We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of civilisation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Plan 151/C, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven of civilisation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Sonne for a week with my wife and daughter aged 8. Lady Patrizia overlooks all details and makes you feel splendidly welcome. It was like staying at my grandparents' home when I was a child. The house and staff oozes old world hospitality in a contemporary setting. Choose this hotel if you wish to experience old world hospitality and calm and if you are willing to adopt to the very special atmosphere of being in a haven of civilisation. If you are looking for action or require the freedom of doing whatever you want, look elsewhere. Will we be back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We go to Livigno since 1983 and the Sonne hotel was absolutely the best we stayed in.

The fantastic design of the hotel, the great breakfast with fresh fruits, the comfortable rooms, the fireplace that is lit every night, the impeccable cleanliness are all top!
But the friendliness of all the staff makes your stay a real experience: it makes you forget that they do not serve dinner or lunch. After a long trip, the reception is heart warming.

Moreover, this hotel is located in the pedestrian centre so you can park your car at the hotel but in fact you are in the zone for pedestrians.

You can leave your ski's at the heated skirooms with locks but you can also leave your ski's at the ski depots that some shops have just next to the pistes. Since you are next to the piste, the easiest way out is take the skilift and ski to Valandrea so that you do not have to carry your ski's if you decide to go to the other ski area "Mottolino"

We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: at the back on the second floor you can watch the ski slopes. The first floor rooms have a view on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for a week. The hotel has been recently renovated to a very high standard and is the only green hotel in the area. The owners and the staffs are very friendly, the food was great, although they only serve breakfast. The location is great, right in the town centre, the views to the slopes and the mountains were amazing and enjoying the views while having breakfast was sooo nice and relaxing. You could see what the weather was in the morning what were the skiing conditions before heading out! The owner Patricia was very friendly and always willing to help with anything we may need help with, also the rest of the staff were great.
There is a mini spa with steam room and sauna which was very handy after skiing.
The main shopping street is literally a stone's throw away so is pretty much everything else in Livigno.
Would definitely recommend this place as well as Livigno which is a great small town with a lot of character and friendly people. I love the fact that it is tax free and you end up buying an awful lot of things before you leave, so a piece of advice from me - take the car!

Room Tip: a room with a view to the slopes is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Sonne cannot be faulted at anything. Great reception upon arrival, very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast and lovely staff. Such a pleasant experience. Definitely recommended for all visitors to Livigno.

Great ski room with lockable heated ski storage. Ski in, ski out location. 2 mins from ski lifts.

Only recommendation is that perhaps a couple more English tv channels. Only CNN available.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Sonne-great family hotel in the center of the city. Everything is very close to the hotel, shops, restaurants, ski lifts.
The hotel is very comfortable and modern. It is small, only 16 rooms.
Sonne is the best family hotel we've ever been. And we'd like to come back to this place once again.
all personal of hotel very caring and attentive!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fantastic Hotel – Owner and Staff
I would like to take this opportunity to Thank ALL the staff at Hotel Sonne.

The hotel itself is very stylish and in a very a beautiful setting with fantastic facilities. but what really gives this Hotel the Edge is the attentive, kind and friendly staff, so willing to please. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

Even when we mentioned having a cocktail, which was not on the menu, before you knew it, ingredients , glasses etc. were brought and we all sat by the fire having our favourite cosmopolitan’s and Margarita’s! Thanks you!

Sally Gavin & Henry Whittaker cannot wait to return next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are Fab, however we did upgrade to the Panoramic Suite for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at hotel Sonne! I can say that it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is beautiful and modern with many interesting features throughout (I especially liked the fireplace). The view from the breakfast room was spectacular. The service was excellent and very personal. The rooms were cleaned several times a day. The shower was amazing. Would be nice to have shampoo samples in the room though (there were some in the spa). And would have loved to have a pool in the spa. Also, more meat selection at breakfast would be great. All in all, an absolutely wonderful hotel, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Via Plan 151/C, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.