We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Arciduca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Arciduca to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Arciduca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Franza Lipari, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent last week at this hotel in Lipari. The hotel is nicely situated. It is a few minutes away (walking) from the points of departure of various ports and also very close to restaurants and shops. They served a very nice breakfast in the morning which included a variety of meats, some egg (usually scrambled), cheeses, breads, pastries and croissants. They would bring you fresh cappuccinos in the morning on request as well.

The hotel staff was both courteous and friendly, and although some of them didn't speak English well, it was never an issue. We had requested a quad room for my wife and two kids and the space was somewhat limited, as is typical of most hotels in Italy. However, once you got used to it, everything we needed was there. The only negative was the lack of an iron in the entire hotel. Since I was giving research seminars it would have been nice to have crisply ironed shirts but it worked out okay.

The hotel also has a nice swimming pool which my kids enjoyed quite a bit. This is a nice boutique type hotel with good value, excellent service, and of course the aeolian islands are a wonderful place to visit.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Ness S.,
It was a great pleasure to have you as guest and we look forward to welcoming you and you family again at Arciduca Grand Hotel. Many thanks and ARRIVEDERCI !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    39
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
65
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel is in a great location- 5 min walk to anything you need in Lipari. The hotel was classy, yet great for my kids. Staff was extremely helpful. It had a nice family feel to it. The rooms were nice. We had 2 kids (8 and 9) and they added two beds for us. We could walk right out to pool- the kids loved it. only slight complaint is that the beds could have been softer! The wi-fi was great-- a rarity in Europe! the fitness room, was only 3 machines though - also typical Europe! We booked a few tours with the front desk based on their recommendations and they were great. Breakfast was very good and we had dinner one night there. Food was excellent. Overall, great 4 star hotel in Lipari, was not looking for anything else and was perfect for a family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the great Tripadvisor community and for your kind words and recommendations. We are delighted to know that you and your family spent an excellent stay at Arciduca Grand Hotel and hope to welcome you again very soon. Sincerely, the Management and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I loved it so much I went back! Everything you need in one place and the service was fantastic. Big mention to Nadia who is the beautician there and is world class! I would strongly recommend you visit Nadia at least once while you are there.

All the staff were helpful and the food was great, fresh and natural. It was a tequila paradise it if you wanted to explore more they have all the information there and will happily assist to book for you. I'll be going back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Susan,
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you again and we truly appreciate your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed our beauty center , appreciated our bar & restaurant and loved our typical dishes. All our staff works to offer an excellent service! We hope to see you again next year. Thank you for your review and ARRIVEDERCI!
Mariella Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evry, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This review is about the hotel and not the restaurant. The hotel was really nice, a big room, a charming bathroom and very useful ac. I really enjoyed my one-week stay in it! Single downside, the swimmingpool is very small, but, guys, there is sea all around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Arciduca Hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Mariella Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The service was excellent, the staff is extremely pleasant and efficient. We had a really delicious meal in the restaurant which we were explained it was a traditional dish (Aeolian Salad) and a delicious pasta which I have never tasted before with squid ink. Definitely Hotel Arciduca is a great hotel and very romantic, especially in the evening when the lights are dim. ^^

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant, we truly appreciate it . We are delighted that you had a very pleasant stay at grand hotel Arciduca and loved our typical Sicilian dishes. All our staff works to offer an excellent service and cherish the guests, make them feel like home. We are happy when we reach the goal.
We look forward to welcoming you again. ARRIVEDERCI!
Mariella Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had booked a few nights here but arrived one day early. Luckily there was a very good superior room with balcony available. After the first night our luggage was transferred to the room we had booked originally. Both rooms were spacious with balconies and huge beds. The receptionist was very helpful and sorted out our needs. Although quite busy, the hotel was peaceful, quiet and pleasant to stay in. It is not a traditional hotel layout and rooms are accessed from a variety of entrances and stairways. The rooms and sleep quality were excellent. The breakfast was the usual self service from a smallish side room but the excellent seating overlooking the pool area offsets any initial feelings of over crowding at the serving area.

Room Tip: We experienced two rooms, both with balconies which we hardly used as we went out for longish period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate very much.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Arciduca Grand Hotel in the future.
Kind regards and ARRIVERCI!
Mariella Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is lovely, small, well-appointed, with curteous professional staff. It is well situated in Lipari, all the action is a short stroll away but the Arciduc offers an oasis of calm. The pool is a wonderful asset. Important to us, the food is superb - every dish is a dream come true - and so too is the wait staff. The hotel went out of its way to hire an amazing chef and the prices offer excellent value. Marianno, our waiter, is of the old school - a very classy gentleman. We loved everything about our experience at the Arciduca and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly appreciated our quality of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lipari and Grand Hotel Arciduca in the future.
Best regards,
Mariella Fiorentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Arciduca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Arciduca

Address: Via Giuseppe Franza Lipari, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Arciduca 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the multi-coloured Aeolian houses of Lipari’s historic centre stands a romantic little cluster of three buildings: the Grand Hotel Arciduca, named in honour of Louis Salvator, Archduke of Austria. The Hapsburgs’ opulence combines with Sicilian styles from the end of the 19th century to create a summer palace. The bedrooms are elegant, public areas are warm and welcoming and the service is excellent. The restaurant terrace overlooks the heated swimming-pool with its hydromassage, set among the colours and perfumes of Mediterranean shrubs. A sun terrace, a gym and a games room complete the ideal setting for a holiday on Lipari. Just a few steps away is the square of Marina Corta, by the fishermen’s port and the hydrofoil dock. The little beach of Portinente is a two-minute walk and the colourful little shops and boutiques in the town centre can be reached in a couple of minutes more. Those in search of culture, on the other hand, have only a 5-minute walk to reach Lipari’s Castle, which has a museum and an archaeological garden, and the Cathedral with its cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Arciduca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lipari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Arciduca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.