We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JoyandJohn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fortunella to your Saves list
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“JoyandJohn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having just spent a week at the Fortunella we found it to be great value, welcoming and thoroughly pleasent. Salvatore and Family were most gracious, treating all guests as Family not just a room number. Nothing was too much trouble. Situated in a central area just a short walk to the seafront. The food was home cooked, varied and well prepared. The only regret is that the evening meal is at a set time of 7-30pm. We would recommend this hotel to our friend and family.

Room Tip: side rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Tuscany at the end of May. The hotel is a small family run hotel with excellent service and very clean and well kept. The meals (both dinner and breakfast) were really enjoyable.
The hotel is in an excellent location (a small walk down to the beach), and the resort itself is again lovely and clean with a nice sandy beach, perfect for swimining in.
We were also able to do day trips to both Florence and Sienna from location.
We would definatley return to this hotel. It was a brilliant holiday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at Fortunella Hotel which is a small family run hotel. Room was spotlessly clean, food was excellent and hospitality was superb. Location is ideal for travelling to Pisa, Lucca and Florence by bus or train. You can even hire bicycles from the hotel & cycle for miles along the lovely flat promenade cycle path or weave your way though the residential streets. We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in may 2012. Found staff very helpful and hotel very clean. Not a fan of the fixed time evening meal but we were aware of this beforehand so was ok. Liked the small fridge in room and free safes. We had top floor and nice views. Salvatore and all his family are most welcoming and make you feel at ease. Only dislike was no tea or coffee facilities in room. Overall a nice neat compact hotel that is value for money. Bus and train services very good and fairly priced. Resort very flat and good for walking. Was a little annoyed buy the pricing at restaurants. We paid 5 euro for a pizza in Pisa and it cost us 6 euros to sit down and eat it. Coffee shown at one price and charged at another because we had milk and when we asked if there was a cover charge some staff would say no then when bill arrived there was cover charge and no sign of staff who said no cover charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week in Tuscany staying at the Hotel Fortunella in Lido di Camaoire
A smallish hotel ably managed by the most accomodating and helpful Salvatore (who had superb English learnt in Canterbury!) together with the help of what appeared to be his entire extended family, all of whom were welcoming and friendly..
Our bedroom on the top floor was great. Being on the corner of the building the balcony had a lovely view of the mountains to one side, colourful rooftops to the other and the sea at the end of the road. Faultless.
Our double bed was actually 2 singles made into one but was pretty comfy, although the plastic sheet under the cotton one (the bain of lots of places) did make it quite hot. The duvet was wonderful, possibly duck down? - cool and light but snuggly!
There was a good size wardrobe and a spotlessly clean shower room.
The road, although not busy, was a little noisy at night but by closing the window shutters the problem was soon sorted.
The hotel served a very good comprehensive continental breakfast with cooked eggs on request. Evening meal was again very good with a good antipasta buffet table and then 3 course supper waiter served. My only criticism of the food was the dessert - the daily 'chef's surprise' was not up to the standard of the other main courses - tinned fruit and icecream, but not having a sweet tooth this was not an issue, just did not eat it - too full up anyway from the rest of the meal!
Whilst we were there (late May) the resort, which is a huge flat promenade was pretty dead although most bars and restaurants were open there were not many people around. Considering the enormous amount of eateries it must get pretty busy in the summer, apparently mainly italian daytrippers and holidaymakers.
The beach, which is glorious and vast is mainly privately owned by indidvidual 'clubs' and their cost is pretty much prohibiitve to be able to use them everyday. There was a small public area of beach which is free and although it did not have the showers, bar, loos etc that the 'club' beaches have it was more than acceptable.
We used public transport to get around the area which is very reasonable, reliable and straightforward. Get a bus to lovely Pisa or glamorous Florence or delightful Lucca (my favourite) or a bus into nearby Viareggio (or walk it) and then train to the cities. It is not so easy to use public transport to Sienna and San Gimigiano so we took the Thomson tour- very expensive and pretty poor rep. with limited fluent English and lots of hanging around. On the other hand both towns are beautiful so it was a means to an end.
Finally, go to Tuscany, one of the most loveliest places in Europe, enjoy the sun, amazing cities, towns and villages and fantastic food and wine and do stay at the delightful Fortunella.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed at the Fortunella, May 5th to 12th 2012. Immeadiately upon arrival we were given a warm welcome by front of house person Salvatore. We were given room 401 which was fantastic , because we had views of both the sea and the mountains. The room and bathroom were good sizes with plenty of wardrobe space.This is a small family run hotel with mum and dad doing the cooking and brother and sister doing the waiting, reception and bar. However the real gem of the hotel is the high standard of food. The evening meal began with a wide choice of antipasta options.This was followed by a first course of either soup or pasta and a main course of meat or fish. The flavours were terrific and was as good as any food we have tasted in a hotel. Throughout our stay the family were very attentive to our needs and went out of their way to be helpful. We would definitely return to the Fortunella.

