We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baita Cusini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livigno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Baita Cusini
Save
You added Hotel Baita Cusini to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via S.S. 301 n. 978, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value and a friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Baita Cusini is a small family-run (and oriented) hotel located above Livigno on the Mottolino side. Our group consisted of two adults and two kids, we asked for adjacent rooms. And we got them. Both rooms 5 and 6 boast beautiful views of the opposite mountain range and the town. The rooms are smallish but adequate, I was especially pleased with the efficient housekeeping throughout our stay. While the rooms are far from being brand new, they are definitely well kept.

Half-board included breakfast and dinner where a 4-course meal was served. While the hotel only offers one set dinner menu, they were happy to accommodate any requests for alterations if someone was not happy with the offer. Food was very good, included some local specialties, and prices of drinks were reasonable. The service, provided by the owners themselves, was unobtrusively friendly and even if the hotel is quite small, it still offers a sense of privacy and respect. Various board games were available for children to keep them busy before they went to bed while the adults could take a drink or two at the bar. This was our second stay in Livigno and I’m sure that this two-star hotel is one of the best choices in its class that Livigno has to offer.

Room Tip: No. 5 for the best views and a terrace.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London - UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Found this little hotel on Tripadvisor and I was surprised that, as a 2 star hotel, it was in the top 10.
Booked and stayed for a week with my family in the only apartment they have but with half board
Very welcoming hotel, run by the Cusini family. Adelmo and his wife are very kind and helpful.
The hotel is very clean with good food.
Quite location but still close to the centre. Fantastic views from the hotel. Outside playarea for children and close to walks.
In a phrase, it is a hotel that has everything you need when you are on the mountains.
We booked arleady for next year !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We booked our stay for a skiing trip at this hotel based substantially on reviews on this site. We stayed half board at the hotel from the 16th -23rd January. The rooms are very clean and warm. The bathroom as noted in other reviews is small but no real issue, plenty of warm water at all times.
There is a separate TV area and small bar (much frequented) and a dining room, WiFi is available at €2/hour. The breakfast is substantial and fresh daily with cereals, bread, meats, cheese, scrambeld / boiled eggs etc.. The half board dinners were excellent, 4 course, different every night, with extra portions offered each evening, food prepared and served by the owners, we ate in every night as they were so good.
The hotel isn't in the town, but there is a frequent ski bus stop very close to the hotel and later in the evening the taxis are €6 any journey, so everywhere is easily accessible. The Teola lift is with walking distance (or 1 stop on the bus if you don't like walking in your ski booots) and Mottollino main gondola 2 stops in the other direction.
All in all a great hotel that I would have no problems recommending to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

First use of tripadvisor and SCORE!!! Forget two stars!!! This family hotel with amazing food, large and clean rooms, 2 mins walk to black slope. Simply great value, it is not in the centre of livigno, but its not far, close to skibus station (5 minutes to the centre). You can park for free front of the hotel, I would highly reccomend the room number four for family with young child, cause it has terrace with children playground. Food is amazing but unfortunately since this year they serve the dinner at 7.30 pm which is too late for small children, cause the dinner lasts for 2 hours and more (3 - 4 courses). And wifi is for free. The owner is very kind guy, prof skier, could advise best slopes. His bro has ski rental and shop so you can get discount there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from chairlift (black run back down) and a short ride on the free bus to the main gondola (blue/red back down) on the Mottolino side of Livigno.

Its out of town location suited us fine as we're not into the nightlife so much, but you can get into town in 10 minutes on the free bus up to 9pm and a cheap taxi back only a few euros. The drinks were cheaper in the hotel bar than in town anyway.

The room was comfortable, big enough and warm enough, though the shower room (no bath) was pretty small and dated, but always plenty of hot water. We had no balcony but a nice view of the town (no high rise) and Carosello/Costaccia mountain.

Food was fantastic, no buffet meals here (except breakfast, which was a nice large continental spread with hot eggs). Great salad bar, fresh starter, mains and dessert served to table, quite often they came round and offered seconds.

