We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a quick 1-night stay and this place was perfect. 200 m from the beach and very accommodating staff. Rooms were clean and well appointed and they helped sort out parking for us. The only issue was that part way through the night, the a/c switched off (control went dead). Happened in both our rooms and subsequently at another hotel. Looked like a cost saving measure but impacted our ability to sleep well. As hotel is on a main road, we could not open the windows to compensate. So very nice hotel, but uncomfortable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel would be a bit quieter but then the view from the balcony wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent a lovely week at the Fortunella the family and staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was great, only 5 mins from the beach. Our bedroom was clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are spending our Holidays always in Italy ( 17 Years minimum one time per Year ). This Holiday was one of the best because of excellent Hotel. Since the Beginning You can feel, that People working in Hotel not only make a Job but really care about You. Always full information You need, perfectly Clean in Hotel, Restaurant excellent ( Frutti di Mare Mniam Mniam )... Only one thing was wrong: We had too short Holiday this Year!
P.S. Every Problem You have, every Ask You need - Salvatore will help.
Grazie Hotel Fortunella!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is advertised as 3 star, but i found it very pleasent. An ideal location a short walk from the beach front, which you need once youve had the four course meal at night!
The cuisine is Italian a very good antipasta buffet style, breaded mussels in the sheel, king prawns, salad, different meats etc. A pasta course every night was excellent, followed by a fish or meat course and then the desert!
The hotel was clean and well presented and the staff 'the family' very friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a [problem tell them striaght away. For example it is air conditioned, but controlled by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have travelled extensively and have never tried a small hotel before. Well to say it was first class is an understatement. You are greeted every morning with smiling faces, which makes you feel good, nothing is too much trouble. All the food is fresh and home cooked with plenty of choice. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. It is also in a very good position for the beach, local restaurants and bars. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, you will not regret your choice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a most enjoyable 2 weeks stay at the Hotel Fortunella. As others have said the staff were excellent & most helpful. They always tried their best to ensure everything you asked for was supplied without problems.

The rooms were perfectly clean & of a good size. Also reasonably comfortable, though the hot water was a little inconsistent from time to time. Having said that it wasn't a great problem.

Breakfast in the morning was continental style, but you could also ask for eggs cooked to your liking if you wished.

Dinner was at 7.30pm with all the guests eating at the same time, give or take a couple of minutes. It was a self service buffet style salad counter to start,then a served 2nd & main course, with dessert to finish. The meal courses were very "Italian" which we enjoyed & you had a choice of 2 different courses each evening.

We have seen all we wanted to see in the Region so it is unlikely we would return to the Fortunella, but I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying in Lido Di Camaoire.

We used the public transport when we were out & about which was always cheap & convenient.
The ladies in the Tourist Information were most help[ful making sure we had what we needed.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware the rooms were all much the same. There was a busy road at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are looking for a small family run hotel, spotlessly clean and with good food, look no further than the Hotel Fortunella. On arrival we were greeted by Salvatore and allocated room 401 on the top floor. This was a spacious twin room with double aspect views of the mountains, surrounding area and the sea. The hotel is perfectly situated for the beach and local bus stops are nearby. The whole family and staff are there to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are very obliging - so much so that on one occasion the Papa drove us to the local station to catch an early morning train. The breakfast and evening meals provided were of a high standard, the antipasti buffet in particular was extremely good. Don't expect potatoes with the main course! (the carbohydrate being provided in the pasta/rice course). We usually choose to stay in family run hotels and the Hotel Fortunella is one of the best. The hotel could benefit from (1) providing tables on the balconies; (2) providing a couple of sunbeds on the small roof terrace and (3) perhaps some fresh fruit at the breakfast buffet. These points are suggestions only and not complaints. We would definately recommend this excellent small family run hotel. We were independant travellers, not a package tour.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.