We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alpina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bondi 15, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel with lots of character & friendly, hardworking staff. The room was a bit dark but that was just the decor. Good parking but the car park fills up quickly. Good restaurant with decent food and wines, we dined here both nights of our stay, one alfresco and the other inside. Inside was a nicer atmosphere we found.

The little town of Livigno is a ski resort but it's also a nice place to wander around the duty free shops during summer. There was some major construction work going on in the centre, (June 2013) not far from the hotel Alpina which was a bit intrusive and noisy at times.

Livigno is handy for taking a ride to the Stelvio Pass as we did. I recommend going north if you do this and through the Munt la Schera tunnel which is narrow & single track for over 3km through the mountain. There is a toll charge though. The area around Llivigno is beautiful and just has to be explored.

The Alpina is a really nice, well run hotel / restaurant and I'd certainly have no reservations about staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    61
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
88
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed one week with friends and family at the Alpina Hotel. It is ideally located in the center of the city and the staff is very friendly. But the food is terrible. When we complained about it to the manager, he wouldn't listen and replied we were the first ones to make any critics.
Do not go there with kids: wathever their age, they pay same price as adults. My 4-year son did not eat any evening meal because he was so exhausted, he had nethertheless to pay full price.
As a whole, we have been very disappointed by the hotel and its management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

March, 2013, our 5 night stay with our group of 23 people, was wonderful in this clean and centrally located hotel. 5 minute walk to the ski lift but the city of Livigno has an army of free busses to take you where you want to go. (Tax free shopping). My compliments to the staff: Lino, Ingrid, Graziano and Angelo as well as the rest of the wait staff were kind, knowledgeable and very friendly. Rooms are typical small European, but very comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was excellent with coffee, tea, hot cocoa, scrambled eggs, all types of cereal, fruits, yogurt, cheeses, breads, danish and cold cuts. Will definitely come back to this quaint and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loddekopinge, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from an absolutely wonderful week in Livigno. Hotel Alpina was no exception! .. As a first time visitor to the hotel, I can confirm that the entire staff are very friendly and most help full - especially the front desk and the head waiter Angelo was a delight. Your kids will love the staff as well!

The location of the Hotel is fabulous - spot in the center, 3 min. walk to the lifts and plenty of restaurants and tax free shopping just outside the front door.

Both the town and Hotel Alpina get my families warmest recommendation.

Room Tip: Don't get room 10 - a great deal of noise from the stairs just outside, and not the largest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife, son (24) and I just returned from a wonderful skiing holiday in Livigno. We stayed at the Hotel Alpina where we enjoyed excellent service from all the hotel staff, especially the front desk. They were extremely helpful in dealing with with all our requests/arrangements and went out of their way to make our twelve day stay a memorable one. The restaurant/bar staff, also provided excellent and friendly service.
The location in the centre of the village is very convenient in so far as access to the slopes, equipment hire, many restaurants and a huge number of shops is concerned.
Having looked at some of the other comments, I would concur that the only small inconvenience is that the baths were a bit too small to accomodate my average - sized South African body!!! Other than that small inconvenience everything else was great!
As a first-time visitor, I would strongly recomend Livigno and the Hotel Alpina to anybody who enjoys skiing and all the other enjoyable experiences that go with it - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is central position quite close to central square. Close to ski plants and shopping area (livigno is famous tax free village). Clean and nice. Cheap in low season period when compared to The average.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenduine, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We used to stay at their other hotel a while ago, but this one is way better, gentile staff good breakfast and food.
it's located right in the towncenter verry close to the lifts, just try to eat there at night it's sublim !!
the rooms are also great, just are the baths a little bit small for an average person. But overall it doesn't bother me

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Via Bondi 15, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.