We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Hotel Fortunella
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for a week in Sept and we found this wonderful gem of a hotel. The staff were helpful & friendly, the food was excellent and the location fantastic. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms very comfortable. Salvatore was a super manager and made us feel very welcome and was always helpful. Hotel hire bikes were great and it was lovely to cycle along the long promonade. Easy to get the train from Viareggio and travelled to Lucca, which was a lovely place and Pisa. Train travel very easy to use. We took the Thomson tours for Siena & Florence, both which were fabulous, Ricardo was a great tourguide in Florence. Great bar at the top of the road from the hotel called Sirena and the private beach - which the hotel gives you a discount on was excellent and very clean. We will definately be returning to this hotel in the future. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We returned 22.9.12 from a weeks stay at this hotel. Throughout our stay we were made to feel welcome & nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless & comfortable; we did find the traffic noise a little disturbing, but we are both light sleepers & used to living in the quiet countryside! Breakfasts were very good; these included cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, cheese, ham, cakes & pastries etc. Dinners always included a very good antipaster buffet, followed by either a pasta dish or home made soup. Mains always had fish and a meat choice. Dessert choice was limited, ususally icecream, but we did have pastries & tiramisu too. Dinner is served at 7.30pm with no flexibility, but we were quite happy with this.
The hotel is well situated for the excellent beach facilities & access to other shops & bars. Bus stops nearby provide access to nearby towns including Lucca. Trains to Florence are available from Viareggio, & the hotel kindly arranged a taxi to get us there to catch the early morning train.
Overall we enjoyed our stay & found it to be a comfortable base. It offers good value for money & would recommend it to anyone wanting to combine a coastal holiday with the opportunity to visit the lovely cities & countryside nearby.

Room Tip: higher floors at the back or side of the hotel should be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in on our travels. This family run hotel offers a personal touch that we have not seen in some 5 star hotels, nothing was too much trouble. Room was comfortable, food was good and the atmosphere was always warm and friendly. Tremendous view of the mountains and only a short walk to the beach, we couldn't have chosen a better location if we tried. For us the only fault was we couldn't stay longer. A huge thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recommend this very comfortable clean & friendly family run hotel, with excellent home cooked food situated 150m from the beach in a very pleasant area.
Public transport very accessible also bicycles at the hotel (free of charge).
This will be our third visit this year, always a pleasure to return to this hotel.

Jean & Anthony, Herne Bay, Kent, uk

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast and evening meals were excellent-fresh food with lots of choice.
The location of the hotel is ideal, it is close to the beach but not too noisy.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having just spent a week at the Fortunella we found it to be great value, welcoming and thoroughly pleasent. Salvatore and Family were most gracious, treating all guests as Family not just a room number. Nothing was too much trouble. Situated in a central area just a short walk to the seafront. The food was home cooked, varied and well prepared. The only regret is that the evening meal is at a set time of 7-30pm. We would recommend this hotel to our friend and family.

Room Tip: side rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Tuscany at the end of May. The hotel is a small family run hotel with excellent service and very clean and well kept. The meals (both dinner and breakfast) were really enjoyable.
The hotel is in an excellent location (a small walk down to the beach), and the resort itself is again lovely and clean with a nice sandy beach, perfect for swimining in.
We were also able to do day trips to both Florence and Sienna from location.
We would definatley return to this hotel. It was a brilliant holiday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#3 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.