We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boot Camp at the Beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bracciotti

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bracciotti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bracciotti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Colombo 366, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Boot Camp at the Beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We tried to book ourselves a double room in this hotel online, a month before travelling to Italy. The website was not user-friendly, and we should have taken this as a sign of things to come. There was no way to pay online, and when we phoned the hotel they were unable to process our credit card number—even though they were successful with the same card at our actual check-in later. They also asked that we fax or mail them copies of our ‘documents’ (passports), which we refused to do, saying this had never before been asked of us when booking a hotel room abroad. We would give them that information when we arrived, as had been the practice for us countless of times before, at other European hotels.

We arrived on a Saturday, for a five-night stay. There were two women at the Reception Desk, one of whom appeared to be the Manager. We were given a double room, on the second floor, facing the busy and noisy Viale Columbo, instead of one facing the ocean. When we enquired about better options, the Manager reminded us, with an air approaching smugness, that this was the room we had 'contracted' in our e-mail, and we were referred to the agreed-on price. Then she informed us that the ocean-facing rooms were “superior” rooms and would carry a 30-euro per night surcharge. When we pointed out that we had not been told of these options when we had sent our enquiry by e-mail, we were told that, well, 'now we knew the choices' - we could pay the extra 30 Euro, if we so wished, or not.

From our perspective, we had booked a full five nights in this hotel and all indications were that it was nowhere near capacity, and wouldn’t be until the next weekend. Based on this, a savvy manager would have taken the initiative to “upgrade” us to the ocean side or at least move us to a higher floor, on the Viale Columbo side of the hotel, so that we were not seemingly in the traffic . True, they didn’t have to do any of this, but such a gesture would have made a big difference to us. Instead, we just settled into our room, which was clean and well-appointed.

Over our stay, we discovered things which spoke volumes to us about the attitude of hotel Management. This did not apply to most staff, who were efficient and friendly enough (except for the taciturn Attendant at the included breakfast each morning).

First, our room. There was a long safety-alarm rope in the shower stall—a standard feature in most shower stalls in Europe. However, instead of hanging down to within easy reach, it was wound up tight and hung neatly up near the ceiling, close to where it emerged from the wall (see photo).This rendered it useless.

Second, the room contained no binder with the expected printed information on hotel services, amenities and local attractions. When we enquired about this, we were stunned to learn that, if we had any questions, the hotel staff would simply tell us whatever we needed to know. Any queries, no matter how small, had to go through them. ("Is there a charge for local calls from our room?" "Yes." --Just a terse answer, with no volunteering of other potentially helpful information, e.g. how much it would actually cost; for that, we would have had to pose another question, of course! A textbook example of how information is power.)

Third, the room telephone had two small keys attached to its cord (see photo). Upon inspection, we discovered that these keys fitted two holes on the underside of the phone. When we asked innocently about this curiosity, we were told that this was none of the guests’ concern.

This obsessive micromanaging also included parking. The good news: there is free guest parking across the street, in a small, gated area. The bad news: one has to alert the person at the Reception Desk--if there is someone there--that one intends to leave. The staff person then points a handheld remote control towards the gate to open it. Meanwhile, there is a keypad over on the gate mechanism itself, which guests could use to open the gate themselves—if only they were vouchsafed the access code. The more problematic aspect of this rigmarole is the guest’s return to the hotel; someone has to get out of the car on the busy street, make their way in to the Reception Desk and ask staff to open the gate. If the driver is alone, it is more of a problem, obviously. Try jaywalking across the Viale Columbo and you will discover the battle of nerves that typifies the pedestrian-driver culture in Italy.

Finally, my wife decided one early morning to take a walk along the passeggiata, the promenade which runs parallel to the beach. When she descended to the lobby, she was astonished to find that the hotel’s main doors--modern sliding glass doors--were locked, and there was no way to open them. There was an Emergency Exit but it would only lead to an enclosure which would then require scaling a fence to get to the street. There were no staff behind the Front Desk, or indeed anywhere to be found. When my wife returned to our room and reported this, we tried using the phone to contact someone—anyone on staff. Of course, we had to guess what number to call for the Front Desk, but 9 seemed to be a number we remembered from other hotels. Twice, someone answered, fumbled with the phone, and then promptly hung up. I went downstairs myself but all was silent and empty, so I returned upstairs. My wife decided to try again downstairs. This time, she found a staff member, still in her nightgown, unlocking the doors.

