We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely,friendly family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Hotel Fortunella
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely,friendly family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful stay at Fortunella. Standards very high and you instantly feel the homely atmosphere of this family run hotel. Mamma & Papa cook the excellent Italian food.Salvatore & Grazia very attentive and friendly and efficient . it was lovely to be greeted every day with smiling faces and special thanks to our charming waitress Leila who was always smiling and never forgot the pepper!! great location & well located for local buses to villages&Pisa & Lucca and so cheap e.g 6.80 euros return to Lucca. Salvatore very kindly opened restaurant earlier for us for breakfast on day of departure . A bit more variety in packed breakfast I am sure would be appreciated but this is a minor detail. Long may these family hotels continue. Fortunella is a gem of a hotel with great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
83
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the wonderful Hotel Fortunella and it did not disappoint. Standards were still as high, an exceptionally clean hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful homely feel. All the staff were always on hand for any help you needed and Layla the waitress was so lovely and always had a friendly smile. The Fortunella is excellently situated for easy access to Pisa, Lucca, etc. The food was very good and we give our compliments to the Chef. The staff were always on hand and very attentive. The Fortunella may not be as handsome or striking as other larger hotels in the area, however, we personally feel this hotel is by far much superior and would highly recommend this little gem. We would like to thank Salvatore and his staff for their hard work and great service which gave us such a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 303 on the 3rd floor, the balcony was on the side of the hotel and we had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

the staff were friendly and spoke good english.the hotel was very clean.it was on a main road,good for buses but not so good for noise.lucca&pisa could be reached by bus.i would stay there again if i was in the area.the food was good,especially if you like pork&fish.the pasta dishes were excellent as you would expect in italy.if you are on the 4th floor the lift only goes to 3rd floor,there is no porter service so you have to take your cases up the stairs yourself.if you have an early start and miss breakfast,the packed lunch is poor,do your own.apart from this i would recommend it.if they could put those 2 things right i would give full marks.

Room Tip: if you dont mind taking your cases up 2 lots of stairs room 402 has a wonderfull balcony.room 307 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent a week at the Fortunella in August. As a lady travelling alone, the hotel staff were very welcoming, caring and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I stayed in a single room which was very comfortable, quite spacious and spotlessly clean - it was cleaned every day. The food was delicious and typically Italian. The starter buffet was excellent with so much choice. The location is ideal, a few minutes walk to the beach and also to the bus stops from which most places are easily reached.
I had a very enjoyable time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Fortunella for two weeks and for a 3 star rating this hotel is faultless. The rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard and are spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. Wifi is available for 4 euros for the entire stay ( and a great signal) and you can hire good quality bikes for 5 euros - again for your entire stay. We only had bed and breakfast which was very good. Many of the guests had booked half board but we prefer visiting local restaurants and these are plentiful within a few minutes walk.
This is a great family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble - they organised car hire for us, lent us travel guides and we're a daily source of information to make our holiday perfect.
The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach and they provide a discount for one of the lidos which again was of a high standard.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor . Balcony was great and had some sea view and a view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a very relaxing week. Hotel was super and staff extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Meals were delicious and freshly prepared, and all Italian! Rooms were cleaned quickly each day and if there was a problem it was sorted immediately. The good reviews we read prior to going all lived up to the expectations. Would recommend this hotel and will probably go back to it in the future. The hotel is also in a good position for local buses to other places and the beach was clean and close by too. All in all a fantastic week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed a week at this Hotel. The family Sorrentino and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellently prepared and of high quality.Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the inland towns and cities and it is very easy to get around on public transport.Lido Di Camaiore is very flat and has a wide promenade which stretches for miles in either direction. Finally Tuscany is one of the most loveliest places in Italy.
We certainly will visit hotel Fortunella once more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.