We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“1st Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have travelled extensively and have never tried a small hotel before. Well to say it was first class is an understatement. You are greeted every morning with smiling faces, which makes you feel good, nothing is too much trouble. All the food is fresh and home cooked with plenty of choice. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. It is also in a very good position for the beach, local restaurants and bars. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, you will not regret your choice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a most enjoyable 2 weeks stay at the Hotel Fortunella. As others have said the staff were excellent & most helpful. They always tried their best to ensure everything you asked for was supplied without problems.

The rooms were perfectly clean & of a good size. Also reasonably comfortable, though the hot water was a little inconsistent from time to time. Having said that it wasn't a great problem.

Breakfast in the morning was continental style, but you could also ask for eggs cooked to your liking if you wished.

Dinner was at 7.30pm with all the guests eating at the same time, give or take a couple of minutes. It was a self service buffet style salad counter to start,then a served 2nd & main course, with dessert to finish. The meal courses were very "Italian" which we enjoyed & you had a choice of 2 different courses each evening.

We have seen all we wanted to see in the Region so it is unlikely we would return to the Fortunella, but I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying in Lido Di Camaoire.

We used the public transport when we were out & about which was always cheap & convenient.
The ladies in the Tourist Information were most help[ful making sure we had what we needed.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware the rooms were all much the same. There was a busy road at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are looking for a small family run hotel, spotlessly clean and with good food, look no further than the Hotel Fortunella. On arrival we were greeted by Salvatore and allocated room 401 on the top floor. This was a spacious twin room with double aspect views of the mountains, surrounding area and the sea. The hotel is perfectly situated for the beach and local bus stops are nearby. The whole family and staff are there to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are very obliging - so much so that on one occasion the Papa drove us to the local station to catch an early morning train. The breakfast and evening meals provided were of a high standard, the antipasti buffet in particular was extremely good. Don't expect potatoes with the main course! (the carbohydrate being provided in the pasta/rice course). We usually choose to stay in family run hotels and the Hotel Fortunella is one of the best. The hotel could benefit from (1) providing tables on the balconies; (2) providing a couple of sunbeds on the small roof terrace and (3) perhaps some fresh fruit at the breakfast buffet. These points are suggestions only and not complaints. We would definately recommend this excellent small family run hotel. We were independant travellers, not a package tour.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Fortunella, we found the hotel spotless, a very comfortable room, food varied and a very good standard. Being a family run business we found all the staff extremely friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel location is central to the bus services which we used easily. We hope to visit Lido di Camaiore again this year and if they have the availability we would not hesitate to stay at the Fortunella.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel Fortunella is a small, family run hotel near the beach. The buses run every hour. You can get bus tickets and train timetables from the TOURIST INFORMATION in Colombo Street, for the different places. Bus to Pisa is the one that terminates at the Airport and takes 50 minutes to Pisa from Colombo St. Bus to Viareggio takes about 10 minutes from Colombo Street. There you can take the train to FLORENCE (Firenze) The ride takes 1 hour and 40 minutes from platform 6. The train ticket is 9 Euros each way. Bus to Lucca lovely little medieval town you get it diagonal to the hotel and the journey is 1 hour. VIAREGGIO has better transport links, with the train station and different buses.
BARS: SIRENA bar is straight down the road towards the seafront , does breakfast, lunch and cocktails and ice creams. You get 2 bowls of nibbles whenever you have alcoholic drinks.
GIOGIA bar straight down the road, turn right 60 yards from Sirena bar offer light lunches, drinks
with nibbles and the best and cheapest ice cream sundaes. Try the "Copa Amaretto" hazelnut ice cream, amoretti biscuits, amaretto liquor and whipped cream, heavenly, yummy. Hope you enjoy getting around Tuscany

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staff at the Fortunella really make the difference!
Everybody at the hotel is really friendly, and this is the first thing you notice once upon arrival at the hotel. The location is great for sea lovers, The hotel was able to recommend some great places to visit , the owners was so attentive, you felt at home.
The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean.
It combines family feeling and high quality standards.
We had dinner at the hotel every night, the food was great! The prices reasonable,
I would definitly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very nice hotel and staff! Stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Viareggio. During the days out on the bicycle... Visited a bicyclestore, vineyard and of course Pisa. Thunderstorms when we where in Pisa, so there where NOT the best for us that wanted to take pictures on the Tower!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.