Room Tip: Go for 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed at the Fortunella the last week of September, as part of a package deal with Thomson.

In the past I have stayed at quite a few places that have had mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and have generally been pleasantly surprised. I have to say that having seen how highly the hotel was rated out of the hotels in Lido Di Camaiore, and with all the glowing reviews from previous guests, my expectations about the place were sky-high, and this probably needs to be taken into account when reading my review; If I had had no preconceptions about the place before I stayed there, I would probably have thought that it was fairly decent, but I am disappointed to say that it didn't quite match what I was hoping for.

LOCATION

Tuscany is a fantastic place to have a holiday with no end of sights to visit. We were only there a week and did some kind of trip every day, but could quite easily have stayed much longer and still not seen everything there is to see. The hotel was well placed for independent sightseeing with local buses to Pisa and Lucca only a few minutes away and trains to further afield from Viareggio. Having said that, if I went again I think I would aim to stay in Viareggio itself for easier access to the train station (buses from Lido Di Camaiore to the train station only ran once an hour and the taxis were quite expensive - 15 Euros for a 20 minute taxi journey compared to 13 Euros return on the train from Viareggio to Florence !).

ROOM

Our room was at the front of the hotel and it was nice enough - spacious and spotlessly clean (if maybe a bit basic) with a balcony you could sit out on. The fridge in the room was a welcome bonus and we made sure we stocked this up with a few beers from the local shop. The two small twin beds we had weren't that comfortable however, and the big issue, as others have pointed out, is the noise from the main road outside. We were lucky that the weather we had at the end of September was really hot (about 30 degrees every day), but that did mean that with no air conditioning (more on this later !) it got quite hot in the room at night, so we had no choice but to keep the windows open and so got lots of noise from the road. It’s a main road so there are quite a few buses, lorries etc going up and down (seemingly all night) and it didn't make for a very good night's sleep (this also wasn't helped by a large Austrian tour group who left at about 6 a.m. one morning and thought it fine to shout their heads off while they were leaving - cheers !).

FOOD

Again, from the reviews, I was expecting Jamie Oliver style culinary delights, and don't get me wrong, for half board, it was pretty decent, but my main issues were that (a) you have to eat at 7:30, take it or leave it and (b) it certainly isn't a leisurely affair - the staff seemed bent on getting you in and out of the dining room as quickly as possible. Considering that with the anti pasti buffet it’s a four course meal, you would normally be done and dusted by 8:30 p.m. Also the quality varied a bit during our stay. With the aforementioned Austrians in for a few nights, the food seemed to go downhill a bit and then pick up after they left (when there were fewer people in the hotel). As someone else mentioned, there seemed to be quite a lot of either fish or veal on the menu, and many of the deserts were a bit of an anti-climax (e.g. a small bowl of what appeared to be tinned fruit salad, or a couple of small scoops of ice cream - I don't think Jamie Oliver will be calling it a day just yet).

STAFF

The staff at the hotel were pleasant enough, but again I'd read in previous reviews how they couldn't do enough for you, but we didn't really find this to be the case. For example, with the warm conditions and the problems with noise if we opened the window in our room, we politely asked Salvatore (the manager) if we could have the air conditioning on, seeing as there was a unit in the room. "No, sorry not working" was the reply, with no further explanation, so we asked if they might have a fan we could borrow - again "No, sorry" and that was it. We also asked about using the bikes that the hotel advertised in its own leaflet and again it was "No sorry we don't have any". Not sure if this was due to the time of year (the hotel closes for the winter in the first week of October and the whole resort appeared to be in the process of shutting down while we were there), but I couldn't help feeling that we were sort of just getting the brush off because they couldn't be bothered.

So to sum up I would say that Tuscany is a great place to visit, and the hotel is nice enough. I think maybe either our expectations were too high or we just came at the wrong time (i.e. the end of the season). It sounds like lots of other people have stayed at the Fortunella and absolutely loved it, and I hope that if you go you get the same experience, but for our stay there I think 3 out of 5 is a fair rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.