We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Serra 11, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived early morning and were greeted with a wonderful warm reception. Hotel spotless, view over the port of Lipari extraordinary. Rooms immaculate, food lovely and fresh, infinity pool so refreshing with the added surprise of another smaller pool 'over the wall' hiding a wonderful array of bubbling jacuzzis underneath. Pool bar fully stocked with cool refreshing drinks with a tasty menu when the hunger pangs started. Children's area secluded and well stocked with toys, games and ping pong. Booking up for longer next year and we can't wait. Most relaxing time spent at villa Enrica. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the port. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    66
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
124
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in Lipari for 4 nights and as we hesitated between 2 hotels we spilt, 2 nights here and 2 nights in another hotel.
Villa Enrica in itself is lovely, it does feel like a villa/ house. There arent many rooms so it feels like a nice size. Im not sure if they have sea view rooms but we had 2 connecting rooms on the mountain side. The rooms were big enough, each with french doors onto a terrace. there was one bathroom which we found a bit small, specially the shower cubicle...dont think i have seen one this small. The neighbours have dogs that bark early morning which was annoying.

The staff was indeed very friendly and very very helpful.

The main negative is location; although it seems close to two on the map the main road is actually at the other end of the port, and the hotel is also at the top of a steep hill. We walked down with our two children and it was not easy even going down, it ended up being a bit too far and also dangerous as there are no pavements for some of the way.
They organise free shuttle from the port and back on arrival and departure but thats it. Taxi to or from town cost 10 euros, we took one back to the hotel. So basically its fine if you are planning to rent a scooter or car but otherwise it may turn out too far.
Then as there is no restaurant the same problem recurs in the evening. They do provide free shuttle to their sister hotel which has a restaurant but that limits the choice of restaurant! Plus as it is a upper scale restaurant, not sure everybody wants to pay a high amount each night. We did it once. then the second night we asked if there was a pizza delivery service. As the staff is so helpful, they helped us and we ate a nice pizza in our room. ;-)

The second slight negative is the pool. I agree the view is fantastic but the reason is that you have to walk another steep hill to get there. Once at the top, there is an infinity type pool and a small bar. The pool however is not the standard pool, its finishing is concrete and paint. paint flaking off in part and we did not find it particularly clean either. Some debris were washing off the edges. It was just a bit inconvenient and also strange to have to walk up there for a swim.

They have an animator for children. Its set up behind the pool area, under a kind of wooden roof. She was very good with the children and we thought she did very well with the limited area/set up she has.

Overall, a nice stay, but they could do with setting up a free shuttle to town like the other hotel we stayed in the subsequent 2 nights, it made a world of difference. I would not say its the best in Lipari but not a bad choice.

Room Tip: If they have sea view rooms, that may be better and you may not hear the dogs at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed 5 days, July 2013. We rented a scooter for the length of our stay and we explored the island, inside and out. We are convinced there is no better place to stay on the island than Room #27 at Villa Enrica! No chance! The spacious veranda with outdoor cooking and eating and relaxing space can't be beat. Pay whatever it takes to get room 27... and it's very affordable. We paid just over $200 USD per night. This room is $400-$600 in the states in a similar vacation beach area.

The staff here is super friendly and go-out-of-their-way helpful. Always a staff member for whatever you need between 7am and midnight. The pool is gorgeous! An infinity pool with an beautiful view of the Lipari harbor.

Breakfast was nothing extraordinary, but it was fresh and served on time, hot stuff was hot, cold stuff was cold, and again staff was friendly and attentive.

We will return to Lipari one day, and we will arrange the dates of our return to stay in Room 27 and Villa Enrica.

Room Tip: 27, 27, 27. Must have 27. There is one other room adjacent to 27 with smaller patio that would do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and were very happy with our stay. It was excellent value for money, the pool was great and the breakfast was very good too. The room was spacious, excellent bathroom too.

On the negative, the beds were the hardest of all our hotels we stayed at in Italy. This is primarily why we didn't give it 5 stars. Sleep should provide rest and we rejuvenation however these beds made you wake up more tired than you started. For this reason I would not return. The staff were great. Although the don't advertise this, you can order local wine, drinks and crisps and sit outside and admire the beautiful view. Also the staff will recommend two ways to reach the main street. Please take the route away from the beach as this has no sidewalks and is not safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was our 5th time on Lipari and we stayed for the 4th time in Villa Enrica. It feels like a 2nd home to us. That is mainly due to the staff. They are all equally nice. We already have had most of the rooms with seaview. The location is superb! All the details are all once described. This year they also opened a poolbar, so you can buy fresh sandwiches and salads at the pool. If you like to party, Lipari isn't the right place. If you want to stay on one of the most beautiful and quiet spots on earth, go to Lipari and the Aeolian Islands in general. This year we have climbed the Stromboli and we have seen several volcanic eruptions by night. A unique experience! We have all seen the 7 Islands several times. Each one has its own character. They are easily reachable by boat. There are delicious restaurants on the island. For example Kasbah, 25 and Villa Liberty. The service and the quality of the food are amazing. A nice day at the beach? Go to Coral Beach in Canneto. I can keep telling about the Aeolian Islands, but you have to experience it by yourself. You'll be surprised! I completely don't understand the negative reviews. I think it's up to the people themselves. Go and enjoy! We hope to go back next year for the sixth time.

Laurens & Marlous
Holland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Enrica for a week mid June 2013. We had the room 12, which had some poor reviews in the past, and were really pleased with it. The room is fitted with a XL bed, very comfortable, the bathroom is of a good size, with sand color tiles, a beautiful antique cupboard and large sink. The room was absolutely spotless and so was the whole resort. We had very good nights of sleep there! The resort is set among luxuriant trees, flowers... which gives a unique feel of peace and serenity. The pool is amazing, quiet, the view of Lipari is breathtaking.

But what made our stay special was the kindness and caring service from the staff, especially Maria. We were a bit unlucky on our way as our flight was delayed and Maria took care of re-booking at no extra cost all the transfers. And on a day to day basis, Maria was attentive and friendly at all time. It made us feel really at home and comfortable. We would highly recommend the Villa Enrica.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view as they are only slightly more expensive and the eagle views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Enrica for three days at the end of May 2013.
The accommodation was in a room accessed from the garden with a little veranda with a table two chairs and drying rack. The room was clean and tidy.
The staff were friendly, The continental buffet breakfast was good with very good croissants although coffee was from a vacuum jug. Evening meals were not served but a transfer was available to and from the Hotel Mea which seemed to have a better ambiance than the restaurants in town. The town of Lipari is within walking distance (up hill on the way back) where there are many restaurants and cafes. We had a great Aperol spritzer at the Eden Bar on the main street and were amazed at the canapés, olives, nuts etc served with it; we thought great value at 6 Euro.
For us the highlight of the hotel was the pool, situated above the hotel (another up hill walk). The infinity pool has an irregular shape with the walls and base sand coloured, not the usual blue. There are plenty of loungers, umbrellas, seats, chairs and tables in the area. From the pool there is a great view over Lipari town and the harbour and one can while away the hours watching the hydrofoils and ferries come in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel

Address: Via Serra 11, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is the first in the Aeolian Islands to have its own cultivated gardens which span 30,000 square metres. From the peace of its position you can experience the colours and scents of the countryside whilst remaining a short way from Lipari town centre and harbour. Situated on the Serra hillside, Hotel Villa Enrica offers views of the picturesque Bay of Marina Lunga and the lovely little town of Lipari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Enrica Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Enrica Country Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.