We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza place-worth queueing for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Croce Del Sud Lignano

Pizzeria Croce Del Sud Lignano
Via Venezia, 27, 33054 Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy
390431 70 221
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza place-worth queueing for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes you have to wait in the queue for a table at peak times, a sure sign of a good place. But the food and wine is good, comes quickly and the service is excellent. Best pizza in Lignano and the staff are very helpful in catering for different (difficult) diets etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    158
    64
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“huge but tasteful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

nice and quality food for good price. the restaurant is one of the largest in Lignano Sabbiadoro, I think. but during the dinner you have to wait anyhow for 10-20-30 minutes to have a table.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lignano Pineta, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good budget choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

You get what you pay for. Ok food and fast and correct service - especially considering that it's almost always really over crowded. My pasta was good, nothing special though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza but long waiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found this pizzeria to be the best in Lignano, we visited it twice last year and twice this year, pizza was always perfect, wine (although no special brand) very tasty. The only negative is that despite it being very big and spacious, it is very popular and usually crowded (especially in the evenings) so sometimes people have to wait at the entrance to get a table (we had to, too, but we didn´t mind). Waiters were a complicated issue as some of them were accommodating and all smiles, the other ones nervous and unconcerned, both types always in a hurry because of (too) many guests who were always talking so although no music played, it was quite loud. Anyway, they serve one of the best pizzas I´ve ever eaten in Italy so I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A tourist's place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Lignano Sabbiadoro is the destination for our family's summer holiday for more than 15 years. During that time the Croce del Sud has become our daily source of excellent italian cuisine. No matter if you order pasta, pizza or seafood, everything tastes delicious.

The restaurant is fairly big so at peak season you may have to wait sometimes a bit longer for your meal, but we're always amazed how quick the servers are. Definitley not a secret little place, but I can reccomend it as one of the best places in Lignano.

My favourites are penne putanesca, cotze (mussles) or the pizza americana. Prices are ok.

TIP: all meals can be ordered also for take away directly at the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Croce Del Sud Lignano also viewed

Lignano Sabbiadoro, Province of Udine
Lignano Sabbiadoro, Province of Udine
 
Lignano Sabbiadoro, Province of Udine
Lignano Sabbiadoro, Province of Udine
 

Been to Pizzeria Croce Del Sud Lignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Croce Del Sud Lignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.