We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to explore Aeolian islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Eolie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Eolie Hotel to your Saves list
Borgo Eolie Hotel
C/da Mendolita, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel to explore Aeolian islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived after a long 8 hours of travel from Rome, and the massimo came straight from the hotel to pick us up himself and check us in, showing us the town and sites along the way. We loved our room, room 211 if you can get it - it's right above the lobby where they have free wifi so while most guests were told they could access free wifi from the lobby only, we were able to from our room because the router was right underneath.

The room itself was spacious and clean, and was very comfortable after long days exploring the islands. The concierge was helpful at all times, providing rides to and from port/town for free, and we couldn't ask for better service.

Breakfast was great with sufficient variety, and as much coffee as you want from their coffeemaker in the lobby.

We really appreciated the deals that borgo eolie had with some of the restaurants in town in Lipari, offering guests of the hotel a discount on the meals, which we definitely took advantage of multiple times. Our favorite restaurant was Kasbah Cafe!

Would definitely stay again should we visit the islands again! Worth every penny, especially with off peak prices!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 211, right above the lobby, and got great wifi in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    69
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
150
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were 4 couples traveling around sicily. What a fun treat to stay here. They nicely picked us up at the port and gave us many trips to town for dinners, touring and excursions to Stromboli. Arellano and "max" made everything easy for all of us. Rooms and breakfasts were perfect for our group. We enjoyed wine on the terrace and for one of us who enjoys dirt coke ,even brought Ice without being asked. Yes!! Great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited this hotel in year 2012. Despite the fact that the hotel is a bit far from the sea, get to it quite easily. Service and maintenance within the hotel is quite good. Rooms are well appointed and quiet. In the hotel we took the excursion on Isola Vulcano, were very pleased. Breakfast with no frills, but overall quite tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We liked this hotel a lot and it was a perfect base for excursions to stromboli at night ( a must !) and to explore Lipari. This hotel has spacious rooms, balconies and a lovely pool.

Staff were friendly.

There is a shuttle service by arrangements from the port.
Walk without luggage is easy and takes about ten minutes.

Breakfast was plentiful and included fruit, joghurts, cheese etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

bad point first: it's 10min walking from the harbor/city center, where you should arrive by boat. But there is a bus service to take you there and drop you off for free, provided by the hotel. So what?
Staff was nice, rooms were spacious and clean, with soft towels, good beds, a small terrasse. Really good room, and calm. The breakfast is fully-fitted, and you can have it outside, which is lovely with the mountains view. Definitely the best hotel in Sicily during my trip! (and not expensive at all off peak season)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in Lipari by hydrofoil from Stromboli and called the hotel prior to leaving to organise a pickup at the port. Arriving at the port there was no one to pick us up so we eventually called again and got an apology and a car dispatched immediately. We finally got picked up after about half an hour from arriving. The man at reception was very accommodating taking our cases and booking us in quickly and efficiently. I don't think the room we had was on the "A" list, but it had a large balcony looking over the drive way. It was possible to see the sea to the right over other buildings. The breakfast was okay except for the eggs and sausages. The scrambled eggs were like rubber and almost inedible the small sausages were hard and tasteless. The rest for the breakfast was fine.
Once orientated the walk into town was fine. We were provided with a list of restaurants that were recommended and also provided some extra value to guests at the hotel, the best we found was Kasbah café. They had the best quality food we found after two weeks in Italy and cooked by chef's as opposed to cooks. Another place going to was a wine bar that also served anti pasta and Panini's it was called "Eno Paninoteca Gilberto e Vera". The host was a real character and the wine and food were exceptional.
Lipari was an experience and the first place where we were able to experience the real Italy.
Two days was not enough.

Room Tip: A room near the pool would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trzin, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Borgo Eolie is located outside the city center, which might discourage some travelers from staying there, however, the hotel provides a shuttle service that will take you to the city center or to the port free of charge. The walk is not that long either, it takes about 10 min to get to the main street from the hotel. They also pick you up (free of charge) when you arrive by hydrofoil or ferry, you just have to let them know the hour. We didn't know in advance when we would arrive so we called them upon our arrival and they sent a minivan to pick us up.

The staff were exceptional, especially the guy at the reception that worked afternoons! The most cheerful and helpful receptionist I have ever encountered. He also speaks English quite well for an Italian.

Another great thing about our stay was that they provided gluten free breakfast for me (I notified them about my condition beforehand) without charging extra money for it. Their breakfast also surprised us as we were used to getting bread, butter and jam in other parts of Sicily and the Eolian Islands. At the Borgo Eolie, however, they serve different types of bread, pastry and cakes, all kinds of jam, cereal and yogurt, ham, salami and cheese, two types of eggs, hot dogs, different kinds of juices, milk, coffee, tea, fruit, etc.There's also free coffee or hot drinks available free of charge throughout the day and they provide you with a list of restaurants where you can get a pretty nice discount if you mention that you're staying at the Borgo Eolie. Some of the restaurants on the list offer gluten free pasta and almost all of them have gluten free options like fish or meat for you to choose from if you can't eat pasta or pizza. We liked Bartolo the best.

The rooms were also lovely. The furniture is new but it has that antique feel that is felt throughout the hotel. They are also very well equipped: safe, fridge, hairdryer, etc. The cleanliness is amazing, they clean your room every morning and by clean I mean really really clean. We had a lovely little terrace overlooking the hills and we really enjoyed spending our evenings drinking wine and just hanging out on the terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Eolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Eolie Hotel

Address: C/da Mendolita, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Eolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Eolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.