We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stunning view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandHotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GrandHotel Riviera to your Saves list
GrandHotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in May, getting a really good off-season rate. Due to the early season, the hotel was actually undergoing some works, but this did not bother at all our staying. The building from the outside looks quite old-fashioned, as it is for the lobby and the bar/restaurant area, certainly in need of a bit of renovation (which seems to be already planned from what we heard). On the other hand, most part of the rooms have been recently refurbished and they fully meet what you would expect from a 4 stars hotel. The other good side of the early season was that we could pick our favourite room, a corner deluxe on the top floor. The room was quite big (especially for italian standard), with modern light furniture, comfy bed and hardwood floor. The bathroom was also big and spotless clean, with separate shower and even a jacuzzi nicely settled under the window. The real plus of the deluxe rooms on the top floors are the balconies, with stunning views of the beach on the west side and of the spectacular mountains on the east side. The room has a good size closet with electronic safe, working table (free wi-fi is provided), minibar and TV offering a good range of sat channels including SKY TV.
The only minor improving I could suggest to make it perfect: offer bathrobes and slippers, better and bigger towels, higher quality bedsheets and change the old blanket with a more comfortable light duvet.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is standard quality for an italian hotel (which means that could be easily improved offering a choice of hot dishes and more fresh fruits and juices), anyway everything was good and the waiters always smiling and helpful.
The kindness of the hotel staff is another positive aspect, with a special mention for the wonderful Sandra at the front-desk.
The swimming-pool is not really big but it was nice for me to have a comfy sunbed, as the season was still too windy for the beach. Another suggestion that I could make is to offer to the guests some bikes, as in this area it is really nice to ride along the beach promenade.
Overall a great staying, we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the top floors are big and have nice balconies with stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just back from a week at the Grand Hotel and Riviera. The Hotel is centrally located with public transport outside the door which takes you on a return trip to Pisa Airport. The views from the hotel are stunning, from our shower we could view the Tuscan Mountains and from the room, we had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool.
The staff are polite and professional. The rooms are spacious and very clean (cleaned daily). The rooms are equipped with blackout blinds and excellent air conditioning.
The hotel has a nice pool with lots of loungers and towels available.
Breakfast caters for most tastes and the staff are very helpful. The restaurant and bar are expensive, this is pretty much the only fault but the area as a whole is expensive.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor ... a large corner rooms with amazing views and lots of space. Room 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have just returned from a week staying in this Hotel. I found the staff very helpful, special thanks to the Blonde Lady on reception whom I found to be very helpful and kind. The waiting staff were very attentive and as I was with a large group of over 50 Irish on a Travel Department Holiday they coped very well.
The waiting staff also worked behind the bar and I found them to be very cheerful and helpful.
I really enjoyed the HUGO cocktail.
The Hotel is in a fantastic location with beautiful views of the sea, I could actually hear the waves crashing on the beach from my bedroom.
This is a great Hotel with nice food in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Room 405 is a fantastic double with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife, sister and brother in law were looking for a 2 bedroom place near Viareggio and this place came up on our search. I was already a bit taken aback by the 300 euro a night price tag but the photos looked ok and the pool looked great.

When we checked in there was only one bedroom not two as advertised. This might suit a family with two small children, not 4 adults as we were. The promise of free wireless internet was useless as there was no available connections to the wifi for the entire time we were there. Reception were extremely unhelpful in resolving this issue saying the signal strength was weak. The Wifi signal was fine and I could connect to it, but there were simply no available connections. I would guess that there would be no more than 20 connections available to the WIFI at any point in time. The shower leaked as well and every time someone had a shower, water would come out from the side wall.

The only saving grace was the pool and the location. The pool was extremely well maintained and the location was right next to the beach with lots of restaurants and bars in the close vicinity.

If I had my time over again, I would rather stay back in viareggio at a better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a very large room with the most amazing views. The resort is expensive and the Hotel bar prices are similar to the surrounding bars for price. Food was good Italian food, plenty of choice, served nicely. The hotel is very elegant, very comfy beds and handy for the beech and peir. Buses are regular and stop near the hotel, there is an information office close by and we found them very helpful. Lots to see in the area, Pisa and Lucca are both a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, very spacious but no balcony, good views even from the bathroom. A couple we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My room was spacious and spotlessly clean. However, sleep quality was very poor because the walls are paper thin and televisions, conversations etc. can be heard quite clearly from adjoining rooms. I agree with the comments from other reviewers concerning the unappetising food.We travelled with a large group and unfortunately we were on half board. The waiters were an unhappy lot, surly and quite disinterested in their job, with one exception a pleasant and friendly waitress.The location is excellent for trips to Pisa and the unmissable Lucca, with frequent bus and train services. The tourist office is located in the Via Colombo behind the hotel and the staff there are very helpful and pleasant. Would I return to this hotel? Definitely not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is supposed to be a 4star but food wise it did not live up to that at all., The food got gradually worse throughout the week, baked cheese that was so runny you could not cut it with a knife and fork, fried chicken "Tuscan style", that was just like KFC, horrible and not even cooked properly inside, another night we had fried fish but it was just like a fish and chip shop piece of cod, in batter and not very tasty!! Walking with the waiter to choose a dessert was not my idea of table service at all. Salad starter was OK when there was any left!! Breakfast OK, just normal. Hotel was clean but no pool attendant while we were there and I did not see anyone clean the pool. Bar staff and Reception friendly, good location BUT I would not return to this hotel because of the food, after all Tuscany is renowned for its food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandHotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandHotel Riviera

Address: Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandHotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your GrandHotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandHotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.