We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment in Lipari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mafalda B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Mafalda B&B to your Saves list
Casa Mafalda B&B
Via Maddalena, 15, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Lipari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful apartment in Lipari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for 4 days in the apartment Alice rented out by B&B Casa Mafalda. It is very centrally located (very close to Marina Corta from where all the day trips to the other islands depart). It consists of a huge bedroom, kitchen-dining area and bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped and it is very convenient for preparing meals. The staff at the B&B (where we had to check in) are very kind. They allowed us to use the free internet in the dining room of the B&B (there is no internet access in the apartment). Highly recommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

A lovely comfortable B&B with very friendly and helpful owners who spoke just enough English for us to understand each other. Location is excellent, just a short uphill walk from Marina Corte which is the old harbour from where all the boat trips depart. We had a large modern room with a mezzanine bedroom and a small balcony overlooking Via Maddelene. Excellent continental breakfasts with good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at Casa Mafalda three nights during our honeymoon in Sicily. The B&B was very nice. Clean, simple, and comfortable. We had a large room with a private bath and a small balcony overlooking the square just outside the B&B. If you are interested in excursions to the other islands, Casa Mafalda is a great place to stay, since it is literally steps away from the Marina Corta, where most of the excursions depart from. We enjoyed breakfast on the upper floor in the morning, which has a great view of the marina and the old castle. The only drawback was the long walk from the main port, where the ferries arrive, to the other side of the old city where the B&B is located. If you have a lot of luggage, it might be a better idea to take a taxi...we learned the hard way!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at Casa Mafalda on 22-23 June 2010 as a solo traveller, room 52 (a self contained studio apartment just around the corner from the main part of the B&B - same building but separate section) at a rate of EUR40 per night room only via Booking.com.

The apartment is newly refurbished very light, bright and spacious with blue and white tiles - very mediterranean decor. It was really a joy to stay there especially at the amazing rate of EUR40 a night. Top value! I opened the balcony doors to an amazing view over the small port of Marina Corta.

This studio apartment had full cooking facilities, fridge, cutlery, crockery and linen. It had a queen sized bed and 2 footstools that convert to single beds. 2 adults and 2 small children could easily stay in this apartment.

Just be aware that the B&B is approx 1.5km from the main port, Sottomonastero - ie. where the Siremar hyrofoils arrive from Milazzo. The Google maps are a bit unreliable as they do not show the small laneways or vicos so it was difficult for me to find my way. There were taxis available at the wharf albeit I walked as I only had a small backpack.

Directions - From the Sottomonastero wharf, turn left into Via Vittorio Emanuel, walk around 250m and then look for the signs on the left side of the street directing you to the small port, Marina Corta. Once you arrive in the Piazza Marina Corta, walk across the piazza to the Church door, turn right up the small pathway and turn immediate left in Via Maddelena. From there you will see the Casa Mafalda sign.

I have no hesitation to recommend the studio apartment to you.

NB The reception desk and breakfast room are together and the breakfast area looked really charming albeit this was not included in my apartment rate. The Owners do not speak much English so probably a good idea to have a Italian dictionary with you or use Google translator on their computer.

PS I thoroughly recommend doing the Regina Lines Panarea/Stromboli afternoon cruise starting around 2pm and returning around 10.30pm (EUR25 pp) - you can book this in the Marina Corta - just note that it is a long long cruise - more than half the time is on the boat in fairly rough seas and if you get sea sick at all this is NOT for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The B&B is near the center but in a quiet spot. The rooms are large, clean and modern. The owner's English is very basic, but he will do everything to make you feel at home and help you out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

love this B & B. Owners are very friendly and helpful though speak very limited English. We had to leave really early on our departure day to catch a ferry but they packed a big breakfast for us to take away. We are very pleased with that.
Room is super spacious. It has two floors. very clean and newly renovated. Breakfast was excellent.
The only downside is the location. It is about 15-20 mins from the ferry dock. It is only steps away from the other smaller marine port where the excursion curise boats pick people up.
love it and would stay here again.

  • Liked — friendly owner and spacious room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mafalda B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mafalda B&B

Address: Via Maddalena, 15, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Mafalda B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mafalda B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.