our stay at the Hotel Baita Cusini

  • Liked — Feeling like you were being invited into the owners own home
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

A lovely hotel. Small but immaculate rooms, some with balconies. Plenty of hot water for twice daily showers and the shower was very powerful! Comfortable beds and excellent food. We went half board and were impressed by the extensive breakfast selection and the very varied and appetising four course evening meals which hit the spot after a long day on the slopes. The couple who own the hotel are very friendly and speak relatively good English. Unfortunately for us, we picked up a virus and couldn't make it to dinner on one of the evenings. Within 10 minutes of the dinner bell sounding the wife was knocking on our door offering to serve us our meal in our room. Talk about a personal service!!
The only criticism is that the hotel doesn't appear to have much in the way of sound proofing and we could hear other guests toilets/showers, tv' sets etc. A pair of ear plugs soon solved the problem and it would be a shame to avoid the hotel on this one small omission!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — lack of sound proofing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

We stayed at this hotel and i must admit we made the right choice. the staff went out of their way to do anything for you, even play board games with the big kids that we were one night!!!
the rooms were not that large but you had ample room for your luggage and breathtaking views of livigno when it was all lit up at night. The bathroom had an amazing shower that i didnt want to get out of after a hard day on the slopes and everything was really clean.
The food was very well cooked and plenty of choice.
Now here is the best bit, behind the hotel is a chair lift that takes you up to a red and black run on the mottolino side of the mountain. if you wanted to go into the town at night, it was a 10 min walk or a 2-3 euro taxi ride away. the drinks in marco galli was really cheap and i must admit it didnt cost much for me to be tipsy!!!

would i go back, you bet i would.

  • Liked — how close to the chairlift it was
  • Disliked — no lift but i didnt matter as only on 3 floors
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We were a party of 4 just returning from a skiing holiday. This is an excellent, small, family run hotel which is freindly and very welcoming. The food in particular was superb, traditional Italian cooking with 4 courses. (You'll need a good appitite)

It is convenient for the ski bus which serves the centre of Livigno and all the lifts. (Skiing is on both sides of the valley.) However, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Teola chair lift which gives direct access to the better red and black runs on the Mottolini side.

I can certainly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking comfort, good food, and an excellent atmosphere.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordsjælland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We are a danish family of 2 adults and 3 children and we have just returned from an excellent ski-vaccation in Livigno. We stayed at the very affordable Hotel Baita Cusini and by this review we want to recommend the small hotel to other travelers. The small cosy hotel is run by a very friendly family and you really feel like home. We had half board with breakfast and dinner. The food is prepared by the family itself and is excellent italian food. The hotel is situated in the Teola area at a chair lift taking you to the "Mottolino" ski area which is the ski area we preferred. From the hotel (and from our room) there is a very nice view towards the mountains on "Carosello" side of the Livigno valley. The rooms and hotel are very clean and all the interior our room and bathroom (room no. 2) was brand new. We are surprised that the hotel is only rated as a two stars hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baita Cusini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baita Cusini

Address: via S.S. 301 n. 978, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Livigno
#32 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baita Cusini 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family is happy to welcome you to our small and friendly hotel which is found in a picturesque, tranquil setting. It is ideal for small groups and families with children looking for a relaxing stay.From the hotel there is a pedestrian and cycle path which takes you directly to the centre of Livigno in 10 minutes. Hotel Baita Cusini, is situated in the Teola area and is 150 m from the new chairlift "Teola Pianoni" with direct access to the Mottolino ski area. The cross country piste is directly under the hotel. In summer, it is also ideal as a starting point for numerous walks and excursions. The bus stop is 100m away. Nice rooms, Genuine kitchen, Bar & TV room, Small playground, Sun Terrace, Car parking, Ski storage, Wi-Fi, Mountain bikes ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baita Cusini Hotel
Baita Cusini Livigno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baita Cusini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.