We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, truly unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias to your Saves list
Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias
Via Canton 124, 23030 Livigno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Thame, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb food, truly unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You really couldnt ask for more. A really lovely Chalet hotel, wonderful people, excellent service and Michelin starred food. This is our 6th visit! and we are going back again this year. Manuela and Mattias are tremedous hosts. His cooking is exquisite and she looks after your every need. The rooms/suites are beautiful in a simple but elegant Alpine style and the jacuzzi bath a joy after a day skiing.While not in the centre of town the excellent snow levels just before Christmas meant it was just a short walk or bus ride to the nearest lift and we were able to ski back virtually to the door. I am quite literally counting the days until we go back. For me it is the only place to stay in Livigno.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The four poster is very romantic but we like the slightly bigger suites wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Hi, I have been several times to Chalet Mattias in Livigno during the winter season. A part from the star kitchen from Mattias I have to admit that the breakfast being served - yes served and no buffet - has the highest quality I have ever seen during my trips. You get there the best crossants/brioche, homemade jam, high quality cold cuts (ham, bresaola, ...) ... Really outstanding. In case you want to pass a relaxed week away from Livigno downtown trouble but sliding down the mountain at the end of the day directy to the hotel then Chalet Mattias is the first Choice. Unfortunately there is no sauna in the hotel but the quality food is compensating this more than two times. Hope to come back this winter. Kind regards Patrick

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Of Livigno, perhaps of Italia . Among the top of Europe. A festival of distinctive flavor. One star michelin at extremly affordable price due to the tax free status of the valley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

My family and I spent 6 nights in this hotel during a ski trip in Livigno, and there is truly no other place I would recommend other than Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (including the spacious bathroom), with nice antique designs that emit a 'home'-like feeling. Parking and internet is free, and the locker storage for ski equipment is efficient. Finally, the highlight of the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast is a wonderful table of various breads, cheese, jams, hams and yogurt, while the dinner is a 4-course meal consisting of mouth-watering, *delicious* food, and it alternates every night you stay. Make sure you ask for their wine recommendation to your meals! You will not be disappointed! The best thing about this hotel is probably the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. They are so helpful. My family and I certainly could not have enjoyed our Livigno trip more.
-The Lindkvist family from Sweden.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed with a family of 6 incl 2 kids Great food and kids could eat earlier if needed. One of the best dishes was Risotto with a scoop of Parmezan cheese icecream!! Great stay and Thanks Manuela, Mattias & staff

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frösön
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here between 6th of March until 13th of March and it was probaly one of the best vaccations I ever had, we stayed in a spacius suite perfect for two adult and two child. It was spotless clean and very nice, big bathroom with shower and a nice jacuzzi.

Really good location you can choose to walk to/from the slopes or take the bus - both of them only a short walk away - our youngest of 6 years had no problem doing this walks in skii boots - it's that close. And if you wanted to do shopping it's only a short walk or take the free bus.

We booked with half board and got a really nice breakfast and then dinners I will never forget. Food of the higest quality cooked in the best way thinkable, served with really nice wines - Mattias and Manuela really does a great job!

I can't wait to go here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We had a splendid 4 days with exceptional food an one of my best wine experiences when this was let to the exceptional kind service from the wife of Mattias.
We would certainly consider going back. Splendid rooms The free bikes were a good possibility but a few of these needed service ;-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias

Address: Via Canton 124, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.