This disconcerting event was repeated a couple of days later, even though my wife waited until after 6 a.m., thinking that perhaps someone might be up and responsible by that time in the morning. Again, there was no way out -- at least none that would be obvious to a guest -- and my wife waited, frustrated and feeling like a prisoner, until the same staff member arrived, still in her robe. The worker apologized and showed my wife what seemed to be an interior door (in an area opposite the lobby and reception) that we could use to exit the hotel in the future, if there was no staff present. It would have been helpful to have had this information in an Information Binder in our room. More importantly, this situation could have been a truly significant problem if there had been a fire or a guest’s medical emergency. The idea of being locked into one’s hotel makes no sense.

All in all, we got the distinct impression that Management had some control issues in this hotel, and was running it like a boot camp, with guests kept on a need-to-know basis. We are seasoned travelers and have been to Italy four times, having seen it from one end to the other, including Sardinia and Sicily. We have never found a hotel where we have been treated with such supercilious, thinly-veiled contempt. In our travels, we have always found that, even if a hotel’s physical layout, rooms and amenities are in good order—and this hotel was more than adequate on that score-- it remains for Management to create and maintain a climate conducive to a feeling of being welcome , respected and taken care of. If that’s what you are looking for in Lido di Camaiore, then our suggestion is to look beyond—far beyond--this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the ocean side (superior rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    44
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
24
23
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel tried to rip us off. The staff at this hotel must be the WORST and RUDEST staff I have EVER met!
We arrived to check in to the Quadruple room that we had booked and were told that it was not available! Instead, we were told we could either:
a) Take two double rooms and pay an extra €60 per room per night!
b) Leave and forfeit the €220 per night we had already agreed to pay!
I pointed out that this was unfair, as we clearly had a booking for a Quadruple room (it is was printed on my copy and theirs!) and therefore should not be made to pay any more, given that it was their mistake. The manageress became hostile, rude, dismissive, snotty and aggressive in her response to that. She offered no valid reason why the room we had pre-booked was not available (indeed, she admitted she had already sold it, despite us getting there before check in opened!!) and refused to accept that the booking contract was valid.
I paid the extra money (I had little choice as I had 3 others with me!), but contacted Booking.com as soon as I got access to their wi-fi (which was only available at reception). Booking.com tried to talk to her and she suddenly decided she would put an act on, pretending she couldn't speak English! She then cut my wi-fi off (!) and waived me away.
When I got home, Booking.com said they would refund the money as they agreed that the hotel had acted totally inappropriately. For that, I am very grateful.
As for the hotel, I wish I could warn you off them more strongly!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This could be an excellent hotel, it is however let down by the standard of management, or that should perhaps be the management of standards.
On arrival parking is difficult until you've checked in and been directed to the car parking (8 euros per night) across the road. There is a good sized lift to access the rooms adjacent to the reception desk and the hotel restaurant is also here. Breakfast, which was the only meal we took was excellent, a good range of food was provided, well presented although sometimes a little crowded.
The bedroom was large, well decorated and clean, but the same could not be said of the bathroom which on arrival was dirty. It took two requests to reception to get this remedied. The staircase also was dirty, and as this was used by most guests at one time or another, should be on the list of areas to be cleaned regularly but obviously wasn't.
The highlight (no pun intended) of the hotel is the rooftop swimming pool and sun terrace which had stunning views over the hills to the front and the beach to the rear. This in fact was a much better option than the expense of renting chairs and umbrellas on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Contemporary hotel with some nice furnishings, but turned out to be worst hotel stay across Italy over 2.5 weeks. Stayed in mid-June with moderate temperatures. Hotel wouldn't turn on air conditioning due to milder temperatures. Didn't have sea-side room. Couldn't get a good nights sleep (over 3 nights) since room faced busy street (Via C. Colombo). Had to keep heavy (almost industrialized) sliding glass door closed to block out constant noise from street (scooters, motorcycles and tour buses) - even at 3am. With door closed, room became uncomfortably warm. Talked with front desk - since air temp was cool, they wouldn't turn on A/C. Catch 22 - don't sleep due to heat or noise. This ruined our experience.