Most of the other guests (12 rooms in total) were English with same tour operator (Airtours/Panorama) plus a few from other countries.

The family who own and run the place were really nice, made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the Baita Cusini in Feb 08 for a ski holiday. Super friendly helpful family run hotel offering great (and we mean great food). You will not go hungry here. Loads of variety and as much as you can eat. Rooms comfortable, clean and warm. Everything you expect from a ski destination. Ski locker at the hotel (there is also one in town at the ski school if you get fed up of carrying your kit home). The bus is a few minutes walk and the buses are frequent and free. We would highly recommend this place. We had a lot of fun. The other guests were really nice. Baby Rudi was very cute and so happy. Livignio itself - more spread out than any other ski resort we have stayed at. Lots of great shopping ! Take your visa card ! Plenty of pubs and nice places for lunch if you get time. We didn't have a meal out at night because the hotel food at Baita Cusini is so good. Don't book your ski kit on the transfer !!! The hotel owners brother runs a shop in town which offers 10% discount to hotel guests - his kit was great. Highly recommended. We would love to return one day !

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

What a charming, well managed, family run hotel!

I can not praise this hotel enough, nothing was ever too much trouble!

Although we booked Half Board, we did plan to eat out a few nights to sample Italian Cuisine, however there was no need as the out-standing food on offer was enough to tempt us to stay in, freshly cooked Italian Food .... Squisito!

You had a freshly prepared salad bar and fresh roll first, then we sampled sumptuous starters, magnificent mains and DELICIOUS desserts!

The breakfast choice was plentiful especially for a day on the slopes and whilst having breakfast you could review the evening dinner on offer, fresh grilled trout, home made torttalini, risotto and so much more ... and all freshly prepared by the owner who is also the chef.

If you did not like what was on offer then all you needed was to tell them and he would prepare something else.

His friendly wife ran the front of house operations and did a fantastic job, even with three adorable children who were always on hand to make you smile, and his father ran the bar and got me into Bombadino's ... a MUST!

The rooms were varied, sized dependant on couples or families and due to the limited amount of rooms (12) it meant guests got to know each other over breakfast and dinner and mingle, many a night was spent in the Hotel Bar rather than hitting the town, we sat talking about the days activities on the slopes, so as a result we were able to make some lovely friends!

Although the Hotel is out of the main town there is a free and easy bus service running all day to and fom the town and the slopes, it stopped at 9pm. There was a stop right outside the Hotel, so it meant in the evenings you avoided the hustle and bustle of the Livigno Nightlife, but should you wish to sample, you simply hopped on the free bus and then you can catch cab back for 6 euro's.

The resort is stunning and the slopes were great for all levels!

So all in all an A+ from us and una festa vero bella (a truly lovely holiday!)

P.S back a day ago and already planning next year's trip and our stay at the Hotel Baita Cusini

  • Liked — Feeling like you were being invited into the owners own home
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Camino
Hotel Camino
#49 of 80 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Teola
Hotel Teola
#57 of 80 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#28 of 80 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#30 of 80 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#10 of 80 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Michael
Hotel Saint Michael
#37 of 80 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baita Cusini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baita Cusini

Address: via S.S. 301 n. 978, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Livigno
#37 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baita Cusini 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family is happy to welcome you to our small and friendly hotel which is found in a picturesque, tranquil setting. It is ideal for small groups and families with children looking for a relaxing stay.From the hotel there is a pedestrian and cycle path which takes you directly to the centre of Livigno in 10 minutes. Hotel Baita Cusini, is situated in the Teola area and is 150 m from the new chairlift "Teola Pianoni" with direct access to the Mottolino ski area. The cross country piste is directly under the hotel. In summer, it is also ideal as a starting point for numerous walks and excursions. The bus stop is 100m away. Nice rooms, Genuine kitchen, Bar & TV room, Small playground, Sun Terrace, Car parking, Ski storage, Wi-Fi, Mountain bikes ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baita Cusini Hotel
Baita Cusini Livigno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baita Cusini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.