We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with energetic owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Eolie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Borgo Eolie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Borgo Eolie Hotel
C/da Mendolita, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 hotels in Lipari
Slovenia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“New hotel with energetic owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Relatively new hotel, located in the outskirt of the town. Easy walkable to the port or use transport offered by owner. The complete hotel is small but very clean, eooms are modern, sleeping excellent. The pool area very inviting for warmer days then when we were there. Breakfast was very good. It is a small hotel so personal attention by owners is guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    45
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
100
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is a little way from the port - about 15 minutes walk, and into the hillside 'suburbs' of Lipari town. We were happy to walk with our minimal luggage, but I guess you could pre-arrange a pick up with the hotel. They have a minibus for the shuttle service with a regular timetable through the day and evening, but were happy to take passengers down to meet the hydrofoil for an early departure before breakfast.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet with a wide variety of sweet and savoury choices, including scrambled eggs, pastries, fruit etc.
Our room was spacious and the shady balcony had a comfy sofa and a 'sea view'. Yes, you could see the sea - beyond the street lamps and surrounding buildings. Don't imagine a picturesque scene.
Massimo was a very smiley and helpful host. The list of restaurants provided was useful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic. Stayed here in August with 3 friends. The staff could not be more helpful. The rooms basic but modern and very clean. The pool quite and relaxing. A perfect base to explore the islands. My only criticism would be the coffee at breakfast, not great. The hotel is a five minute walk from the main shopping street of Lipari but the staff run a very frequent minibus which is great in the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is the best experience we had over a 14 days tour through Southern Italy. The service and atmosphere was fantastic. Staff was so helpfull. We were there 4 days with our two kids (9 and 7) - and we all enjoyed it. Although a bit away from the main part of the town of Lipari, the walking distance i 12 minutes with kids, and you can always arrange with the Hotel's Shuttle Bus.

Room Tip: We had room 205 all four days - and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It’s a measure of a fine hotel that when you finally get round to reviewing it several months later the memory is still warm and fresh. The Borgo Eolie works on several levels. It is fabulous value for money and it’s great to find a relatively new hotel in Italy. The facilities are of good quality but it’s the extra level of service that makes this one a bit special. Most of the reviews have mentioned the shuttle bus which might seem a bit odd to someone who hasn’t stayed at the hotel. It’s not that the Borgo is so far from the action that you need the bus, it’s the fact that they will take and pick you up pretty well whenever you want. This is the ethos of the hotel, you’re on holiday, they will do what they can to make it easier and more enjoyable for you.
Lipari was fabulous, the Borgo Eolie, the icing on the cake. Do visit the other islands. But if you only have time to do one thing, go on the night trip to Stromboli. Magical.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Selected this hotel because it was rated #1 out of 35 on trip advisor & now I know why. What a beautiful, brand new, very comfortable hotel !! Rooms, service, breakfast all 5 stars !! I even went in the pool on October 9, 2012 !!
We only stayed 1 night. We are finishing breakfast as I write now, and plan to stay 3 nights next year with a Mallamaci Tour group !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got a very reasonable deal to spend our three nights on Lipari here. The room looked quite new and was very clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. I think there's also a pool but we didn't investigate it. The breakfast selection was very good; bread, cooked meats and cheese, croissants, jam, fruit and yogurts, even some scrambled eggs. They don't have a restaurant on site but there are arrangements with several local restaurants for discounts off their regular menus.

It is slightly out of the centre but there is a frequent free shuttle service provided by the hotel, to either to the port or to the nearest end of the pedestrianised main street. It's barely a ten minute walk from there but not a particularly scenic one so we made use of the pickup once or twice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Eolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Eolie Hotel

Address: C/da Mendolita, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 hotels in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Borgo Eolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Eolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.