We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are looking for a small family run hotel, spotlessly clean and with good food, look no further than the Hotel Fortunella. On arrival we were greeted by Salvatore and allocated room 401 on the top floor. This was a spacious twin room with double aspect views of the mountains, surrounding area and the sea. The hotel is perfectly situated for the beach and local bus stops are nearby. The whole family and staff are there to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are very obliging - so much so that on one occasion the Papa drove us to the local station to catch an early morning train. The breakfast and evening meals provided were of a high standard, the antipasti buffet in particular was extremely good. Don't expect potatoes with the main course! (the carbohydrate being provided in the pasta/rice course). We usually choose to stay in family run hotels and the Hotel Fortunella is one of the best. The hotel could benefit from (1) providing tables on the balconies; (2) providing a couple of sunbeds on the small roof terrace and (3) perhaps some fresh fruit at the breakfast buffet. These points are suggestions only and not complaints. We would definately recommend this excellent small family run hotel. We were independant travellers, not a package tour.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Fortunella, we found the hotel spotless, a very comfortable room, food varied and a very good standard. Being a family run business we found all the staff extremely friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel location is central to the bus services which we used easily. We hope to visit Lido di Camaiore again this year and if they have the availability we would not hesitate to stay at the Fortunella.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel Fortunella is a small, family run hotel near the beach. The buses run every hour. You can get bus tickets and train timetables from the TOURIST INFORMATION in Colombo Street, for the different places. Bus to Pisa is the one that terminates at the Airport and takes 50 minutes to Pisa from Colombo St. Bus to Viareggio takes about 10 minutes from Colombo Street. There you can take the train to FLORENCE (Firenze) The ride takes 1 hour and 40 minutes from platform 6. The train ticket is 9 Euros each way. Bus to Lucca lovely little medieval town you get it diagonal to the hotel and the journey is 1 hour. VIAREGGIO has better transport links, with the train station and different buses.
BARS: SIRENA bar is straight down the road towards the seafront , does breakfast, lunch and cocktails and ice creams. You get 2 bowls of nibbles whenever you have alcoholic drinks.
GIOGIA bar straight down the road, turn right 60 yards from Sirena bar offer light lunches, drinks
with nibbles and the best and cheapest ice cream sundaes. Try the "Copa Amaretto" hazelnut ice cream, amoretti biscuits, amaretto liquor and whipped cream, heavenly, yummy. Hope you enjoy getting around Tuscany

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staff at the Fortunella really make the difference!
Everybody at the hotel is really friendly, and this is the first thing you notice once upon arrival at the hotel. The location is great for sea lovers, The hotel was able to recommend some great places to visit , the owners was so attentive, you felt at home.
The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean.
It combines family feeling and high quality standards.
We had dinner at the hotel every night, the food was great! The prices reasonable,
I would definitly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very nice hotel and staff! Stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Viareggio. During the days out on the bicycle... Visited a bicyclestore, vineyard and of course Pisa. Thunderstorms when we where in Pisa, so there where NOT the best for us that wanted to take pictures on the Tower!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I only tend to write reviews on hotels that are exceptionaly good or extremely bad.

The Hotel Fortunella is definately the former.

From the moment we arrived we were given the friendliest warm welcome by the whole family who own and run this hotel.

Our room was absolutely spotless which is hardly surprising considering how thorough the cleaners were. A hair dryer . free safe and fridge made the room very comfortable

The food was terrific especially the evening meal that was all "home made " type cooking and staring with a great buffet antepasta.

It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would recomend it to anyone.


Thanks to Mr Sorrentino, his son Salvatre . daughter Grazia and to their great waitress Elaina for a fantastic stay.


Graham and Brenda.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front which did get a bit of traffic noise , which didn`t bother me at all and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday staying at the Hotel Fortunella. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable albeit a little noisy at night from the traffic. The food was of a very good quality with a superb buffet breakfast including cereal, eggs, cooked meats, cheese and pastries/cake. The evening meal consisted of an antipasti buffet starter, pasta or soup course followed by meat/fish course and then a dessert.

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the inland towns and cities and it is very easy to get around on public transport. We visited Camaiore, Pisa and Lucca by bus and Florence by train. The fares for both were very reasonable - 8 euro each way per person to Florence by train.

Lido Di Camaiore is very flat and has a wide promenade which stretches for miles in either direction. There is also a bicycle lane. At the weekend there were stalls along the promenade selling various goods. There are also restaurants, bars, cafes and ice-cream parlours all along the promenade.

We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel - it was excellent value for money and idealy situated for both the coast or exploring inland Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore
Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.