We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE GEM OVERLOOKING A BLUE GREEN SEA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocce Azzurre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rocce Azzurre to your Saves list
Rocce Azzurre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maddalena 69, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Brighton England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM OVERLOOKING A BLUE GREEN SEA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was our second visit to the Rocce Azzurre and it was just as good as the first visit. The hotel is located on the coast of Lipari in a quiet bay very close to the harbour. We had booked a third floor sea facing room with balcony that faced east and got the early morning sun, but gave some shade later in the afternoon. We had magnificent views over a green sea with a small beach to the side of the hotel. A variety of sailing craft came and anchored in our small bay overnight. There is also a bathing platform with sunbeds and shades leading to a sea swimming area, but look out for jelly fish that appear more in the afternoon!
We had breakfast and dinner on the superb terrace every day. The menu changed daily and reflected the area, e.g. lots of local fresh fish, pasta, risotto and local meat all simply prepared with a Sicilian flavour. Wine was available by the glass, half bottle or full bottle (which could be kept until the next meal if required)
Apart from the superb location the secret of this charming small hotel was the owner, Adriano and his daughter Ariane, who managed the day to day running . Adriano met his guests every morning and evening and nothing was too much trouble. He really cared about his guests and their needs. Prior to owning the hotel he had worked in the travel trade for many years in London and knew what makes a good small hotel.
We should add we booked with a small travel agency specialising in Sicily and the Aeolians and got good value and personal service. There were a group staying in the hotel at the same time who had paid considerably more than us, who in our opinion did not get such a good service from the Rep who acccompanied them. eg they were made to walk to and from the ferry terminal to the hotel (some 20 minutes each way) in spite of having some fairly elderly members in the group. We had a proper transfer as noted in our itinerary. There were a lot of adverse comments from this group about their company, but this was not the fault of our wonderful Rocce Azzurre hotel.
Lipari is a very good base for exploring all the Aeolian Islands and this can be done by booking boat excursions, using the local island buses (available on both Salina and Lipari) and using the local hydrofoils and other ferries. The tourist office in Lipari is a joke, but the ferry terminal and bus office in Lipari gives out all the necessary information.
Finally Subba in the main street has the best ice cream we have ever tasted it's amazing!
We shall be returning to Lipari and the Rocce Azzurre again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    43
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I took a group of people to stay at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is on a rocky headland site overlooking the sea at Lipari. The group was warmly welcomed and though one lady became ill the hotel staff were wonderful and arranged a doctor and her prescription. Rooms very comfortable, though the air conditioning was being repaired. Dinners very good, dining room staff helpful. Super views, sandy beach, 10 minute walk into town and shops, bit more for the ferries that serve the island. The hotel picked up luggage from the port. Good base for exploring the other islands in the Aeolian group, eg Stromboli and Vulcano.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Just back from 2 weeks break. Were a bit wary as we had never stayed at an hotel which had such overwhelmingly good reports. However we can confirm that they were right. Location is good, overlooking small rocky bay with swimming platform. Around 10 minutes walk fromMarina Corte(small harbour) and 20 mins to main harbour for hydrofoils. We usually go for B&B so we can choose different places each night to eat but food was absolutely excellent, especially if you like seafood.Family owned and very friendly Most spoke excellent English and couln't have been more helpful.
Only very slight negative was air conditioning in our room packed in about 3 days from end of holiday and still wasn't fixed by the time we left.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is the only beach hotel in the world we have ever gone back to. Lipari is a beautiful setting and the hotel ideally located just a short walk from the town’s waterfront café’s and restaurants. We were welcomed back like long lost friends and had an excellent room with views of the sea and the coast. I even had my broken glasses frame taken off me as we arrived and returned after being repaired two days later making a huge difference to the rest of my holiday.

The food is good, the service excellent and the staff very helpful. The room is well cleaned and appointed.

This isn’t the lap of luxury but a really well run good quality hotel in a lovely location with guest returning year after year. The food is better than the menu suggests and we haven’t found a better restaurant on the Island outside the hotel, so although full board may sound limiting we ate in and so did a number of other guests we met who initially had the same concerns as we did. There is a reasonable wine list with well-priced and very drinkable local wins.

Any down side? Well the bar goes quiet very quickly after dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed for only 4 nights on the advice of our travel agent next time we would staf for longer but only if we could have Room 101 again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I stayed at Rocce Azzurre in June of 2007. At first when entering the small foyer I was not sure what to expect. Once in the very clean and beautiful decorated room I knew that I had found the perfect spot in Lipari. The balconies over looking the sea was just perfect. The staff were very friendly. If you want to stay within walking distance of the port of Lipari this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Rocce Azzurre for five days in September. Located in a quiet bay about 10 minutes walk from Lipari centre, this family run hotel has a charm of its own which we found endearing (the ancient lift is an experience!). Recently redecorated internally, the public and private rooms were very clean and comfortable. The large walk-in shower was nice change from the usual step-over bath type. The most impressive aspect of this hotel is its terrace restaurant that enjoys lovely sea views. Whilst breakfast was a little limited in choice and fruit salad provided was from a tin, dinner was excellent and well served by attentive, helpful and friendly staff. The hotel’s waterside sundeck provides an ideal place for sunbathing and swimming. The hotel staff were always on hand to provide local information and book excursions if required. If we wanted a quite relaxing time, we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Tinned fruit at breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocce Azzurre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocce Azzurre

Address: Via Maddalena 69, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocce Azzurre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocce Azzzurre Hotel is situated in the quiet bay of Porto delle Genti, 10 minutes from the tourist harbour. It features 32 well appointed bedrooms equipped with modern comfort and spread over three floors. For your convenience the hotel provides a restaurant, a bar and a terrace where you can enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocce Azzurre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocce Azzurre Hotel Lipari
Rocce Azzurre Lipari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocce Azzurre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.