We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias
Via Canton 124, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Lauterbourg, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice rooms with great athmosphere. Every room has a different style. All big and cosy. No noise! Just relax.

Breakfast on Michelin star niveau! Not easy to find such a breakfast in Italy!

Dinner at the restaurant on a Michelin star level with an absolut fair price. Great tastes! Excellent wine celar!

Complimentary Garage and possibilities to store ski and ski boots!

Room Tip: Every room is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You really couldnt ask for more. A really lovely Chalet hotel, wonderful people, excellent service and Michelin starred food. This is our 6th visit! and we are going back again this year. Manuela and Mattias are tremedous hosts. His cooking is exquisite and she looks after your every need. The rooms/suites are beautiful in a simple but elegant Alpine style and the jacuzzi bath a joy after a day skiing.While not in the centre of town the excellent snow levels just before Christmas meant it was just a short walk or bus ride to the nearest lift and we were able to ski back virtually to the door. I am quite literally counting the days until we go back. For me it is the only place to stay in Livigno.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The four poster is very romantic but we like the slightly bigger suites wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Hi, I have been several times to Chalet Mattias in Livigno during the winter season. A part from the star kitchen from Mattias I have to admit that the breakfast being served - yes served and no buffet - has the highest quality I have ever seen during my trips. You get there the best crossants/brioche, homemade jam, high quality cold cuts (ham, bresaola, ...) ... Really outstanding. In case you want to pass a relaxed week away from Livigno downtown trouble but sliding down the mountain at the end of the day directy to the hotel then Chalet Mattias is the first Choice. Unfortunately there is no sauna in the hotel but the quality food is compensating this more than two times. Hope to come back this winter. Kind regards Patrick

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Of Livigno, perhaps of Italia . Among the top of Europe. A festival of distinctive flavor. One star michelin at extremly affordable price due to the tax free status of the valley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

My family and I spent 6 nights in this hotel during a ski trip in Livigno, and there is truly no other place I would recommend other than Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (including the spacious bathroom), with nice antique designs that emit a 'home'-like feeling. Parking and internet is free, and the locker storage for ski equipment is efficient. Finally, the highlight of the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast is a wonderful table of various breads, cheese, jams, hams and yogurt, while the dinner is a 4-course meal consisting of mouth-watering, *delicious* food, and it alternates every night you stay. Make sure you ask for their wine recommendation to your meals! You will not be disappointed! The best thing about this hotel is probably the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. They are so helpful. My family and I certainly could not have enjoyed our Livigno trip more.
-The Lindkvist family from Sweden.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed with a family of 6 incl 2 kids Great food and kids could eat earlier if needed. One of the best dishes was Risotto with a scoop of Parmezan cheese icecream!! Great stay and Thanks Manuela, Mattias & staff

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frösön
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here between 6th of March until 13th of March and it was probaly one of the best vaccations I ever had, we stayed in a spacius suite perfect for two adult and two child. It was spotless clean and very nice, big bathroom with shower and a nice jacuzzi.

Really good location you can choose to walk to/from the slopes or take the bus - both of them only a short walk away - our youngest of 6 years had no problem doing this walks in skii boots - it's that close. And if you wanted to do shopping it's only a short walk or take the free bus.

We booked with half board and got a really nice breakfast and then dinners I will never forget. Food of the higest quality cooked in the best way thinkable, served with really nice wines - Mattias and Manuela really does a great job!

I can't wait to go here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias

Address: Via Canton 124, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.