We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disappointing for Tuscany” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GrandHotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GrandHotel Riviera to your Saves list
GrandHotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Milton Keynes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Food disappointing for Tuscany”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is supposed to be a 4star but food wise it did not live up to that at all., The food got gradually worse throughout the week, baked cheese that was so runny you could not cut it with a knife and fork, fried chicken "Tuscan style", that was just like KFC, horrible and not even cooked properly inside, another night we had fried fish but it was just like a fish and chip shop piece of cod, in batter and not very tasty!! Walking with the waiter to choose a dessert was not my idea of table service at all. Salad starter was OK when there was any left!! Breakfast OK, just normal. Hotel was clean but no pool attendant while we were there and I did not see anyone clean the pool. Bar staff and Reception friendly, good location BUT I would not return to this hotel because of the food, after all Tuscany is renowned for its food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
43
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Hotel was ok, the rooms was clean and quite large. We had booked with a travel agent and were assured that we're have a room with a balcony. What we got was a room on the first floor with a tThe food was continenal for breakfast but the evening meal was a bit differant, it consisted of a salad buffet and three courses which are best described as two starters and a desert just basic food. Be aware of taxis they are extremely expensive I took a taxi to the train station from the hotel and it cost €18 travelling 1.5 km, I found out later the bus stops at the back of the hotel and it cost €1.60, trains and buses are very rellible and cheap and travel to all the major cities and surrounding areas best by far but dont forget to validate your tickets before entering trains, on the buses you validate on the bus. Buy your bus tickets in advance at the bus station or tobaconists shops there valid until you use them.

Room Tip: Book the 5th floor with a balconey, and a frount view from the hotel loking sat the sea all the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel staff quite accommodating. We were told about free parking areas a few streets removed from the hotel that worked very well for us.
Our corner room was huge and had a splendid ocean view. Furnishings were modern, spare but sufficient with very comfortable king bed.
Breakfast was pretty bad - packaged foods, no fresh juices, uninspired coffee -
When we discovered there were no chaise lounges at poolside, the pool manager went with us and removed towels from unused lounges. Perhaps the hotel wasn't full but we thought the pool adequately sized.
Go a block behind the hotel to via Colombo. Turn left and walk about 3 blocks until you come to a seafood restaurant on the left. Cannot find the card with the restaurant name but we had about the best meal ever there, served nicely in a funky looking Alpine setting. Reason enough to return to Lido!

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the Grand after booking on line and paid 230.00 euros per room per night. Quite a lot even for the location and considering it was the height of the season. The check in was friendly and the room on the corner of the the third floor was lovely with beautiful views of the promenade and the pier. Nice and quiet with the double glazed windows closed so we could not hear the traffic. Air conditioning was very good and not too noisy. The housekeeping was very good and the room was kept beautifully clean and tidy for the time we were there.

However, the restaurant was a real disappointment. The staff were surly, unhelpful and the choice at breakfast was , frankly, miserable. It was definitely not in line with a 4 star hotel. Poor choice and very average quality. It felt old-fashioned and cheap.A real let down as the rest of the hotel was nice, and especially in Italy where they take such pride in their food. If you can get a rate without breakfast it would be better value. There are plenty of places very close by to eat so not a problem.

The resort is very nice, clean and friendly but very family oriented so if you are a not child minded then maybe this is not for you.

Would we return ? To Camaiore yes, but not sure we would stay in this hotel again unless they improve their breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor corner room , it has double aspect windows and lovely views, very good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here for a week in August.

A lovely clean hotel, the majority of staff were pleasant, friendly and accommodating.
We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the back of the hotel, nice view of the mountains but beware of the noise from the main road, this did not stop all night!!

As a previous reviewer commented there are not enough loungers by the pool. We tended to go out in the morning and return in the afternoon to have time by the pool. However loungers were not always available, sometimes due to people leaving their towels on them and not always returning. (A good point, pool towels are supplied by the hotel and there was always a good clean supply.)

Food was good quality and nicely presented, although after four or five days the choice became a little repetitive. Waiting staff in general were pleasant, although some could be a little brusque!

