We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous and Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpina to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bondi 15, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Johns Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

March, 2013, our 5 night stay with our group of 23 people, was wonderful in this clean and centrally located hotel. 5 minute walk to the ski lift but the city of Livigno has an army of free busses to take you where you want to go. (Tax free shopping). My compliments to the staff: Lino, Ingrid, Graziano and Angelo as well as the rest of the wait staff were kind, knowledgeable and very friendly. Rooms are typical small European, but very comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was excellent with coffee, tea, hot cocoa, scrambled eggs, all types of cereal, fruits, yogurt, cheeses, breads, danish and cold cuts. Will definitely come back to this quaint and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    89
    28
    9
    10
See reviews for
108
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loddekopinge, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from an absolutely wonderful week in Livigno. Hotel Alpina was no exception! .. As a first time visitor to the hotel, I can confirm that the entire staff are very friendly and most help full - especially the front desk and the head waiter Angelo was a delight. Your kids will love the staff as well!

The location of the Hotel is fabulous - spot in the center, 3 min. walk to the lifts and plenty of restaurants and tax free shopping just outside the front door.

Both the town and Hotel Alpina get my families warmest recommendation.

Room Tip: Don't get room 10 - a great deal of noise from the stairs just outside, and not the largest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife, son (24) and I just returned from a wonderful skiing holiday in Livigno. We stayed at the Hotel Alpina where we enjoyed excellent service from all the hotel staff, especially the front desk. They were extremely helpful in dealing with with all our requests/arrangements and went out of their way to make our twelve day stay a memorable one. The restaurant/bar staff, also provided excellent and friendly service.
The location in the centre of the village is very convenient in so far as access to the slopes, equipment hire, many restaurants and a huge number of shops is concerned.
Having looked at some of the other comments, I would concur that the only small inconvenience is that the baths were a bit too small to accomodate my average - sized South African body!!! Other than that small inconvenience everything else was great!
As a first-time visitor, I would strongly recomend Livigno and the Hotel Alpina to anybody who enjoys skiing and all the other enjoyable experiences that go with it - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is central position quite close to central square. Close to ski plants and shopping area (livigno is famous tax free village). Clean and nice. Cheap in low season period when compared to The average.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenduine, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We used to stay at their other hotel a while ago, but this one is way better, gentile staff good breakfast and food.
it's located right in the towncenter verry close to the lifts, just try to eat there at night it's sublim !!
the rooms are also great, just are the baths a little bit small for an average person. But overall it doesn't bother me

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just returned from a trip to the village of Livigno. Stayed there from 25 of February 2012 till 3 of March 2012.
We lived at the ALPINA Hotel with our big family – me and my wife and our daughter with her husband and three children.
We all go skiing, our grandchildren are just learning to ski.
Regarding the hotel ALPINA.
Been agreed beforehand that the family of our daughter and we have to live in the neighboring rooms, and that family with children need a big room. There have been very pleased - Family Room had two rooms, lots of windows, lots of places for things.
Our room was just next and also comfortable.
The hotel is located in the four-story historic building. The owners preserved and restored many lovely authentic items, furniture, paintings. The atmosphere sets the mood.
Building is located in the heart of Livigno - in the pedestrian zone. There is free parking, underground parking (extra charge).
We used a ski-room, but it should be noted that the shoes dry is bad, it was necessary to take the inner boots and finally dried in the room. Radiators in the room allow it.
The beds are comfortable, warm blankets, pillows here are not very good – looks that it's time to change them.
Noise from the street does not interfere with sleep, as the windows are double-glazed. Plumbing is a good, clean, tidy.
Kitchen. Separately, I want to note the waiter Angelo, he helped us for breakfast and dinner. Very nice, attentive, cheerful. Thanks to him we were guided well dining restaurant menu. During the week we tried a variety of dishes, including the original Italian dishes which are the restaurant's Gardena specialties.
The owner of the hotel - Signor Lino, knowing that we are already the third time in a vacation in the network ALPINA - before we visited the apartment Chalet Garden, pleased us special offers - vouchers in Aquagrande, welcome drinks, even offered to make room upgrade at Superior. It was very nice but our room fits us very well.
Breakfast was usual - five varieties of ham and sausage, a couple of cheeses, yogurt, cereal, muesli. Several kinds of coffee from coffee machine – cappuccino, espresso…. Can be ordered scrambled eggs or an omelet to your liking.
Dinner consists of 3 courses - the first - soup or pasta, the second - the main dish of meat, fish, could be cold plate also. Desserts - tiramisu, Panna Cotta, ice cream, sherbet, etc. There is a salad bar.
We really liked our vacation week spent at the hotel Alpina and we will gladly come here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

In the center of Livigno Hotel Alpina continues a long tradition of excellent quality and good value under new owners. Staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and the location in the center of town means you do not need a car to access all the outdoor activities and shopping. The restaurant has a wide range of choices including traditional dishes such as pizzoccheri (buckwheat pasta with potatoes, butter, cheese, sage, and swiss chard - bring a cardiologist) to terrific pizza and grilled meats. The half pension menu did not change during the week we were there but the staff was quite willing to offer substitutes off the main menu. The wine selection was excellent - try the local Valtellina wines. The breakfast menu was basic with coffee from a high quality self-service machine, an assortment of rolls and 1 type of brioche, yogurt, cereal and juice. This worked fine until the dining room got full on a Saturday morning and the line for the self-service coffee got rather long. Plan a trip to Aquagranda (the large pool/health/spa facility at the edge of town) but make sure you leave plenty of time to explore all the facilities. Also do not miss ice cream or special coffee at the Latteria where you can see ice cream, cheese and yogurt production. Bike rentals available just outside the hotel - from city bikes to tandems to high quality mountain bikes for adults and kids. The town has over 20 kilometers of rolling bike and walking trails that take you back and forth the valley and then spectacular mountains all around with hiking and single track biking in the summer and great skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Via Bondi 15, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.