We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location for ski holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Saroch 1116, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location for ski holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel Astoria in Feb 2013 on a 5 day ski trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was just ok. The restaurant had a good choice of foods for dinner and the staff were really helpful. It took a while to understand why people put their used napkins in envelopes and that is something I still can’t understand (it wouldn’t cost much to wash them). Rooms are a great size and exactly as shown in the pictures. It is a lovely quiet hotel with great views.
The lockers downstairs for skis and boots were heated and of a great size.
The Carosello gondola was only a few mins walk up the road and the bus stop was just across the road which brought you to the main areas in the resort. The main part of the resort is a good walk away (20-25 mins) so the bus is worth using.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of hotel had lovely balconies with a great view. Lovely and quiet also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    63
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
93
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed as a couple at The Astoria in mid January on a skiing trip. The hotel is conveniently located for those wishing to ski in The Carosello 3000 area with plenty of restaurants and ski hire shops nearby. A bus service close by will take you to the town and across to the Mottolino ski area.
The staff are very helpful,friendly and courteous and this we experienced even before we arrived when due to a train strike we had difficulties making our bus connections, but the helpful staff at the Astoria arranged a taxi to meet us and had a meal ready for us when we eventually arrived late that night.The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. We stayed half board and enjoyed a great variety of food.There is a great choice at breakfast and evening meals are varied and delicious.
Overall this hotel surpassed our expectations and we would have no hesitation recommending it to family and friends.We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week and thouroughly enjoyed it: clean, spacious rooms, incredibly friendly staff, heaps of great food ("Would you like something extra, because we know you've been mountainbiking?") and lots of bike know-how. Plenty of wonderful mountainbike trails. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in hotel Astoria for one week in July- August 2012 for roadcycling on the Alp Passes in Italy.

The rooms are with balcony, spacious enough, cozy, very clean and equipped with sky television and wi-fi.

The breakfast buffet is amazing (a lot to choose from and fresh and we have to praise the morning capuccino). And if you book halfboard, you can enjoy in great Italian kitchen in 4-course dinner.

For cyclists they have great facilities: locker room and service room with any tools you need. And they are well set for roadcyclists or bikers with maps, magazines, energy bars etc.

There is free parking in front of the hotel. It's 15-20 min walk down to the village center. But there is a bus stop for village just outside the hotel and buses are frequently and for free.

The staff in the hotel Astoria is extremely friendly and helpful - you can feel that it is a family run hotel.

In the end we can say that the location is great for roadcycling and dutyfree shopping and that we had a great week and will definitely return to hotel Astoria when we go back to Livigno.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelkerke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Skiing or mountainbikking,whatever,Astoria is The best hotel to go in Livigno (price /quality).Nice owners and everything around for à nice holiday!Good food ,Nice terrace and very helpfull.Free bikes in The house.i Will come back à third time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you go to Livigno for biking (trail riding or bike park), the Astoria Bike Hotel is an address to remember. The owners (two brothers) are bikers and that shows. Great facilities (bike room, bikers buffet, workstand, bike wash, laundry service for bike clothes ...) and if you book halfboard, great Italian kitchen for diner as well. Simple, authentic and as much as you like. As the Italian kitchen should be. Very extensive bikers breakfast too by the way.

In short: if I'd go back to Livigno, I would check in in the Astoria again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well set up for mountain bike trips, including maps, locker room, bike cleaning and tools.
Bike buffet with pie and fruits was offered after a long day of cycling.
Wash service was offered for the cycling clothes.
Breakfast and diner are good and plenty to choose from (even vegetarian)
Friendly staff who want to help with every request you have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Via Saroch 1116, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family management, warmth, attention to detail and constant pursuit of quality are the ingredients for your mountain vacation. In a decentralized location, just a short stroll from the ski tracks, hotel Astoria is the ideal place for a relaxing vacation, far from daily stress.Hospitality, serene atmosphere and comfortable facilities will help you kick back and enjoy your stay in a serene environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.