A lovely clean, vibrant resort, although the system of sunloungers on the beach was strange and vastly over priced. Made us wonder if this system actually works as there never seemed to be anyone on them and yet the tiny bit of free beach was, in total contrast,over populated!

The tourist information office is situated right behind the hotel as are the bus stops and this was a brilliant way to explore the region. The staff in the tourist office were exceptionally helpful and the buses easy to negotiate, we visited both Pisa and Lucca this way. Lucca is a definate must see, a delightful Italian town full of character.

For a lunchtime snack visit Punto Pizza, a short walk up the promenade to the North on the opposite side. Friendly staff and amazing pizza at only 2 euros a slice, can be eaten in or taken away.

Generally a nice area of Italy to explore but I would be tempted to stay in Viarregio next time.

Room Tip: Back rooms tend to havea lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Have just returned from a week's stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera. First time in the resort of Lido Di Camaiore, but stayed two years ago in neighbouring Viarregio at the President Hotel (although both officially four star, the President is by far the superior hotel out of the two). On the plus side, the Grand was clean, comfortable & the staff were friendly, (especially in the restaurant). On the minus, food was not really up to standard. Breakfast was a bit hit & miss, not an awful lot to choose from really. Dinner was mediocre & although the custom of walking with the waiter/waitress to the dessert table was charming, it was an anti-climax to get there & find limited choice once again. Our room on the fifth floor was nice, a balcony with a great view, but our two daughter's were in a twin on the first floor & this room was small, dim & a bit tired looking, as were some of the public areas around the hotel. Our Thomson rep was lovely, very friendly but not with much experience of the area really. Again, comparing it to our recent stay at the President, our rep there was so much more knowledgable. We had a terrible excursion to Cinque Terrea which was supposed to have included a boat & train trip - we were unable to do either because the trains were on strike & the water was too rough for the boat! (tour guide had knowledge of this on setting out). Did feel that the excursion should have been cut short with maybe a half day refund, but instead we were shunted around all over the place really, even herded onto public buses which were absolutely stuffed full of people, very hot & uncomfortable. Tour guide (again lovely as she was) appeared to be making it up as she went along, not really good enough.

Hotel aside, we could not fault the resort apart from the astronomical cost of sunbeds on the beach where the rate seemed to change on a daily basis! The location is perfect for reaching the wonderful Florence, Pisa & Lucca where we had lovely days out. Cycling is great with cycle paths stretching from the Marina in Viarregio all the way up to the resort of Forte Di Marmi. On our last night (Friday) there were tents set-up all along the promenade selling crafts, clothes, bags, shoes, & jewellery along with street entertainers which gave it a real carnival atmosphere. Very family orientated and distinctly Italian.

Overall, we did enjoy our holiday but this was more down to our own ability to shrug-off disappointments & get on with having a good time. Would definitely go back to Lido Di Camaiore again but alas, would not stay at the Grand.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Although built in 1920 the hotel has been updated to a fair standard but some of the rooms are quite small. The room next to ours looked like a cupboard has been turned into a shower cubicle. Corner rooms are quite spacious and views above 2nd floor are quite good. The hotel is kept very clean but decor in places is dated.
Self Service Breakfast is adequate but you have to wait for hot food to be replenished, in our 7 days there was not much variation. Breakfast starts at 7:30 but the "chef" doesn't start till 8:00. Last day early breakfast to catch flight was refused.
Dinner menu is kept secret until you are seated and although the food is varied it's not very good. Waiters are allocated to tables and if all the guests for your waiter eat at the same time there can be quite a wait between courses especially the time you wait to be escorted to select your desert.
Pool is too small for size of hotel, only early risers will get a sunbed, 80+ rooms approx' 30 sunbeds. Free beach ok but no deckchairs if you want that luxury it's between 20 to 30 euros per day in the pay section.
Travel access by bus and then train is very good and it's easy to plan your own trips to Pisa, Lucca & Florence etc.
Would we go to this area of Italy again, Yes, to this hotel No.

Room Tip: Balconies are not worth the extra but corner rooms with sea view are
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lido Di Camaiore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandHotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandHotel Riviera

Address: Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandHotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your GrandHotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandHotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.