We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views and rooms, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bougainville to your Saves list
Hotel Bougainville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Balestreri, 98055 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely views and rooms, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July 2013. The service was great right from my first email to assisting us with restaurant bookings before we arrived etc. Had dinner at Villa Liberty which was great.
Rooms are spacious and good aircon. Very quiet so got a great night's sleep. Breakfast similar to the rest of Sicily. Really helped to have a shuttle waiting when we got off the ferry.
Would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very cute and charming place. The room we had was very large and we had a very nice balcony with a great view. So great that they offer a shuttle to and from ferry. (You must call/email to let them know what time to pick you up.) The roof top terrace is a great gathering place with beautiful views. Giuseppe, the manager, is extremely helpful and very patient! He answered about 20 emails from me and was professional and kind each time. In person he was even more wonderful! The location to town was very short and walking is the best way. The rest of the staff were extremely helpful and very kind. Paolo (the driver, I think that's his name) is very kind and patient! Front desk help were all pleasant and helped with excursion set-up.
The only negative is that wifi is only available in the lobby. I almost took away one star but I believe they do deserve a 5 start. I just wish they would offer wifi in the rooms because sometimes the lobby was extremely hot and it was not fun doing work being that hot. Maybe that's why they don't have wifi in the rooms so that people don't have the ac on all the time.
I forgot to mention they don't have a pool but that didn't matter to me.

Otherwise a great hotel and great staff!

Room Tip: Before you check in make sure to look at your shower. Not all rooms have the same shower and the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Bougainville, and each time it has been the highlight of my visit to Sicily. The rooms are large, airy, and stylish. All amenities are up-to-date. The views from the terraces and patios are breathtaking. The breakfast is sumptuous and the staff could not be more welcoming or helpful. All in all, a stay at the Bougainville is a vacation in itself!

Room Tip: A room with a "vista del mare" is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Bougainville hotel is a lovely spot in the town of Lipari, one of the Aeolian Islands. They met the ferry to transport us and luggage to the hotel but the rest of the visit we walked the pleasant 5-10 minute walk to town. I lucked out with the most beautiful villa, a large covered porch, salon, and master bedroom with a wonderful draped bed and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. I felt like a queen!

The hotel staff, especially Guiseppe the manager, were very accomodating and breakfast was very nice. Attractive and clean. Great value and a great spot on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for # 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batesville va
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Bougainville with a group of 17 artists from the mid Atlantic for a stay of 5 days to recover from our whirl around norther Sicily. We all had the most marvelous time in the so thoughtfully created guest rooms with their beautiful tile floors and exquisite baths. The terraces were the perfect antidote to a group that was city weary. The breakfasts were the best we had in Sicily featuring a wide array of fruit and boiled eggs and much , much more. All the staff answered our every wish with prompt service and ready smiles. Guiseppe, the manager , was a dream to work with and he anticipated our every need. While the walk from dock is 10 minutes Guiseppe arranged that all our luggage be delivered to our rooms, before we could even imagine what to wear next. In addition the staff enabled us to have a couple of fare well parties as our group departed to the USA.
This is a beautiful property and it restores the weary as days pass in relaxed luxury.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for a sea view terrace room ---you will enjoy the parade of ferries as they come and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, very clean, the rooms are absolutely great and the staff including the manager and all the receptionists was very very nice and helpful. Breakfast is simple but much better than in other hotels in Italy and offers a nice variety of options. It is true that the hotel is a bit off center (about 8 to 10 minutes' walk) but the hotels offers shuttles to the harbor and also to the beach. The walk even becomes a nice one if you are after a big dinner or want to experience the local town a bit. We highly recommend to choose the hotel, it offers a very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first room with a garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Collected v quickly from the harbour on a baking hot day. The rooms are really excellent and the quality of the linen was superb (I personally don't know anything about it but travelling companion was wowed).
Breakfast was good - typical Italian with a few extra nice touches - Big choice of pastries.
The Bougainville is a 15 min walk from the harbour - very manageable once you know your way.
They say they will have a pool in the coming year and it will finish off this place really well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainville

Address: Via Balestreri, 98055 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bougainville 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bougainville is located in a privileged position a few hundred metres away from the historical centre, from the commercial port and from the beautiful Bay of Marina Lunga, and it is inmersed in a beautiful garden with typical Mediterranean Maquis Shrubland plants. The hotel has 35 large and bright rooms smartly and confortable furnished.The rooms are carefully taken care of down to the smallest details, the wall colours, the pickle-stained furniture and majolica floors evoke a sensation of freshness and relax. It has a wide hall , a well stocked bar and large terraces where you can enjoy delicious aperitifs in a peaceful atmosphere and enjoy the striking panorama. Services: internal restaurant " La Lampara " where you can taste typical dishes of Aeolian and Sicilian traditional cooking; panoramic breakfast room, cocktail-bar, room service, laundry, solarium, baby sitting, free internet point and connection wi-fi ( area hall ) free, private parking, garage, free shuttle bus transfer service in arrival and departure, free scheduled shuttle bus from/to the centre , swimming pool. The hotel has a convention with an external restaurant, same property "Al Pescatore" located in the square near the sea named Marina Corta, connected with a free shuttle service from/to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Lipari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.