Room was nicely decorated, but bathroom was poorly maintained. Heated towel rack was leaking water when we checked in so towels were wet and water was pooling on floor. Tiles were already cracked and mold was building up in grout. Shower is designed so it's near impossible to not get bathroom floor very wet. New sink and bath were already looking bad. Also, no fan, so it was very uncomfortable.

Nice TV didn't work well - bad signal made it unusable.

Decent breakfast service - but food wasn't kept restocked for number of people going through.

15EUR taxi ride from Viareggio station - front desk helped arrange ride in nice Mercedes van.

Overall - holds potential since fairly new and good location within area, but service and maintenance lacking. Very disappointed - and very tired after staying there. Horrible nights sleep - and it really soured our opinion. We had no idea the room would be so loud.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Very close to the beach, had a very pleasant 12 nights there from end June to early July. Downsides yes it was very hot and the air con switching off in the middle of the night was odd and woke me up. The shower was ridiculously small. But apart from that, quite old fashioned in a nice way hotel, 4 course dinners every night, clearly a very good chef and we did not get a repitition once - we would usually eat elsewhere for a change but didn't as this was very good. Run like a military operation over a 100 covers all being served at once every night! Had fun with the waitress Frederika who acted out the meals we didn't understand. Froooit and Swordfish were most popular. Excellent location for buses (bit wierd timing though sometimes you did wait a very long time) to Viareggio and then train to anywhere - Florence, La Spezia, San Gimigniano (fabulous!!!) , Lucca and of course Pisa. All in all a lovely holiday, the pool was a bit small on the roof for a dip, however the beach was cheap enough (20 euros a day for 2) although too shallow for good swimming and at the Bagno Venezia run by the smashing Marco Daddio we had some very good luches, again not expensive. Downside - gained 8 lbs!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajweeman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a lovely hotel consisting of two blocks with rooftop pools that have gorgeous views - we stayed in the second block and the rooms were good enough... flat screen tv, comfy bed, and a nice bathroom. However, we would probably not choose to stay in this hotel again as the air-conditioning was only turned on from the afternoon until about 11pm, with little respite from the July heat. The staff told us it was not hot enough to warrant having the air-con on all night. I don't remember this being advertised on the hotel's website! Apart from that, a pleasant seemingly well run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Hotel Bracciotti has a very kind atmosphere and if you book mezza pensione( breakfast and diner included), the cook manages to serve a varied meal every day. Good quality. His pastries are the most delicious! Very kind staff and reception. Pure Italian hotel (, with kind owners (mother and daughter run the hotel perfectly). The hotel consists of two opposite buildings with Spa and swimming pool on both roofs (great vieuw over the Tuscany coast!). Good wines, and modest prices. Both buildings are located on a buisy road, but when you shut down the oustside blinds, noises are gone. Our room was a little tiny, and next tot he elevator, but OK, with little balcony and sea view, on the 5th (top) floor,, at the backside of the hotel, overlooking the beach. I suppose there are bigger rooms (basement seemed to have very large balconies!) but I don't know how the interior looks like.The building and rooms have central airconditioning, shuts down and starts (depending on the temperature outside) automatically. In the room you can only arrange the speed of the airco or shut it off, but if you want airco on in the night (after 01.30 hrs) it's not possible. Parking place of the hotel is available and included . Parkingspaces a little tiny for f.e. MPV's. Regular cars can park easily there. From the hotel it is a 3 minutes walk to the beach, Bagno Venezia, with his nice owner Marco.At the beach free wifi/internet. In the hotel you have to pay (al little amount) for wifi. We had a pleasant stay in hotel Barcciotti and wnat to thank Maria and her mother and staff for the good service!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bracciotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bracciotti

Address: Viale Colombo 366, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bracciotti 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Bracciotti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bracciotti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.